It is currently Mon Dec 17, 2018 2:34 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 9:55 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2204
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 247 times in 244 posts
If you have the EX-475 recovery Discs and they are good.
If your Ex-475 does not have a hardware problem. (besides harddrive)
If you install a known good blank harddrive in the bottom (locking) bay.
If it is connected to the network.
Then you can start the recovery software from a client connected via a wire on the same network (win xp / Win 7) preferred.
Then all the normal recovery instructions apply.

Server off with something to press and release the tiny button on the front.
Then run the recovery program on the client and follow the instructions.
It will tell you to power up the server and after some blinking of the lights on the front, you will press and release the tiny button and then the blinking lights on the front of the server should change color to let you know you timed it correctly.
Then you will proceed with the remote install from the client to the server.

Hope this helps and Good Luck...

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Mon Jul 30, 2018 12:02 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2015 8:49 am
Posts: 9
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
You will want to start with the hard drive not seated. Try the following below

Connect a USB Keyboard to the front USB Port, connect the Mouse to one of the USB Ports in the back of the server.

Back out the Bottom Drive from the server.

Turn the server on and keep pressing the F12 key to select the USB Boot Device so the server will boot from the USB Flash Drive.

DO NOT PRESS THE STATUS/RESET BUTTON - THE SERVER WILL BOOT INTO ITS RECOVERY MODE BECAUSE THE SYSTEM DRIVE IS NOT PRESENT

You will have to guesstimate when recovery mode is starting, (I waited 30 seconds) then re-seat the system drive back into the server.

Run the server recovery software on the client desktop / laptop. If all goes well you it will indicate Server found and you are ready to begin the 60 min recovery.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 12:13 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2204
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 247 times in 244 posts
I'm confused.
I have performed a lot of server re-loads and have never had any usb devices attached to the server unless I was installing a different OS (non-WHS V1) then I had the video/keyboard/mouse and didn't need the client.
I have installed whs 2011 and win server 2012E on a EX-475 and EX-495 but that is a different thing.

But there are plenty of threads on how to recover a server with (WHS V1) and some of the problems in doing so and how to work around them. Just getting the discs is normally the hard part. :-)

Safe mode with networking.
No anti-virus
Firewall down
Etc.

Anyway, let us know how it's going and good luck...

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2018 3:20 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1222
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 154 times in 152 posts
Well the original question was his server crashed
And he does not have the original cd's
So he asked about loading a different OS.
Then somebody replied with a site to download the original ISO's.

But I agree if loading whs1 it should be just like the manual.
Another OS then yes you need to play games with a flash drive and unattended boot or have a debug board.

So you are not confused Gardian.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group