It is currently Tue Nov 19, 2019 7:03 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New custom WHS2011 Box
PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 10:27 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:25 pm
Posts: 30
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 3 times in 2 posts
I am finally giving up my beloved HP MediaSmartServer. I just need more power to run applications. I tried to build as small a form factor as possible, the case is sweet as hell, here is what I got:


Crucial 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600)

Intel Core i5-4430 Haswell 3.0GHz LGA 1150 84W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics

COOLER MASTER Elite 460 RS-460-PSAR-I3 460W ATX12V V2.31 Power Supply New 4th Gen CPU

Asus H87I-PLUS Desktop Motherboard - Intel H87 Express Chipset - Socket H3 LGA-1150

Microsoft Windows Home Server 2011 64-bit OEM System Builder

SAMSUNG 840 Series MZ-7TD120BW 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

LIAN LI PC-Q25B Black Aluminum Mini-ITX Tower Computer Case
http://www.lian-li.com/en/dt_portfolio/pc-q25/

This thing was a bitch to work with, trying to get your hands in there. Overall im happy with it. Its very fast. Side by side with my media smart server, I still wish i was able to get something that small with more power. I freaking loved that thing, but will sell it off to pay of some of the new server. The lian li is very well made and super light 8lbs. Everything is precise on it.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

_________________
HP EX 495
WD Raptor System Drive
4G Ram
Q9450 Quad Core Processor


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank jonnyd91 for this post
yakuza

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Tue Aug 06, 2013 10:28 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:25 pm
Posts: 30
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 3 times in 2 posts
Some side by sides with the media smart server.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

_________________
HP EX 495
WD Raptor System Drive
4G Ram
Q9450 Quad Core Processor


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank jonnyd91 for this post
Comp1962, yakuza
PostPosted: Wed Aug 07, 2013 7:59 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
That case is hard to beat, built one myself. The only thing lacking IMO was an opti drive and I modded mine and put a laptop opti drive in the front. I lost a place for one harddrive but I think it was worth it.
Awesome build, I think it will serve you well for a long time.
Thx for sharing.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:08 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 8:08 am
Posts: 23
Thanks: 19
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Looks cool!

Man, I always manage to have the cables looking a mess.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:08 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
I have that case and modded it with a slim cd-rw drive, it's very nice case.
But, now I have found this one that is going to replace the other one: LIAN LI Black Aluminum PC-Q18B Mini ITX
http://www.lian-li.com/en/dt_portfolio/pc-q18/
It has the cdrw already in it.

Thanks for sharing, you should get great use out of that setup.
:cheers:

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2013 3:40 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
I used that same case after Damian did a write up about it. I used it to relocate my WHSv1 server. Its a very nice case and while I would of loved to have an optical drive in it the thing is there is no real need since I can use an external optical drive which I happen to have a couple handy. I love the fact it has a backplane and that the side covers just pop off making it very easy to clean and service.

jonnyd91,

Nice build! I hope you enjoy it for many years. I know I enjoy mine and while it does not have all the cool LED's the MSS has its by far and easier enclosure to work with once built.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 4:51 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 4:31 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Nice build. I have quite a few of the same components, or very close at least. I'm using the i5 4440 processor with the same RAM, case (love the case!) and ASUS motherboard .

I do have one quick question for you. I'm having a heck of a time getting a Intel network driver that WHS 2011 likes. Which driver did you use and where did you get it.

Thanks!!

Ray


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 3:32 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 3:27 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
nice build, I have something similar. I am having real problems getting the Ethernet to work in whs 2011. Asus say the it does not support whs2011 with the intel l217 Ethernet chipset. How did you get the drivers and if possible could you send them to me? I am really stuck as my pci slot is used by my raid card!

cheers

1970Olds442 wrote:
Nice build. I have quite a few of the same components, or very close at least. I'm using the i5 4440 processor with the same RAM, case (love the case!) and ASUS motherboard .

I do have one quick question for you. I'm having a heck of a time getting a Intel network driver that WHS 2011 likes. Which driver did you use and where did you get it.

Thanks!!

Ray


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 3:40 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
WHS2011 is based on Server2008 so why not try the Server 2008 Driver: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail ... 217+driver

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Comp1962 for this post
cbgk82
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 3:57 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 3:27 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Comp1962 wrote:
WHS2011 is based on Server2008 so why not try the Server 2008 Driver: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail ... 217+driver


thanks but tried this just says that no intel device found. it seems that this is a l217v chip that doesn't support server software. intel locked out drivers this ability in the divers. this is not stated on the asus website who forgot to put the v suffix on the Ethernet chip designation. some people have made a custom driver but this is beyond me.

any ideas?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 6:42 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
I assume you tried all the 64 Bit Drivers available for Win7 and Win 8 and if not then I would give those a try. Also try contacting Intel to see what they have to say. My guess is they may defer you to Asus. Short of getting a new motherboard the only other option is to try a USB-Gigabit Lan Adapter to see how that works until your able to find a solution.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Comp1962 for this post
cbgk82
PostPosted: Tue Oct 22, 2013 6:50 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 3:27 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Comp1962 wrote:
I assume you tried all the 64 Bit Drivers available for Win7 and Win 8 and if not then I would give those a try. Also try contacting Intel to see what they have to say. My guess is they may defer you to Asus. Short of getting a new motherboard the only other option is to try a USB-Gigabit Lan Adapter to see how that works until your able to find a solution.


thanks for the answer, have tried all the drivers I can think of. contacted intel who sent me to asus who sent me back to intel! some people have managed to force some drivers to work by modding inf file in the driver pack. apparently it is intel turning it off not a hardware problem. I will look into a usb 3 nic.

thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 5:28 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 4:31 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Oddly enough, I got it to work and it was pretty simple. I did some research and found people changing code in drivers and all kinds of stuff, things I didn’t want to do, but I had an idea that I thought I would try…

I went into Device Manager and pulled up the properties of the NIC and did a driver update. From there I chose to “browse” for the driver and went to the optical drive with the Asus DVD in it and went to the NIC Intel drivers. At some point I had to choose “Let me choose the driver” or something like that but I can’t remember the dialog exactly.

From there you want the Winx64 drivers. There are several folders; I went to the NDIS62 folder (which is 2008 R2 Server/Win7). In that folder there were several drivers. At that point I just picked the top one.

I got a message saying that it was the wrong driver and asking if I wanted to install it anyway. I chose yes. It then opened to a dialog with a bunch of NIC cards and asked me to select one. I scrolled down and found the Intel I217, selected it and hit OK.

The driver installed without a problem and my NIC works GREAT.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:13 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
I hate it when MS thinks they know everything. Heck if I allow the MS updates to install automatically they often will update my NIC Drivers for my Intel NIC with MS Drivers where the Intel Drivers are much better. Its as bad as updating the graphics drivers only to find out they screw up your video output.

So for me MS does not know which drivers work best and you solution to the issue makes perfect sense to me. It was my inclination to use the 64bit Server 2008 drivers which you proved worked so lets see how it works out for cbgk82.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group