It is currently Wed May 27, 2020 8:09 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2019 3:04 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Feb 20, 2010 12:24 pm
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
(also posted on https://www.reddit.com/r/homelab)
Hi,

I've got a HP EX490 - yes it is old and uses DDR2 but it still has a use for me. I want to upgrade to 4GB of RAM. Seen plenty of DIMMs for under a £10 in the UK but wondering if anyone knows which ones are compatible. There are quite a few listed as being AMD only but I am wondering if that is not applicable to the MSS.

This is my ebay search:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_odkw ... t&_sacat=0

If you know which one is compatible it would be a great help to me.

Or there is this one on Amazon but I never heard of SODIAL:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/4GB-Memory-RAM ... B01HXLR2P4

Cheers,

Al


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Fri Mar 08, 2019 1:44 am 
Online
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 275
Thanks: 34
Thanked: 20 times in 18 posts
Don't get memory that says it is a SODIMM, ECC, AMD or Apple. That wont fit or work.

You are looking for a single stick of 4gb PC2-6400 2rx8.

Avoid 533Mhz and 667 Mhz, You want 800 Mhz

Try the following search term in ebay: ddr2 800 4gb -2gb -1gb -2x2 -2gx2 -server -ecc -amd -1x4 -4x1 -2gbx2 -sodimm

_________________
Hi All, Thanks to everyone for your continued effort to keep the MSS & WHS alive. Haven't registered yet? Please do so the moderators know your here!

ex49x/v1 (toyin w/Vail)
VGA
Q8200s w/two 30mm cooling fans
4gb Ram
Rear Casecover Cooling Mod


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 9:32 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 9:29 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
lioninstreet wrote:
Don't get memory that says it is a SODIMM, ECC, AMD or Apple. That wont fit or work.

You are looking for a single stick of 4gb PC2-6400 2rx8.

Avoid 533Mhz and 667 Mhz, You want 800 Mhz

Try the following search term in ebay: ddr2 800 4gb -2gb -1gb -2x2 -2gx2 -server -ecc -amd -1x4 -4x1 -2gbx2 -sodimm


So 2Rx4 won't work? I have two 4GB sticks that match everything except that.

Sorry if this is considered a necropost, but this board doesn't seem to be very active anymore. :/


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 10:45 pm 
Online
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 275
Thanks: 34
Thanked: 20 times in 18 posts
duramorte wrote:
So 2Rx4 won't work? I have two 4GB sticks that match everything except that.
:/

There are still a fair amount of folks trolling here. I actually just posted the below 11/14/19 here: viewtopic.php?f=25&t=13760&p=106381#p106381 According to Intel, the short answer is no. Your 2rx4 wont work with the MSS chipset.

jmztaylor wrote:
Another side note. Does anyone have a part number for a 4G stick of RAM that works? I've tried 3 now and all duds
Basically, with a memory upgrade if you follow the below your chances of success should improve:

G33 Chipset memory supports (per Intel whitepaper pg8): https://www.intel.com/assets/pdf/whitepaper/316971.pdf

Supported⎯ Raw Card C - Single Sided x16 un-buffered non-ECC 1Rx16
Supported⎯ Raw Card D - Single Sided x8 un-buffered non-ECC 1Rx8
Supported⎯ Raw Card E - Double Sided x8 un-buffered non-ECC 2Rx8
Unsupported⎯ Raw Card H - Double Sided x16 un-buffered non-ECC 2Rx16

My primary box runs a 4gb G.Skill F2-6400 CL5S-4GBPQ but you can also get the same stick in cl6 as a G.Skill F2-6400CL6S-4GBMQ. I've also personally had success with:

Hynix 4gb 2Rx8 pc2-6400u-666-12 (HMP351U6AFR8C-S6). The S6 is 800 6-6-6, the S5 is 800 5-5-5, avoid the Y5 since it's 667.
Samsung 4gb 2Rx8 pc2-6400u-666-12 e3 (M378T5263AZ3-CF7 0908). This got a bit weird because when you Google the Samsung M number, some of the photos that come up show a 2Rx16 stick that only works on AMD boards. The working stick I have is double sided 2Rx8 configuration.
Patriot 4gb pc2-6400 cl6 PSD28G800K (PS000657). No issue, it just works, but I think this number may possibly have been for the 2 stick kit.

Others have posted on this site having success with:

Mushkin Enhanced Silverline 991762
Crucial CT51264AA667
Kingston KVR800D2N6/4G
. Note that Kingston was kind enough to make a production change on this stick without changing the PN#. So if you end up with the 2Rx16 stick that has 16 chips per side, it wont work. You must use the 2Rx8 stick with 8 chips per side.

These days, any of the above 3 brand sticks as well as the Patriot & both of the G.Skill are going to be a challenge to find new. And even when found used, they typically command a premium. Worse is trying to find any new sticks of 4gb cl5 DDR2. I think there's a seller on Amazon (KomputerBay) still selling new unbranded sticks of cl5 800Mhz 6400 PC2 for $50-$60, which is almost tolerable. Even the used, name brand sticks can regularly go for 30%-50% more than that.

On the other hand, the Hynix & Samsung sticks came to me new from Chinese vendors for around $20 delivered. They're both cl6 800hz. For maybe the 1% extra speed the cl5 gives, I'll settle for the $20 stick

_________________
Hi All, Thanks to everyone for your continued effort to keep the MSS & WHS alive. Haven't registered yet? Please do so the moderators know your here!

ex49x/v1 (toyin w/Vail)
VGA
Q8200s w/two 30mm cooling fans
4gb Ram
Rear Casecover Cooling Mod


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 26, 2019 1:44 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1370
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 178 times in 176 posts
You know this is almost a myth for this server.
more ram means faster performance.

In most cases the larger ram is not what boosts speed . Because in most cases you never use all the ram to begin with.

It is the CAS Latency speed of the ram that does the trick.
Because the stock ram was very slow.
Or said another way the stock ram had a very high CAS Latency.
So the users thinks because he upgraded the ram from 2GB to 4 it runs faster.
But in fact it was the newer stick had a faster CAS Latency rating.
Because the speed of the ram did not change.

Read up the link below.
Because you think that the higher number is faster where it actually is the lower number.

http://blog.logicalincrements.com/2018/ ... e-latency/

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group