It is currently Thu Aug 16, 2018 2:23 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 9:20 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 8:17 am
Posts: 177
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Happy Easter. I'm a little confused with what I am seeing and need a bit of help. The four bays are occupied on my server. I have an Icy Dock with one drive in it.

I've gotten an error from the HomeSmart app. See below.

Attachment:
Messages.jpg
Messages.jpg [ 159.14 KiB | Viewed 433 times ]


Looking at the screen, I see only 5 drives, one of them shows an offline uncorrectable sector count.

Attachment:
HomeSmart.jpg
HomeSmart.jpg [ 159.86 KiB | Viewed 433 times ]


When I look at Server Storage, I see 5 healthy drives.

Attachment:
Storage.jpg
Storage.jpg [ 86.14 KiB | Viewed 433 times ]


What gives? Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sun Apr 01, 2018 11:04 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1176
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 147 times in 146 posts
I would tend to believe smart not server storage in the console.
It needs to be a missing, dead or really bad drive before server storage will show anything other than healthy.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2018 1:03 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2197
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 247 times in 244 posts
2nd that, SMART is your best source of drive health. I would try to remove that drive (which will most likely 1) take a long time and 2) Most likely fail) then just pull it and tell the console to remove it. When done you can place a new drive and add it to the pool.

You might be able to run that drive on another PC and try diskcheck, but I bet it,s dead or almost dead.
I just had a 6 year old drive die with No warning. With duplication turned on, I lost no data I cared about. Just replaced the drive and moved on.

Good Luck and enjoy.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group