It is currently Thu Jul 19, 2018 8:56 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Access bios no cable
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 7:35 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 7:23 am
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi all,

To start off I would like to thank you all for the enormous amount of information available here. :sanjuan:

I have a question regarding the ex490 bios. I don't have the cable and am trying to find a solution to a problem I have been having using a blind bios approach.
What I would like to do is change the first boot device to USB using just a keyboard and key combinations.

In this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Q91XrXjNvg I can see I have to down-button once to be able to access the the 'advanced bios features' menu. And 7 down-buttons would take me to the 'First boot device' (floppy in the video.)

I was wondering if anyone here can help with the steps to change this to USB and save.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

With kind regards,

GJS


Last edited by gjs on Tue Jun 19, 2018 11:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: Access bios no cable
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 8:06 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1171
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 144 times in 143 posts
As I recall
One of the usb ports in the rear is set that way now.
Are you trying to install another os?

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Access bios no cable
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 10:38 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 7:23 am
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I have Xpenology installed which requires the USB to boot first and call the hard drive.
Someone mentioned that installing plop boot manager to the MBR could do the samething but the bios option seems more easy.

My current way of getting everything working is by removing drive one, booting waiting a few seconds then when USB is called pushing in drive one so the USB boot can find the installation. But this is not a very robust process and does definitely not help the life span of my drive one :-).


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Access bios no cable
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 11:04 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1171
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 144 times in 143 posts
gotcha.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Access bios no cable
PostPosted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 11:23 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 7:23 am
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Btw I was inspired by this post: viewtopic.php?t=609

But this is for the power management settings. I would like to be able to do something similar for the first boot device.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Access bios no cable
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 7:37 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:24 pm
Posts: 100
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
let me know what you figure out. I have never been able to get xpenology to boot from usb with 4 drives installed on 480 490 and 495 units. I have 4 of them use with all bays occupied. I also have a debug cable and I do believe they are set to boot from USB. once you occupy bay 1 closest to bottom it overrides. so you have to do the delayed drive insert trick. If someone figured this out, I missed it along the way. Please let me know. Would love to not have to do that trick x 4 kn a major power outage. I only have 2 UPS.s protecting them so am not using auto shutdown feature. I have some real synology units as well.

_________________
(1) HP EX470 3800+, 2GB/Status=Asleep
(2) HP EX495 "Stock" Xpenology XPEnoboot_DS3615xs_5.1-5022.4.img
Anyone get "mediasmartserverd" led control daemon working on xpenology and your MSS please msg me!!!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Access bios no cable
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 11:07 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jun 19, 2018 7:23 am
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
nc8z8keyz wrote:
I also have a debug cable and I do believe they are set to boot from USB. once you occupy bay 1 closest to bottom it overrides. so you have to do the delayed drive insert trick. If someone figured this out, I missed it along the way. Please let me know. Would love to not have to do that trick x 4 kn a major power outage. I only have 2 UPS.s protecting them so am not using auto shutdown feature. I have some real synology units as well.


Are you saying you have set USB as the first boot device? I had hoped that would solve the problem. :?

If you have the cable could you share the amount of rights, downs etc necessary for the boot settings? A photo of the boot menu would be great too. :D

Thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group