It is currently Sat Nov 17, 2018 8:09 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: 3TB drives support
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 2:44 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 8:15 pm
Posts: 75
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
(This may be the wrong place to post this ... feel free to reprimand me :? )

Do we know if the 3gb drives are supported by the EX495 (or other) servers?

Will they work in:
    Sans Digital TR5M-B 5 Bay SATA to eSATA
    Sans Digital TR8U-B 8 Bay SATA to USB 2.0

_________________
regards, tim
    Primary: HP ProLiant N40L w/ 22.25 TB
    SansDigital TR8M+B eSATA
    Backup: HP ProLiant N40L w/ 16.25 TB
    SansDigital TR5M-B eSATA
    Offsite: HP ProLiant N40L w/ 6.25 TB
    SansDigital TR8U-B USB
    Other: HP EX495 w/ 2.5 TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 2:47 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 8:15 pm
Posts: 75
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
OK ... wrong decade. I meant 3tb drives. :crazy:


taccardit wrote:
(This may be the wrong place to post this ... feel free to reprimand me )

Do we know if the 3gb drives are supported by the EX495 (or other) servers?

Will they work in:

Sans Digital TR5M-B 5 Bay SATA to eSATA
Sans Digital TR8U-B 8 Bay SATA to USB 2.0
(This may be the wrong place to post this ... feel free to reprimand me :? )

Do we know if the 3gb drives are supported by the EX495 (or other) servers?

Will they work in:
    Sans Digital TR5M-B 5 Bay SATA to eSATA
    Sans Digital TR8U-B 8 Bay SATA to USB 2.0

_________________
regards, tim
    Primary: HP ProLiant N40L w/ 22.25 TB
    SansDigital TR8M+B eSATA
    Backup: HP ProLiant N40L w/ 16.25 TB
    SansDigital TR5M-B eSATA
    Offsite: HP ProLiant N40L w/ 6.25 TB
    SansDigital TR8U-B USB
    Other: HP EX495 w/ 2.5 TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3TB drives support
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 4:42 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:14 am
Posts: 1540
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 117 times in 100 posts
WHS v1 is 32 bit and can only see up to 2TB drives.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3TB drives support
PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 7:55 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Oct 31, 2010 7:29 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Sorry to bump an old thread, but I have similar interests.

With 3TB HDDs coming out, I'd like to upgrade my server. I have an EX475. I'm guessing 3TB drives won't work on this, right?

So which "off-the-shelf" WHS server can I buy that can take 3TB drives? I'd like to stay with HP if possible, and 4 bays have been working well for me so far. I'm guessing it needs to be 64bit? What about Vail (which I know almost nothing about)?

Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3TB drives support
PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2010 8:51 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 76 times in 71 posts
There is some good information on the BYOB podcast # 19. They talk about the 3TB drives and WHS.

http://homeservershow.com/byob-episode-19.html

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3TB drives support
PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 4:58 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 7:59 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I didn't see an answer either way to this, so I figured I'd chime in. I picked up a few 3 TB drives to replace a a few 2 TB drives. I didn't feel like rebuilding my server (EX495) so I left it with a 2 TB boot drive. I'll wait for Vail before I bother to do that. Anyway, in my EX495 and in my eSATA enclosure as drive #5 (Rosewill RSV-S5) the drive is recognized in WHS as having 2.73 TB, but disk manager shows 2.05 TB. Guess we have to wait a few more months!


Attachments:
3tb.JPG
3tb.JPG [ 93.29 KiB | Viewed 37264 times ]
3 tb not added.JPG
3 tb not added.JPG [ 161.2 KiB | Viewed 37262 times ]
after add.JPG
after add.JPG [ 164.67 KiB | Viewed 37262 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3TB drives support
PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2010 11:33 am 
Offline
3.0TB storage
3.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:38 pm
Posts: 411
Location: Central California
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 24 times in 22 posts
WHS is based on Server 2003.
There is a Microsoft patch that will let you format drives using GPT so you can use the 3TB drive however being a 32bit OS it will only see a max 2.1TB partition.
So you would have to manually partition the drive, at which point I don't know if the WHS would permit you to stuff it into the storage pool.
But you might be able to use it as two seperate backup area's or share them out directly.
They just would not appear in your WHS management console.
Once vail rolls out you may be able to present the whole drive as a single partition and possibly span multiple LUNS for massive volumes but then there will no longer be a storage pool to worry about.

_________________
Current DIY server DL380 G6 2xquad core 2.8ghz 32GB rdimm ram 512mb 2xHP 410 raid with 2x sas expanders (2 X norco RPC-4220) 48 slots stacked with room to grow.
30TB (Movie/File/Music)Win 2012 essentials 64bit Storage spaces
Ex490 E6400 4gb ram


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3TB drives support
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:12 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2009 3:52 am
Posts: 260
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 31 times in 29 posts
Notice in markgm's 3rd screenshot that the System portion of the pie chart went from 24gb before adding the 3tb drive, to 771gb after adding the drive.
The MSS are simply not built for 3tb drives without their special HBA card (which the server has no PCI slots to attach to).

_________________
\:D/ Click on Thank Post if I've been helpful! \:D/


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3TB drives support
PostPosted: Sat Jun 18, 2011 6:18 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 1:32 am
Posts: 48
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
I'd like to know too. I'm replacing my EX495 with a AWIECO box and will want new 3TB drives. (I too have a Sans Digital ESATA 5 box as well. I want to order the most compatible drives I can.

_________________
WHS 2011
Zotec Intel i5 ZBOX ID82 SSD C:
Six 3TB drives via USB 3.0 ProMedia Enclosures
8GB RAM


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3TB drives support
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 9:39 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1109
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
What about this:
http://usingwindowshomeserver.com/2010/ ... rd-drives/

I havent heard if this is a real solution yet or not.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3TB drives support
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 10:35 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 76 times in 71 posts
T-Bone wrote:
What about this:
http://usingwindowshomeserver.com/2010/ ... rd-drives/

I havent heard if this is a real solution yet or not.


Tim Daleo from UWHS and myself got a beta from the developer who promised it would work with WHS v1, we gave it a try and determined that it didn't work. We contacted the developer and had no reply.

This looks interesting, http://forum.wegotserved.com/index.php/ ... n-whs-pp3/

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3TB drives support
PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2011 2:29 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2010 5:05 pm
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
I use a Drobo which my WHS v1 Acer sees as a 16TB drive for backup purposes. I have 4TB of hard drives in the Drobo and it is seen as one drive. Server 2003 does support GPT drives so that's not an issue if use as backup. It would get confusing if I tried to add it as storage.

The Drobo was formatted by the Drobo utility and not the WHS which is why it works. Formatting using the WHS doesn't work properly for the Drobo.

I don't know what would happen if you formatted the 3TB drive on a windows 7 system and then just moved it over.

philip


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3TB drives support
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2011 7:55 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 7:48 am
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I have managed to get 2 x 3TB WD Green drives recognised, and partitioned on a EX490 Mediasmart server (WHS2003)

I installed the Intel Rapid Storage Technology update from here:

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_ ... iid=dc_rss

I found mention of someone getting drives to work under Win7 using it and took a chance.

Installed - rebooted and voila. Converted to GPT and could partition 2.72tb.

Prior to this I was only getting approx 700gb showing.

Hope this helps others.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3TB drives support
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:05 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 76 times in 71 posts
artyshag wrote:
I have managed to get 2 x 3TB WD Green drives recognised, and partitioned on a EX490 Mediasmart server (WHS2003)

I installed the Intel Rapid Storage Technology update from here:

http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_ ... iid=dc_rss

I found mention of someone getting drives to work under Win7 using it and took a chance.

Installed - rebooted and voila. Converted to GPT and could partition 2.72tb.

Prior to this I was only getting approx 700gb showing.

Hope this helps others.


were you able to add the 2.72TB partition to the pool ?

From what I understand, when adding a drive to the pool, Windows will repartition and format the drive MBR and therefore back to the 2TB limit. You can only use the 2.72TB as a non pooled drive or as a backup since you can skip the format part when adding as a backup drive.

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3TB drives support
PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2011 10:49 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 7:48 am
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Diehard wrote:
were you able to add the 2.72TB partition to the pool ?

From what I understand, when adding a drive to the pool, Windows will repartition and format the drive MBR and therefore back to the 2TB limit. You can only use the 2.72TB as a non pooled drive or as a backup since you can skip the format part when adding as a backup drive.


I dont actually use the pool. I neutered whs2k3 when I got the thing as the drives I had to put into the machine had data on them and I didnt have space to move it all around to add them to the pool. I also like to manage everything myself and the front end didnt let me do what I wanted. :P

This solution was for my issue which was whs2k3's failure to recognise the drives as 3tb at all.

That said - I did see the following in my interweb travels that *seems* to make the pool use the whole disk:
http://forum.wegotserved.com/index.php/ ... n-whs-pp3/


Cheers.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group