It is currently Fri Aug 23, 2019 4:51 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: newbie question
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:04 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:58 pm
Posts: 39
Thanks: 14
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
OK, so I did not read the best practices first (shame on me). I have a DIY WHS (HP Proliant ML110 G6) that shipped with a 160GB HDD and bought 2x 1.5 TB for storage. I added a 1.5 TB HDD and installed WHS with drivers and all. After reading some of the posts, I added the second 1.5TB HDD and used the WHS wizard to configure it as a backup disk.

After I started copying the data, I noticed something wierd - WHS complains that it is out of space and duplication can not be done. WHS is treating the second 1.5 TB as a 150ish GB drive [-(

I guess this is because the system disk is 150GB and backup is exactly the same size? Now I am hitting my head for not thinking about the best practices and should have removed the 160GB.

I am ready to reinstall WHS all over again but I am wondering if activation will be messed up? Any tips to avoid reinstall will be awesome.
Thank you in advance.

_________________
MSS: HP EX495 (removed FireFly, Twonky; using full iTunes)
Client1: AppleTV
Client2: Win7 Home Premium (Intel Core2 Duo, 4GB RAM, Azuntech X Meridian, Fusion 5RT Gold, 1TB)
Client3: Win7 Prof 32bit
Client4: MacBook Pro
Client5: Mac Mini


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: newbie question
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:14 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10700
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 918 times in 874 posts
If you want to use duplication, I'd add both 1.5TB drives as Storage drives, and keep running the OS on the 160GB system drive. Then consider purchasing another drive for backups, a 2TB drive is less than $100.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: newbie question
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:21 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:58 pm
Posts: 39
Thanks: 14
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Thank you for such a quick reply :mss: I will change the 2nd 1.5 to storage.

I am still confused why WHS is treating my 1.5TB as 150GB when I turn on the duplication? Wont it do the same even if I add a 2TB?

_________________
MSS: HP EX495 (removed FireFly, Twonky; using full iTunes)
Client1: AppleTV
Client2: Win7 Home Premium (Intel Core2 Duo, 4GB RAM, Azuntech X Meridian, Fusion 5RT Gold, 1TB)
Client3: Win7 Prof 32bit
Client4: MacBook Pro
Client5: Mac Mini


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: newbie question
PostPosted: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:22 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10700
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 918 times in 874 posts
It requires two hard drives for duplication, right now it's using the 1.5TB drive for data, and the 160GB drive for duplication.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group