It is currently Tue Aug 11, 2020 4:38 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 7:57 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:49 am
Posts: 103
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 5 times in 3 posts
Colleagues,

I want to access a server I have built with Windows Server 2012 Essentials but I don't want to join the domain. Is there a way to do this?

Regards.

_________________
NZXT Classic H2, Cooler Master Silent Pro M600, Gigabyte GA-H67M-D2-B3, Intel Core i5-2310, Crucial 16GB; System: 1 128GB 840 Pro Series; Data: 1 Seagate 3TB Barracuda, 2 Samsung 2TB EcoGreen F4 HD204UI; Backup: 1 Hitachi 500GB Deskstar, 1 Hitachi 2TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2012 8:40 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:49 am
Posts: 103
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 5 times in 3 posts
I saw a post somewhere else on how to do it. However, I have this client already on a WHS 2011 server and therefore, it tells me I cannot connect to 2012 Essentials unless I uninstall the connector for WHS 2011. Not good. I only want to be able to access it via Windows Explorer and it doesn't even show. Any assistance is appreciated.

Regards.

_________________
NZXT Classic H2, Cooler Master Silent Pro M600, Gigabyte GA-H67M-D2-B3, Intel Core i5-2310, Crucial 16GB; System: 1 128GB 840 Pro Series; Data: 1 Seagate 3TB Barracuda, 2 Samsung 2TB EcoGreen F4 HD204UI; Backup: 1 Hitachi 500GB Deskstar, 1 Hitachi 2TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 8:11 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:59 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Quebec
Thanks: 9
Thanked: 34 times in 27 posts
It seems you can only have one "connect" on a given computer. I see two choices, but there may be others that I don't know of.
First is to create two partitions on your computer system disk in order to have two systems in dual boot: one connected to whs the other to wse. You will have access to your two partitions when you are in either one. So when you want to connect to a certain server boot the corresponding system.
The other solution is to create an account on the server you are not "connected" to, but don't install "connect" on it. You can acces files through the web page of the server, since you are registered on it.

I have the two configurations and it works. Draw backs are: the dual boot forces you to restart your system when you want to access to the other server; the web connect brings you a slow connections since it goes onto Internet (use only if you don't have large files to access to).

_________________
HP-ProLiant N40L 8GB WHS2011
HP-EX470 4GB Athlon-X2-BE-2350-(Stepping G1) Windows 8 (server build)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:22 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 9:49 am
Posts: 103
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 5 times in 3 posts
VieuxJules,

There has to be an easier way. I'll keep trying.

Regards.

_________________
NZXT Classic H2, Cooler Master Silent Pro M600, Gigabyte GA-H67M-D2-B3, Intel Core i5-2310, Crucial 16GB; System: 1 128GB 840 Pro Series; Data: 1 Seagate 3TB Barracuda, 2 Samsung 2TB EcoGreen F4 HD204UI; Backup: 1 Hitachi 500GB Deskstar, 1 Hitachi 2TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 20, 2012 11:17 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 8:33 am
Posts: 195
Thanks: 17
Thanked: 10 times in 9 posts
Better late than never:

How to skip domain joining during client deployment in a Windows Server 2012 Essentials network
http://social.technet.microsoft.com/For ... 8d030a7c13


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:19 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 5:01 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
EricE wrote:
Better late than never:

How to skip domain joining during client deployment in a Windows Server 2012 Essentials network
http://social.technet.microsoft.com/For ... 8d030a7c13


In addition to the method noted above Tinkererguy has documented a process that allows you to install the S2012E connector and not have to Join the Domain (without the registry hack and thus keeping some options open -- like using VPN)....

Check the outline Here http://homeservershow.com/forums/index. ... entry46213

A more detailed description Here http://tinkertry.com/windows-server-201 ... workgroup/

and a live video adding two clients to S2012E without joining the Domain Here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tXxdZv0D ... r_embedded

_________________
EX-487 w/6.75TB: ST3750630AS 3*WD20EADS & WD Elmnts 2TB Srvr Bkup; w/ Athena AP-MFATX30 300W, 4GB-RAM, E5200 // Main-Client: HAF 932, GA-X58A-UD3R, i7-930, CM V8, 12GB-RAM, SATA6 WD1002FAEX, Win 7 Pro 64b; WHS-V1 VM


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:51 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:01 am
Posts: 50
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
I'm confused here. Is Server 2012 Essentials going to attempt to force the clients to join a domain?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 30, 2013 8:03 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
There is a way to work around the domain just review the info in the following link: http://social.technet.microsoft.com/For ... d030a7c13/

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 05, 2013 4:52 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2220
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 80
Thanked: 252 times in 249 posts
Here is a youtube: This guy over at http://tinkertry.com has some good stuff on 2012E
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W2owEIu33F0

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2016E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2013 8:29 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 4:23 am
Posts: 3838
Location: Long Island, New York
Thanks: 94
Thanked: 243 times in 236 posts
I may give this a shot if all else fails. If I can find some time this weekend I hope to troubleshoot the issues I am having with WS2012E and my VPN. The issue still revolves around getting the Anywhere access working correctly

_________________
Cheers,
Damian

DIY WHS - 12.5TB and growing, too many gadgets to list

Did you read the MediaSmartServer blog today?
Blog - http://www.adigitalhomeblog.com
"Like a midget at a urinal, stay on your toes!" - Lieutenant Frank Drebin


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group