It is currently Sat Oct 19, 2019 1:50 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 248 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 17  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 9:00 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 116 times in 44 posts
Going for the self reply record...

I've built the cable. Connections made are in my first post in this thread. My monitor detects the signal but because of some of the cables I haven't connected (VGA Pin# 4,9,11,12,15) the monitor is in powersave mode (ie: no picture). Or at least that's why I think the monitor is in power save mode (it tells me it is).

Advice on which 5V CN2 Pin to connect to VGA pin9 is welcomed. Or any of the other pins for that matter.

Anyway its bedtime. Good night folks. More fiddling tomorrow. Cheers


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 8:02 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:30 pm
Posts: 259
Location: Colorado
Thanks: 11
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
How about some pics :D

_________________
Sean
"I do not like the cone of shame."
Boom Boom Room


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:51 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 116 times in 44 posts
I was going to but.... of a blank screen?... I'll post when I've got something worth showing.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:40 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:34 am
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
according to google, the VESA power save is triggered by at least one of the sync lines being off. are you sure you have those ID'd/connected properly?

the sense lines and optional 5v supply are only used for DDC type communication -- i don't think those should have anything to do with no signal/power save.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:47 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:30 pm
Posts: 259
Location: Colorado
Thanks: 11
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
ymboc wrote:
I was going to but.... of a blank screen?... I'll post when I've got something worth showing.


I meant of your "DIY cable" :oops:

_________________
Sean
"I do not like the cone of shame."
Boom Boom Room


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 12:34 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 116 times in 44 posts
mkawa: I've seen the same information but my multimeter shows it as connected & the reading is identical to my early probing (Voltage). I'm pretty sure with a pre-modern-age monitor I'd be seeing a picture... but with my newer LCD monitor I'm not so sure... that said I'm not ruling anything out.

MaximAvs: All in good time... it will be posted. It's just a VGA plug connected by ribbon cable to a crimp connector that fits in CN2


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 5:02 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 116 times in 44 posts
Alright,.... :D..... I got it working...

Seems I crossed the HSync & VSync (no harm done thank goodness).

I'll have to review earlier postings to see if I need to make corrections.

Spent a few minutes in the Bios,... (No Obvious DualCore Enable Feature - Damn!).

Booted into the Windows PreInstallation Environment... looks like its loading off of an onboard USB disk (cool!)... I might have to leverage that space in my solaris/zfs exploits (solaris can't yet boot off of a raidz pool)... that is if it's not write-protected... I hope its big :)

Anyway I'm psyched! :) a co-worker's been teasing me about taking over the world with this little server (I can't shut-up about it sometimes)... I have begun!

So I'm thinking I might post video of the whole thing (bios etc) to YouTube... but I've never done that before so I'll have to figure that out...


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 5:15 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 11:34 am
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
awesome!!! when you have a chance, could you write up a parts list?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:00 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
Earlier I said that I was mostly watching out of curiosity. Begining to think this would be worthwhile just for the ability to set the MSS up to "restore previous state" after a power interruption!

But forst the memory upgrade, 1640 chip and a 1 TB drive.... Then the ^%*(@ income taxes... This one may be a while!

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:18 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 116 times in 44 posts
You know... on boot up it shows a CPU count. (1)

I wonder if the reason the reason the dual core chips haven't worked is because of the windows home server install wasn't expecting a second core...

Video is captured. Working on the YouTube end of things.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 7:00 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:31 pm
Posts: 96
Location: San Diego, California
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Screenshots...


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 9:51 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 116 times in 44 posts
How about... Video.

YouTube (A bit blurry)
Okay... scratch liveleak "This media item has been removed due to copyright/terms of service violation." (wth?) :evil:
Somehow "How To Hack A Parking Meter" is not a TOS violation but my vid is... and now I'm banned from liveleak... go figure.


Last edited by ymboc on Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:09 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2007 12:31 pm
Posts: 96
Location: San Diego, California
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Very cool! Now you have to figure out how to mass produce those things so you can sell them. :D


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2008 10:14 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:50 pm
Posts: 765
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 116 times in 44 posts
As stated before... not interested in making or selling these. I'll provide a how to but that's about it. The price of admission is you'll have to DIY.

Parts List:
  1. 1x XFX Low Profile Kit (I scavenged the VGA connector from this, and later soldered a longer ribbon cable to it)
  2. 1x 26 position 2mm pitch Connector Housing
  3. 15x 2 24-28AWG Crimp Connector Terminal (Fits into the housing)

Product Links
The Connector Housing I got (10)
The Crimp Terminals I got (100)

An Alternative Connector housing
and its matching connector terminal

There may be other alternatives...

If you're trying to find your own on digikey start with the search "conn housing 2mm 26pos", find the connector you want, pull its datasheet which will tell you what terminals you need. When selecting terminals keep in mind that ribbon cable is 28 AWG.

Tips:
The metric terminals I got needed a special $300 crimper. I thought my standard $13 DSUB crimper would do the trick. It Didn't. It was able to clamp the crimp the "strain relief" part of the terminal (the part that grabs the insulation) but it couldn't make the electrical connection. I ended up soldering the wire to each terminal. It's possible terminals from another company may work with a standard crimper.

Additional TidBits
The second 'extra' connector attached to the cable in the vid is just to hold the terminals I haven't connected yet. I preferred this to letting them hang loose.

The XFX Low Profile adapter cable is about half the length as the one pictured (ie: will not reach the outside of the case once re-assembled) and it also didn't come with the two screws needed to secure a monitor cable.


Attachments:
File comment: Single Terminal Close up
DSCF1854.JPG
DSCF1854.JPG [ 141.91 KiB | Viewed 30480 times ]
File comment: HD15 Female Connector with the two mentioned (not included) screws
DSCF1852.JPG
DSCF1852.JPG [ 197.39 KiB | Viewed 30481 times ]
DSCF1951.JPG
DSCF1951.JPG [ 165.31 KiB | Viewed 30484 times ]


Last edited by ymboc on Fri Apr 18, 2008 3:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank ymboc for this post
pmdci
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 1:32 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 920 times in 875 posts
Congrats on getting that working! 8)

The BIOS doesn't support dual core processors, you'll never get that working without a BIOS update.

The onboard flash is 256MB, and is write protected (though an enterprising individual could probably find a way around that).


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 248 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 17  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group