It is currently Mon Jul 22, 2019 10:48 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 10:41 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 4:27 pm
Posts: 104
Thanks: 11
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I have updated from 1 TB to 1.5 TB since I signed up. While this may be obvious somewhere, I am not quite able to find where to update where it displays this information.

jl


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 11:08 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 8:54 am
Posts: 172
Location: Miami Beach, FL
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 7 times in 6 posts
:rofl:

Sorry. :wink:

_________________
HP EX475, 2GB RAM, BE-2300 | Linksys WRT54G (Tomato)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 12:56 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 4:27 pm
Posts: 104
Thanks: 11
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
jlsoaz wrote:
I have updated from 1 TB to 1.5 TB since I signed up. While this may be obvious somewhere, I am not quite able to find where to update where it displays this information.

jl


So, putting aside KaiBo's nonsense, I will wait to see if anyone could please help me find where on mediasmartserver.net I can edit the number of TB it displays for my system.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 4:16 pm 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
You can't. It's down to the number of posts you make, so keep on posting and you'll update :D

_________________
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.
Help support MediaSmartServer.Net!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 5:05 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 4:27 pm
Posts: 104
Thanks: 11
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Cougar wrote:
You can't. It's down to the number of posts you make, so keep on posting and you'll update :D


Ok, thanks. This is a bit strange, since how would it know what TB my system has? But ok, I'll just leave it alone. Thanks again.

jl


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 9:19 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
The number is for how much storage that you are allotted on this website & has nothing to do with your MSS at home. :mss:

Some of the posters on this site forget that there are some of us new to all of this. :crazy: :mrgreen:

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 10:45 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:14 am
Posts: 1540
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 117 times in 100 posts
jlsoaz wrote:
Ok, thanks. This is a bit strange, since how would it know what TB my system has?


It's magic! :banana:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 8:52 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 4:27 pm
Posts: 104
Thanks: 11
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
CBick wrote:
The number is for how much storage that you are allotted on this website & has nothing to do with your MSS at home. :mss:


If I have no control over it, going by Cougar's post (Uber moderator?), then so be it. He didn't clarify that the TB stood for something other than my MSS storage, but Ok, maybe it doesn't. I am a bit skeptical that it stands for my storage on this site. If so, then the amounts (used by my posts... is there any other storage?) are off by about 6 or 7 orders of magnitude, I think.

I think there's just something a bit strange about that parameter where it's the one thing, or one of the only profile items, we can't control and, also, it's not clear to everyone uniformly and intuitively what it stands for.

Of course, the whole thing is pretty darned unimportant, and also I can usually ignore any responses I regard as needlessly impolite.

In any event, thanks for the answers.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 9:02 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10699
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 918 times in 874 posts
So most forum software (such as PHPBB3 which we are using here) provide the concept of a visual indicator to show how active a user is on the forums, or to provide a specific "rank" such as Uber Moderator for Cougar. Other sites may use designations such as "Noob, Apprentice, Veteran, Expert, Master", numbered levels from 1-10, or some other graduated level concept. When I created the site I thought the idea of increasing storage as you posted more was a neat idea that tied well into the concept of expanding storage in the MSS.

You can't change the value yourself, though I've been known to provide special custom ranks to active forum members who asked nicely. :)

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank yakuza for this post
jlsoaz
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 9:48 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 4:27 pm
Posts: 104
Thanks: 11
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
yakuza wrote:
So most forum software (such as PHPBB3 which we are using here) provide the concept of a visual indicator to show how active a user is on the forums, or to provide a specific "rank" such as Uber Moderator for Cougar. Other sites may use designations such as "Noob, Apprentice, Veteran, Expert, Master", numbered levels from 1-10, or some other graduated level concept. When I created the site I thought the idea of increasing storage as you posted more was a neat idea that tied well into the concept of expanding storage in the MSS.

You can't change the value yourself, though I've been known to provide special custom ranks to active forum members who asked nicely. :)


Hi and thanks for the answers on this. Makes much more sense now.

jl


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 11:06 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 8:07 am
Posts: 48
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
It's just a "silly" way to indicate how active you are posting on this forum.

(I didn't need to post this as it was already clarified, but it was a shameless post trying to increase my TB storage) \:D/

_________________
Guy

HP EX475 at work as a backup server
HP EX485 at home for fun


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 11:23 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10699
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 918 times in 874 posts
guybor wrote:
it was a shameless post trying to increase my TB storage) \:D/


Do that too much and you get one of these for your rank: Image

:lol:

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 12:47 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2009 8:07 am
Posts: 48
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
yakuza wrote:
Do that too much and you get one of these for your rank: Image

:lol:


:rofl:

I'm going to have to bookmark that one for use in another forum that I moderate.

_________________
Guy

HP EX475 at work as a backup server
HP EX485 at home for fun


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2009 12:58 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 4:23 am
Posts: 3838
Location: Long Island, New York
Thanks: 94
Thanked: 243 times in 236 posts
yakuza wrote:
guybor wrote:
it was a shameless post trying to increase my TB storage) \:D/


Do that too much and you get one of these for your rank: Image

:lol:


I personally would rather deal with the "pre" version, but that is just my taste :wink:

_________________
Cheers,
Damian

DIY WHS - 12.5TB and growing, too many gadgets to list

Did you read the MediaSmartServer blog today?
Blog - http://www.adigitalhomeblog.com
"Like a midget at a urinal, stay on your toes!" - Lieutenant Frank Drebin


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue May 26, 2009 9:09 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 9:55 am
Posts: 34
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
never knew it rly:D


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group