It is currently Fri Aug 22, 2014 3:36 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Quad Core on EX490/495?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:29 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 530
Location: Jax, FL
Thanks: 24
Thanked: 20 times in 20 posts
Has anybody tried to install a Quad Core processor in one of this babies? If so, please share. I am thinking of doing it but I need some info regarding what processor to use or the limitation of the motherboard.
:mss:
:sanjuan:

_________________
Freedom is not only to do what you love, but to love what you do.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 12:34 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 635
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 71 times in 66 posts
viewtopic.php?f=25&t=5512&start=195
Q9950S

_________________
HP MediaSmart with 4GB ram, 8TB storage WHS with Active Directory, WDS, WSUS, MediaCenterMaster
HP Microserver N40L, 8GB ram, Windows Small Business Server 2011.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:55 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:33 am
Posts: 1062
Location: North Texas
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 122 times in 121 posts
I think this is the post that Diehard meant to reference. viewtopic.php?p=54825#p54825

_________________
HP MSS EX490 with Intel E6300
4 GB RAM
7 TB Drive Storage

MediaSmartServer.net Wiki, it's loaded with helpful information about WHS and the HP MediaSmart Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2010 10:20 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:21 am
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I've upgraded my processor and memory and it was well worth the money. It's way faster than with the stock processor and memory.

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=6555

_________________
_______________________
HP Mediasmart Server EX495 (18TB)
Intel Q9550S 2.83 GHz Processor
8TB HDD (4 x 2TB Hitachi Deskstar's)
4GB Memory (Kingston KVR800D2N6/4G)
Sans Digital Towerraid TR5UT eSata
10TB HDD (5 x 2TB Hitachi Deskstar's)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 10:47 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 5:46 pm
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 8 times in 8 posts
I recently upgraded my EX495 with a Q9550S and 4GB of RAM. Runs much better now.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:25 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2007 5:15 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I upgraded my EX495 with one about a month ago. Extremely more responsive, night and day. I haven't done any official bench marks though. Will do the 4GB upgrade soon. Oh, BTW I don't think anybody has posted this pic before. Look what the HP programmers put in support for! :-)


Attachments:
ex495.jpg
ex495.jpg [ 193.74 KiB | Viewed 8901 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 1:19 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:40 pm
Posts: 134
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
I've grown tired of the sluggish response on my EX495. My 4 GB memory arrived yesterday and I decided to pull the trigger on the Q9550s I've been considering for a week or so today. If I think an EX495 is sluggish, I can't imagine what the previous generations were like.

(And Alex, I did remember to use the link to do the Newegg order both times. :) I can't imagine trying to get one of these servers up and running without this site.)

_________________
- Tom


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 1:31 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10651
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 610
Thanked: 909 times in 866 posts
Cool, thanks, I'm glad the site is a good resource for you! 8) I'm thrilled with my 495 compared to my original 475, it's way faster. Do you have a lot of activity on your server that's causing performance to degrade?

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 3:23 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 5:58 pm
Posts: 530
Location: Jax, FL
Thanks: 24
Thanked: 20 times in 20 posts
I bought a 487 from newegg and a Q9550s a few days ago. I just upgrade the cpu on the 495 ( no ram upgrade yet) and is super fast. I had no issue with my 495 i just wanted more power for other things.

I dont know why your is acting up.

_________________
Freedom is not only to do what you love, but to love what you do.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 5:05 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:40 pm
Posts: 134
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
No, I don't have a lot of activity - that's the irritating thing about it. My memory sits at about 50% utilization most the time and the CPUs sit idle (10% or less) about half the time and bump up to 60-70% about half the time (for what appears to be trivial stuff). As far as I can tell, I don't have significant video tasks ongoing (the videos I moved up to the server seems to have produced nothing but errors with few being trans-coded).

I've simply been annoyed at the time it takes to do simple stuff in the console and when I start playing with remote access, now that I have it set up, it's a significant pause too (regardless if I'm going to it from inside my LAN or from the internet - I'm aware that upload speeds for internet access will not be great as my connection runs at 4 Mbit up and 20 Mbit down). I have converted all my internal ethernet to gigabit and Cat5 to allow smooth transfer internally.

In the absence of any clear tools, I'll at least provide my subjective impression once the upgrade occurs next week. I'm sure others will be interested in if it appears to be worth the cost. Until then I'll continue to work on getting my internal network extended to my entertainment center (cable from upstairs in one corner of the house to downstairs opposite corner) and getting audio and video streaming running. That's my project for this weekend.

_________________
- Tom


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:48 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10651
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 610
Thanked: 909 times in 866 posts
Definitely let us know the impressions and how your weekend project turns out! :mss:

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 03, 2010 4:32 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1055
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 21 times in 20 posts
very exciting stuff Id like to know how much energy usage jumped after the upgrade. This almost makes my jump and get a new server and forget the new model coming out with quad core no point getting the next version or next 3 most likely haha


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2010 11:47 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 9:34 pm
Posts: 307
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Thanks: 14
Thanked: 22 times in 16 posts
I'd like to know about the system temps. Anyone with some stressed and idle results they can share?

_________________
HPjunkie:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 10:40 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:40 pm
Posts: 134
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Tonight's job was a success.
Attachment:
Picture 8.png
Picture 8.png [ 159.35 KiB | Viewed 8458 times ]

Now 4 GB RAM and 4 cores. I had a brief scare when the light stayed red on during my initial boot. Had visions of a fried CPU and a new EX495 brick. On disassembly a second time it appeared the memory module was not properly seated and locked in place. Re-did that, re-assembled and fired it up and it booted fine.
Attachment:
Picture 9.png
Picture 9.png [ 12.98 KiB | Viewed 8458 times ]

I will likely do a server recovery this weekend and reload the system for practice. I'll delete all the video it has crunched through and reload that and see how the process goes. I'll provide more feedback upon completion of the break in period for the new CPU. It's a little more response in the console with nothing going on, I'm looking forward to seeing improvements under load.

_________________
- Tom


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 11:31 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2010 2:40 pm
Posts: 134
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
After a couple days burn-in, my Q9550S is running at about 48 °C at idle and about 60 °C when it is pushed a bit (but I've not maxed it out). I'm wondering if I used a little too much thermal paste. I might clean it off and re-do it later this week. (I used a single line of Arctic Silver down the center of the chip after a thorough cleaning using the Arctic Silver kit.)

Is there a good add-in that summarizes temps well? I've been going to settings and then the hardware tab to see the CPU temp. It would be nice to get that info onto a general screen like the system status screen.

_________________
- Tom


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 35 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group