It is currently Wed Aug 05, 2020 3:56 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:44 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:04 am
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Don't see hibernate or sleep option. I really I need hibernate.

Sent from my SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2

_________________
EX490
CPU E6550
8TB HDD's
2GB RAM


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 3:16 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2220
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 80
Thanked: 252 times in 249 posts
I tried to install a new software that I had found for WHS v1 and worked great, but it won't install on win2012E.
http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=13235
I'm hoping at some point it will be upgraded to work.
I have win2012E on a 490 I will do some poking around and see if I can find a way to sleep it. Hibernate might be a little harder but sleep/wakeup should be able to do somehow.

I loaded this [LightsOut for server 2012 essentials ] I have used it on whs v1 and it worked good, hoping it will work for 2012, it installed ok, I'll know the next few days.
http://www.homeserversoftware.com/lo2011.html

Good luck and shout out if you find something because I like to sleep my servers at night.

Edit: First night with Lights-out on win2012E and it did not sleep, it reported it did not sleep because of a server backup between 9pm to 6am which I'm still trying to figure out so I turned off backups as one of the options to keep the server awake and see what happens tonight.

Edit Again: Second / third night the server will shutdown at the set time, but will not wake up in the morning. I do not have any active clients attached to this server so that may be part of it.
I'll keep trying and do some googling to see if I can find anything to make these sleep/wake.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2016E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2013 2:23 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2220
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 80
Thanked: 252 times in 249 posts
So I gave up on Lights-Out and went back to why I could not install SmartPower:
http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=13235
Which is working great with WHS v1. I figured that it would not install till I could add dot net 3.5, win2012E comes with dot net 4 already, but smart power needed 3.5. I did some reading and figured out I could enable dot net 3.5 in server management, then it installed just fine, will see tonight and in the morning if it works.
P.S. SmartPower detected the domain and wanted to be registered, it is only free for non commercial use so I was able to send for a free Home domain use license, will see if that shows up and works.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2016E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2013 11:52 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2220
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 80
Thanked: 252 times in 249 posts
Me think I got it. Did some reading and found out the the Graphics driver that was installed by default on 2012E on the ex490 would not allow suspend, just shutdown.
So smartpower could shut it down, but it can not wake a pc that has been shutdown, but a pc that has been suspended.
I downloaded and installed the Intel G33/G31 vista 64bit graphics driver, it installed with a reboot and now I have the choice of suspend.
We will see in the morning if it works.
More to come.

Edit: That did the trick, I don't have or didn't get [hibernate] but I did get [suspend]
EX490 with smartpower installed is sleeping at 10pm and waking at 6am everyday.

Hibernate on a server, I don't know if it is possible because it is doing things in the background, but suspend was not an option at one point. I will shout back if it becomes an option.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2016E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group