It is currently Mon Jul 06, 2020 11:05 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 141 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: 3.0 update??
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 2:43 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10717
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 623
Thanked: 923 times in 878 posts
@tlwizard - The disks function exactly the same as previous versions of Server Recovery, which means the license is built into the server BIOS. A single set of disks should work for any server of that model.

@dusto - I discuss this a bit in the comments of my Guide blog post. Again, Server Recovery as a process does not change, if you choose to remove your system drive and replace it (same as the failed system drive scenario) there is a possibility you could lose your backup database, and be sure duplication is enabled.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: 3.0 update??
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 12:23 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:32 pm
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Forget what I said :) , looks like the links are only half there on HP's site.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3.0 update??
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 2:16 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 2:27 am
Posts: 35
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 4 times in 3 posts
Thanks for the response Yakuza.

And if I understand your write-up correctly, the 475 and 485 require different sets of update discs, so if I have a 475 and a 485 I'd have to order two sets for $50 total?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3.0 update??
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 2:46 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10717
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 623
Thanked: 923 times in 878 posts
That's correct, tlwizard.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3.0 update??
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 3:27 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 5:48 pm
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
I won't worry about it then and just leave my drive the way it is. Now if only I could find an upgrade CPU, it doesn't look like those AMD processors people upgrade to are sold any more.

_________________
Dusto
dustoman at gmail dot com

Image


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3.0 update??
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 3:57 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 2:19 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Just placed an order for the US 3.0 software for the EX47x series. $42.45 with 1-2 day shipping and tax included. Looks like the base shipping option is $27.95, not $25 as previously reported. My estimated delivery date is 02/26/2010.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3.0 update??
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:23 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2009 10:37 am
Posts: 15
Location: Austin, TX
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
poonjahb wrote:
Just placed an order for the US 3.0 software for the EX47x series. $42.45 with 1-2 day shipping and tax included. Looks like the base shipping option is $27.95, not $25 as previously reported. My estimated delivery date is 02/26/2010.


I cannot find the link to order the upgrade disks for the EX47x. Could someone (please) post the URL ?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3.0 update??
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:38 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 10:15 am
Posts: 108
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts
Unfortunately, it's not available yet in Canada, nor in english or french. Like always, Canada is far behind the USA. We're close to the US but sometimes it looks like we're on another planet...

Klode

_________________
Microsoft MVP 2010 - Windows Home Server
Acer H341 - 1X WD5000AAKS - 3X WD10EACS - 1X WD5000AAKB External - Geek Squad 875VA 525w UPS on WHS controlled by GridJunction Add-in - WHS BDBB - WHIIST - SBS Fax Server - D-Link DIR-655


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3.0 update??
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:47 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
Just go to the hp support page (hp.com), select download software, enter your model number(ie. ex470), when it asks for your operating system specify (ie. windows 7) it will take you to the 3.0 update ordering.

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank erail for this post
BLeeP
 Post subject: Re: 3.0 update??
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 4:49 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 11:32 am
Posts: 1027
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 84 times in 76 posts
And by the way, Canada seems to be available because you can select Canada.

_________________
HP EX470, 4 GIG, 4200+ EE SFF, WHS V1, Production
HP EX485, 4 GIG, E5800, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Transfer Server, Backup Server
HP EX490, 4 GIG, Q9400S, WHS 2011, Stablebit Drive Pool, Mediaserver
HP EX485, 4 GIG, Q8200S, WHS 2011, ITUNES Server


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3.0 update??
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 6:58 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 10:15 am
Posts: 108
Location: Gatineau, Quebec
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts
If I choose Canada, I get this error message:
"Invalid product. Please try again or follow the instructions below to place a phone order."

Well, I didn't try to place a phone order though. But if I choose USA, I get to the ordering page. But obviously I don't live in the USA...

Klode

_________________
Microsoft MVP 2010 - Windows Home Server
Acer H341 - 1X WD5000AAKS - 3X WD10EACS - 1X WD5000AAKB External - Geek Squad 875VA 525w UPS on WHS controlled by GridJunction Add-in - WHS BDBB - WHIIST - SBS Fax Server - D-Link DIR-655


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3.0 update??
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 7:23 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 9:35 pm
Posts: 14
Thanks: 9
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I was able to order the ex47x upgrade (USA). Save your money on the shipping and go with USPS. I splurged for 2-3 day FedEx but the order confirmation says expected arrival is 2 March.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3.0 update??
PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 9:27 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
Texas
$30.26
March 5th delivery

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3.0 update??
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:43 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 2:55 pm
Posts: 162
Location: Toronto, Canada
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 29 times in 24 posts
msdcinfo wrote:
Unfortunately, it's not available yet in Canada, nor in english or french. Like always, Canada is far behind the USA. We're close to the US but sometimes it looks like we're on another planet...

Klode


Update is now available in Canada but once again we get ripped off in terms of price being charged nearly double the US rate when it should only be around 10% more. Also no shipping options available other than FedEx.


Attachments:
ex47x series 3.0 software upgrade.jpg
ex47x series 3.0 software upgrade.jpg [ 121.8 KiB | Viewed 4240 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: 3.0 update??
PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:34 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2009 11:34 am
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hmm..update isn't yet available in the Netherlands. When I visit the HP webpage it redirects to a Best2Server (HP Partner?) website which tells me (in Dutch) that the request could not be processed :( Maybe it's not yet available....


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 141 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group