It is currently Sun Nov 18, 2018 1:17 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: CPU Temp kinda High
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2018 6:04 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 106
Thanks: 16
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Sounds like any data transfer hit doing a client backup with a 5400 rpm drive isn't that big of a deal. Those backups don't take that long anyhow maybe 10-20 min each. Not to mention as you said, they run lot's cooler.

What is causing me grief is the time it takes to backup my shares and client backups. My shares alone are over 1TB and the clients are another 350GB to 400GB. So even with the 7200 rpm drives, It's taking days to back those up this, even with eSATA. And frankly, that's why I'm exploring moving everything to SSD.

In the mean time, I'll keep working to get what I have running as cool as I can. My ex490 was actually new in 2016 when I upgraded from the 470 so with any luck I can get the same 10 years out of it that you did.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: CPU Temp kinda High
PostPosted: Thu Sep 06, 2018 6:44 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 106
Thanks: 16
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
By the way, by simply removing the back cover of the MSS (combined with dual heat sink fans and bios at optimum & the Q8200s) peak temps dropped 1c-2c to a steady 54c on cores 1 & 4 (always the hottest ones), idle temps pretty much the same (40c-41c).


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: CPU Temp kinda High
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:02 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2202
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 247 times in 244 posts
Not that it matters, but stock cpu in the Ex-490 and x-500 is Intel® Pentium® Dual-CoreTM E-5200.
But sounds like you are getting it sorted out.
Good luck and enjoy.

I try to keep my 9 clients bare minimum on file storage so the backups are very fast.
All 9 will be backed up in an hour +/-.
9 win 7 clients. No win10.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: CPU Temp kinda High
PostPosted: Sat Sep 08, 2018 11:04 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 106
Thanks: 16
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Hi Guardian,
Good to see you lurking around. I have similar results backing up my clients. It all happens pretty quick. Just curious, when you backup your shares and use BDBB, how much data are you backing up and how long is that taking?

Your mention of the Pentium E-5200 reminded me of the suprising benchmarks I saw when I was checking out the Passmark CPU benchmarks. The Pentium dual core 5 & 6 series benchmarks are at least 30% better than the same series of Core2 benchmarks! Who knew?

Unfortunately Passmark scores were not there for the "s" series Q8 & Q9 quad cores, but the L5 xeon's and L3 xeon's are there and so are the standard Q8 & 9's.

So I just picked up a 50w L-5430 with the LGA775 mod done for $20., figuring I would do the bios mod and give it a shot for lower temps. Benches are at least 25% better than the Q-8400 and most likely 30%+ better than the 65w Q-8200s I'm currently using.

So even if temps with the L-5430 end up the same as my Q-8400s, I know I can dial back the chip to a L-5410 that still out benches the Q8, keep the better 12mb L2, and run cooler than the Q-8400s.


Last edited by lioninstreet on Wed Oct 03, 2018 2:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: CPU Temp kinda High
PostPosted: Sun Sep 09, 2018 12:08 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1218
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 153 times in 151 posts
Just though of this.
The drive trays have a fold able flap in the back. So that on a empty bay you fold it up to block air flow on a empty bay and force the rest of the air through the bays with drives.
Have you checked them?

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Ruben Rocha for this post
lioninstreet
 Post subject: Re: CPU Temp kinda High
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 9:14 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 106
Thanks: 16
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Yes, all flaps down. But thinking about it, I probably don't need the empty trays to be installed in the server at all. Will pull them out and see if that has any effect.

In the mean time, I did try staggering the drives swapping the data drive from slot 1 to slot 2 to get more air flow around the OS drive (so no drives in slot 1 or 3).

Now OS (primary in bottom slot 0) drive is averaging 38c - 39c. So at least the temperature nag stopped, but that's still far to hot for my liking. The data drive is 34c at idle and 36c backing up.

The case fans I'm currently running are a pair of Artic F8 PWM rev2's. They are supposedly high CFM/low pressure (ideal for case use). Just for kicks, I just picked up a pair of Noctua NF-A8 PWM's with a similar high CFM/low pressure profile. Not sure if they will change much temp wise, but we're gonna find out.

I'll do this case fan test without using the pair of 30mm CPU fans in place (pictured). This to get a better idea how effective one is over the other.


Attachments:
P1120089.JPG
P1120089.JPG [ 1.32 MiB | Viewed 648 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: CPU Temp kinda High
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 9:37 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10688
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 914 times in 870 posts
Empty trays should stay in the server with the flaps up to direct airflow across drives and mainboard.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: CPU Temp kinda High
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 9:59 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1218
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 153 times in 151 posts
Echo what yakuza said.

Empty bays should have the flap folded up to block air flow to the fan so it will suck air through what bays have drives inserted.
As well as it should provide more air flow everywhere else.

If you have the flaps down on empty bays then there is less restriction and most of the circulation will bypass the active bays and MB.

BE CAREFUL WHEN YOU FOLD THE FLAP BECAUSE IT IS JUST A THIN JOINT ON THE PLASTIC AND YOU CAN SNAP THEM OFF.
As far as I know there are no replacements to purchase other than by chance on ebay.

FYI,
You can't fold the flap up with a drive in the bay caddie.

BTW,
temps in the 30c range are probably the best you will ever get.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: CPU Temp kinda High
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 1:21 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 106
Thanks: 16
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Interesting, I did not know that.

It makes sense that a restriction in an empty drive bay would direct airflow around the installed drives more effectively, but this is the exact opposite of what I was thinking would improve air flow thru the case.

As long as there are mechanical HDD's installed, running drive 0 down in the lower 30's instead of up near 40c seems like cheap life extension insurance. Will reset flaps on slot 1 & 3 and give it a shot so slot 0 and 2 get more airflow.

I'm still getting used to seeing the bottom and second from the top drive lights on instead of the bottom two. But the swap cut 2c off of the OS drives operating temp, even with the flaps down. And no worries on the human error warning. I have a few extra drive cages lying around just in case of fat finger mistakes.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: CPU Temp kinda High
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 4:25 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2202
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 247 times in 244 posts
I don't use BDBB, I don't trust the backups that much anyway.
I'm backing up about 500 gig.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: CPU Temp kinda High
PostPosted: Mon Sep 10, 2018 6:23 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 106
Thanks: 16
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Flaps up, now idling at 36c - 37c on the OS (drive 0) 32c on the data (drive 2). More progress. Q8200s CPU idle at 39c - 40c, peak temps 54c.

It will be interesting to see how low we can go.

Guardian,
If not WHS, what are you using to back up your terminals with? And your shares?


Last edited by lioninstreet on Wed Oct 03, 2018 2:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: CPU Temp kinda High
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:38 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1218
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 153 times in 151 posts
As I stated with clients with win 10.
I went with easeus todo backup.
It is free you can use it to create a working pxe boot drive on a flash drive.
And send backups to shares on whs1.

For server backups I use the native backups in readynas and backup to a win 10 storage space.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Last edited by Ruben Rocha on Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: CPU Temp kinda High
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 12:40 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1218
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 153 times in 151 posts
Why the heck is the http 500 error showing here?

damn now it is gone!

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: CPU Temp kinda High
PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2018 2:26 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 106
Thanks: 16
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Flaps up, now idling at 36c - 37c on the OS (drive 0) 32c on the data (drive 2). More progress. Q8200s CPU idle at 39c - 40c, peak temps 54c.

Added a Prime 95 blended test using the dual heat sink fans, bios on optimal, and above setup. After 10-15 minutes at 100% CPU use temps capped out at 63c-64c. I think that is pretty good considering I started all this idling around this same temp with the Q9550s and the Q8200s is only about 11% Futuremark performance hit.

But I noticed that earlier, when I had the case fans set to full in BIOS they would run at around 2500 rpm. During this test they would only peak at 2000. Although I did notice that at 2000, the OS drive was running a few degrees cooler, even with the CPU throwing off more heat. Looks like my added heat sink fans are really making a difference.

So I think I'll swap in those Noctua case fans I picked up, check those out, and then start playing with BIOS to get the fans to ramp up earlier and run at full sooner.


Last edited by lioninstreet on Wed Oct 03, 2018 2:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: CPU Temp kinda High
PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2018 3:22 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2202
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 247 times in 244 posts
I do use WHS V1 and I do backup my clients, but I tell my clients not to store data on their systems so 1) they backup faster, 2) I don't really trust the backups.
As far as the shares, I sync-toy that data to a second server running WHS v1 monthly and I do a Non-pooled backup about every 6 months.
So I normally have 3-4 copies of my Shares.

As far as the clients backups, if something happened to them I have Images of them from when they were new and loaded.
I would just replace the hard drive and re-place the image, they could find their data on the server.
I just do the backups just in case somebody gets ransome-ware and gets locked out or deletes something they are working on local.

Sounds like you are getting yours sorted out, good to hear. These little servers were/are one of the best things HP ever did. And WHS V1 was one of the best things Microsoft abandoned. :crazy:
Good Luck and enjoy

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group