It is currently Tue Jun 19, 2018 9:51 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 8:27 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 62
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Anyone have a drive image of the ex47x 3.0 upgrade or know where it can be found (bit torrent maybe)?

I'm running the server on 1.1 and have the 1.32 (MSSDV32134990ServerUpdate) and 1.33 (MSSDV33135433ServerUpdate) application I'd be willing to share. But I need V3.0.

Thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:29 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2193
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 246 times in 243 posts
I could be wrong, but if you bring up the console, go to settings, one of the tabs (I'm at work right now so can't see) will bring you to the updates page.
Get all the windows updates and get all the HP updates and after all the re-booting and updating I believe you will be at 3.0 after the third HP update.

At some point if your client is 64 bit, the connector may have a fit about a version miss match, that is when you un-install the connector and type in the web address to get the correct version of the connector from the server.
http://servername:55000
This happens because of the HP updates, I think at 2.0 is when they brought on the 64 bit connector.

So for now, I believe HP is still pumping out the update/s you are looking for.

Let us know how it goes.... and good luck

P.S. Check the info I wrote in this thread. Once you get all the updates, you can save them for the future, in case HP stops pumping them out.
I found where they are downloaded to on the server before they are installed.
http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=14395

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Gardian for this post
lioninstreet
PostPosted: Thu Jun 29, 2017 8:08 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 62
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hey again Guardian,

I think all the updates are in on this one. But I'll double check. Looks like WHS has to be at least Ver 1.3.6.21622 to run 64 bit.

Sure would like to have these updates hard saved in a folder for after EOL...


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:27 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2193
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 246 times in 243 posts
I believe if you keep trying, you will get the 3 HP updates.
But, I tested it out to see 5-6 months ago, hopefully they haven't stopped.
I don't have the ex-470 anymore, I gave two of them to my brother-in-law in Colorado, so I do have access to one and could save the files if needed.
I'm running the last version X-510 which hardware wise is the same as the ex-495 but the updates are not the same.
The ex-490 ex-495 x-510 were the same.
The ex-485 ex-487 I believe were the same.
The ex-470 ex-475 were the same.
So basically we have 3 sets of software and 3 sets of updates.
Unfortunately the ex-470 is the oldest model and it could make sense that they might stop the updates on it first, hope I'm wrong because there are still a lot of people running them.

Please try a few times and let us know if they have stopped.

P.S. I was just looking and the windows updates and the hp updates are on different tabs/pages. see pic
Your will look a little different because it is the 470 and mine is the 510, but keep clicking on that CHECK UPDATES till it won't go no more, if it says nothing, reboot the server and try again a couple times.
Good luck


Attachments:
hp updates page.jpg
hp updates page.jpg [ 43.83 KiB | Viewed 1702 times ]

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2017 9:25 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 62
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Looks like you are correct that the data vault has a different console.

After all updates are complete, when in my 47x console on the hardware tab I am seeing that the HP MediaSmart Server Software version is 1.1.3.19049.

Per a HP document I have, to install a 64 bit terminal the software I have to have MediaSmart Server Software Version Update 1.3.6.21622

I'll keep checking to make sure my HP update is working properly but it might be back to square one. If I remember HP was sending out disks to users on it for the 47x. Yes?

If so, anyone have one willing to image it into google drive, know where it might be in a bit torrent, or something like that?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 7:05 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2193
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 246 times in 243 posts
You are correct, at first HP was selling updates discs for the 470 and then later on starting pushing out updates so we didn't need the updates disc anymore.
Please give it a couple more tries after a couple more reboots and if you don't get the extra updates, let us know.
I can look on my server and see if I ripped them. Maybe able to mail them to you.
Or someone may be able to upload them somewhere.
Good Luck
If HP has indeed stopped the updates for the 470, this is indeed a sad day. ](*,)

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 8:07 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2193
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 246 times in 243 posts
I was just looking at your first thread:
Quote:
I think I posted this in the wrong place. Moving to ex49x hardware now...

If you have the EX-49X then there is no Discs 3 updates.
It would be helpful to know which server you are working on. :?

If you have a 470 then this link (not hosted by me) may get you the updated discs iso.
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0B7Dvgc1yRgIoZXA4b0Nrd0FMdjQ?usp=sharing

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:53 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 62
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Gardian,

Just happened to read thru this thread again... I forgot about being the OP on it (seinor moment) and was just working thru the same issue again on another WHS with Rueben...

The software upgrade was indeed for a ex47x and as of today 6/11/18 the link to the updated .iso's was live. Thanks again for being part of this board!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 7:56 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5152
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 702 times in 681 posts
If your going to install the 3.0 software onto the EX470 I would do it on a separate set of drives just to determine if you like it or not. There are some features in it that are nice but as I recall that software comes with its own set of issues many of which have been posted in the past in the forums by myself and others. I have a couple EX470's that I have not run in years and maybe one might have v3.0 running on it. If you have it installed and run into problems and require help I will be more than happy to power my units up to see if one might still have the v3 software running. I no I am not as active as I once was but from time to time people do contact me for assistance.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group