It is currently Sun Nov 29, 2020 1:43 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:08 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:49 pm
Posts: 236
Location: Nevada
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts
Not that it matters at this point (I am at my wits end) but my "procedure" was initially discussed here if anyone is interested.

http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=5572&view=unread#unread

After seeing cavedivers screen capture I was awestruck and decided I would take his advice regarding just adding all my drives to the new EX495. After all if that picture doesn't prove he is an expert, nothing will.

One problem...Some of the drives that I wished to use in the 495 were still full of data in the 475. No problem I thought.. Lets try a system restore. If I ended up not being happy with how my data was dispersed I could always run the balancer tool on the 495.

I put a CLEAN 500GB drive in the system slot and moved all my drives from the 475 INCLUDING my TRM4B over to the 495. Followed all of HP's directions to the tee. Uninstalled all MSS Software, Shut off AV, stopped firewall, hooked up CAT5 directly, Started server, pressed button, hit next, ETC.

Status light was blinking violet, progress indicator progressed, status light turned solid red, progress bar continued to about half way and Recovery was aborted with the error "Step 2 of 4 Failed, click help for details". Click help and get..."an unknown error has occurred". Only step left is "cancel". Tried NUMEROUS times from same computer. Tried REMOVING all my 475 drives and performed everything again with just the CLEAN system drive. SAME result over and over again. Tried a different VISTA computer, Tried different CAT5...Same thing....Tried an old XP Box...Same thing EXCEPT this time the error was Step 3 of 4 failed. Noticed that the Boot manager program (hp-tftpd32) was running in the task bar. Figured out that this program is responsible for establishing the connection (apparently acts as a type of DHCP server), found its logs:

Rcvd DHCP Discover Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:69:69:85:74:32 [07/10 21:18:17.761]
00:69:69:85:74:32: statically assigned to address 0.0.0.6 [07/10 21:18:17.766]
2804 Request 2 not processed [07/10 21:18:17.824]
Rcvd DHCP Discover Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:2H:32:D9:278:GH [07/10 21:18:27.006]
DHCP: proposed address 169.37.37.37 [07/10 21:18:27.011]
2804 Request 2 not processed [07/10 21:18:27.064]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:2H:32:D9:278:GH [07/10 21:18:27.116]
Previously allocated address 169.37.37.37 acked [07/10 21:18:27.120]
2804 Request 2 not processed [07/10 21:18:27.173]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:69:69:85:74:32 [07/10 21:18:34.017]
2804 Request 2 not processed [07/10 21:18:34.082]
Rcvd DHCP Discover Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:69:69:85:74:32 [07/10 21:18:50.274]
00:69:69:85:74:32: statically assigned to address 0.0.0.6 [07/10 21:18:50.277]
2804 Request 2 not processed [07/10 21:18:50.333]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:69:69:85:74:32 [07/10 21:19:22.514]
2804 Request 2 not processed [07/10 21:19:22.574]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:2H:32:D9:278:GH [07/10 21:19:44.175]
Previously allocated address 169.37.37.37 acked [07/10 21:19:44.197]
2804 Request 2 not processed [07/10 21:19:44.263]
Rcvd DHCP Discover Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:69:69:85:74:32 [07/10 21:19:47.774]
00:69:69:85:74:32: statically assigned to address 0.0.0.6 [07/10 21:19:47.778]
2804 Request 2 not processed [07/10 21:19:47.834]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:69:69:85:74:32 [07/10 21:19:50.029]
2804 Request 2 not processed [07/10 21:19:50.116]
Rcvd DHCP inform Msg for IP 169.37.37.37, Mac 00:2H:32:D9:278:GH [07/10 21:19:57.833]
Rcvd DHCP inform Msg for IP 169.37.37.37, Mac 00:2H:32:D9:278:GH [07/10 21:20:00.833]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:2H:32:D9:278:GH [07/10 21:20:11.898]
Previously allocated address 169.37.37.37 acked [07/10 21:20:11.908]
2804 Request 2 not processed [07/10 21:20:11.980]
Rcvd DHCP inform Msg for IP 169.37.37.37, Mac 00:2H:32:D9:278:GH [07/10 21:20:12.957]
Rcvd DHCP Discover Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:69:69:85:74:32 [07/10 21:20:15.289]
00:69:69:85:74:32: statically assigned to address 0.0.0.6 [07/10 21:20:15.291]
2804 Request 2 not processed [07/10 21:20:15.347]
Rcvd DHCP inform Msg for IP 169.37.37.37, Mac 00:2H:32:D9:278:GH [07/10 21:20:15.399]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:69:69:85:74:32 [07/10 21:20:17.544]
2804 Request 2 not processed [07/10 21:20:17.610]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:2H:32:D9:278:GH [07/10 21:20:38.816]
Previously allocated address 169.37.37.37 acked [07/10 21:20:38.821]
2804 Request 2 not processed [07/10 21:20:38.877]
Rcvd DHCP Discover Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:69:69:85:74:32 [07/10 21:20:41.762]
00:69:69:85:74:32: statically assigned to address 0.0.0.6 [07/10 21:20:41.765]
2804 Request 2 not processed [07/10 21:20:41.833]
Rcvd DHCP Rqst Msg for IP 0.0.0.0, Mac 00:69:69:85:74:32 [07/10 21:20:44.016]
2804 Request 2 not processed [07/10 21:20:44.073]


MAC ADDRESSES EDITED FOR SECURITY REMAINDER OF MESSAGE IN ITS ENTIRETY

Now I'm not sure but it does NOT appear as if a successful connection was ever established. Obviously this was only one log. The rest were "similar" and the results always identical. No Joy.

This process started at 4:30 this afternoon. I gave up at 10pm. Damian if you read this I don't know how you did it. I am so Pi$$ed I could spit wooden nickles.

Meanwhile I'm sure I missed some of the different steps I attempted but at this point I don't even want to use this server If I can't be comfortable knowing it can be restored. Granted I played with it yesterday on the stock drive and it was fast, responsive and overall SWEET, but.....I couldn't even get a restore to work with ONE drive let alone the 8 or 10 it will hold at some point down the road.

Seems this PXE boot gizmo is a step in the WRONG direction as I never had any problems with the 475, which by the way is back up and running no worse for the wear..Old Trooper

Anyway I don't know what else to try. Hopefully those logs will mean something to somebody. Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 1:02 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10719
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 624
Thanked: 923 times in 878 posts
Those logs don't mean much to me off the bat, I'll try another restore here and see if I have any similar issues. Have you asked HP Support if they have any ideas?

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:13 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
I had some similar issues replacing the system drive in my EX490, and here are the things that did the trick for me:

First, you have your server connected directly to the PC you're restoring from, right? No router, switch, hub in-between them? The PC has to be connected directly to the EX495 for restore to work. Second, make sure the PC you're restoring from has DHCP turned on and not using static IP address. Third, you may want to try running ipconfig /release on the PC before putting the server in the recovery mode.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:12 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:49 pm
Posts: 236
Location: Nevada
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts
yakuza wrote:
Those logs don't mean much to me off the bat, I'll try another restore here and see if I have any similar issues. Have you asked HP Support if they have any ideas?


What do you mean? this IS HP Support isn't it :lol: Seriously no not yet. Didn't feel like talking to anyone last night. Today is a new day. May call them a little later. You used the word "another". Have you actually performed a restore on your 495 or was this in reference to when you migrated over to the 487?

akgem wrote:
I had some similar issues replacing the system drive in my EX490, and here are the things that did the trick for me:

First, you have your server connected directly to the PC you're restoring from, right? No router, switch, hub in-between them? The PC has to be connected directly to the EX495 for restore to work. Second, make sure the PC you're restoring from has DHCP turned on and not using static IP address. Third, you may want to try running ipconfig /release on the PC before putting the server in the recovery mode.


Yes...directly connected
No...router or switch or hub
Yes...PC set to use DHCP
Yes...ran multiple instances of ipconfig (release, renew /all) etc

The PC IS obtaining an ip from the recovery CD (169.37.37.37)....I do NOT believe the server ever acquires one but I may be wrong.

Do you recall the condition of your health light throughout the process? Did it ever turn RED? Anything else you can think of? Congratulations on getting it to work as this is even positive news for me. Thanks for anything else you can remember!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:31 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Land Master wrote:
yakuza wrote:
Those logs don't mean much to me off the bat, I'll try another restore here and see if I have any similar issues. Have you asked HP Support if they have any ideas?


What do you mean? this IS HP Support isn't it :lol: Seriously no not yet. Didn't feel like talking to anyone last night. Today is a new day. May call them a little later. You used the word "another". Have you actually performed a restore on your 495 or was this in reference to when you migrated over to the 487?

akgem wrote:
I had some similar issues replacing the system drive in my EX490, and here are the things that did the trick for me:

First, you have your server connected directly to the PC you're restoring from, right? No router, switch, hub in-between them? The PC has to be connected directly to the EX495 for restore to work. Second, make sure the PC you're restoring from has DHCP turned on and not using static IP address. Third, you may want to try running ipconfig /release on the PC before putting the server in the recovery mode.


Yes...directly connected
No...router or switch or hub
Yes...PC set to use DHCP
Yes...ran multiple instances of ipconfig (release, renew /all) etc

The PC IS obtaining an ip from the recovery CD (169.37.37.37)....I do NOT believe the server ever acquires one but I may be wrong.

Do you recall the condition of your health light throughout the process? Did it ever turn RED? Anything else you can think of? Congratulations on getting it to work as this is even positive news for me. Thanks for anything else you can remember!

I tried it about a dozen times - rebooting, changing IPs, releasing/renewing IPs, restarting the server, etc. before it finally worked. I remember seeing the light turn red once or twice while in the process of it, too. Can't remember what exactly fixed it though.

If you run ipconfig /all on your PC right before starting the recovery, what does it look like? When it finally worked, my PC IP address was the same (169.37.37.37), subnet mask was 255.255.0.0, and default gateway was set to some private IP address on the server (can't remember what it was now, but I think it started with 256 or something like that. If you flip through the tabs of that utility, I'm sure you'll see it in there somewhere). Then, during the recovery, the server's IP was 169.37.37.38. Don't know if this helps you in any way, but I'll post if I remember of anything else.

EDIT: Something else to mention, which may not be important. I have a wireless LAN card in the PC I was restoring from, and I disabled it while doing the restore so that the only network connection available is to the server.

EDIT #2: I just reread your post and noticed that you had your storage HDs inserted/connected. When I ran my recovery, I only had one (system) drive in the server. Maybe try removing/unplugging all other drives and start over? You will be asked later on in the process if you want to do a factory reset or server recovery, so you could try adding your other drives at that point.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank akgem for this post
Land Master
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 11:01 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:49 pm
Posts: 236
Location: Nevada
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts
Thanks for the info!

I did flip through those tabs and the Server was definitely never assigned and IP. And if I recall there was never a gateway assigned either. This basically substantiates my belief that it is a "connection" problem.

My wireless card WAS disabled when I tried it from my laptop. The two workstation that I also tried do NOT have wireless.. :cry:

I DID remove all the drives and tried a restore with just the one system drive...Same issue...No joy.

Thanks again!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 11:13 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Land Master wrote:
Thanks for the info!

I did flip through those tabs and the Server was definitely never assigned and IP. And if I recall there was never a gateway assigned either. This basically substantiates my belief that it is a "connection" problem.

My wireless card WAS disabled when I tried it from my laptop. The two workstation that I also tried do NOT have wireless.. :cry:

I DID remove all the drives and tried a restore with just the one system drive...Same issue...No joy.

Thanks again!

There is a "private" IP address assigned to every server (I don't know if it's unique for each server, or the same for all of them), and that's the IP you should see as your default gateway IP on the PC you're restoring from. From what I understand, the server itself works as both DHCP server and DHCP client during the restore; that private IP address is the DHCP server's address (much like your router), but the DHCP client IP address (169.37.37.38) doesn't get assigned to the server until later into recovery process. Does it make sense (I know it sounds confusing)?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 11:23 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:49 pm
Posts: 236
Location: Nevada
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts
Its all kinda scrambled in my brain right now but I'm 90% sure that when I did an ipconfig /all after starting the process that the gateway was listed as 169.37.37.37

I do not believe the server acts as the DHCP. I think that is what (hp-tftpd32) is for. My thoughts are that this program assigns an ip to the workstation, sets that ip as the DHCP server and then the sever tries to obtain an ip from the workstation. Its this last part that I believe is failing. I could be full of hot air though.

i will be trying everything again shortly as my EX475 just shut down twice in the last 10 minutes ](*,)

I will do my best to document everything.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 11:56 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Since I'm stuck at home with a sick kid today... I popped a new clean drive into my EX490 and will try doing a recovery once again. Here's what my PC looks like right now, plugged into the EX490 (the last part of the IP address has been blacked out since that's the private IP address I was talking about, and I don't know if it's the same for everybody, or unique to my server). The EX490 is still turned off, BTW. I will now continue with the recovery and take notes.


Attachments:
ipc.JPG
ipc.JPG [ 39.76 KiB | Viewed 16337 times ]


Last edited by akgem on Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:05 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
The EX490 is now powered on and in recovery mode:


Attachments:
ipc2.JPG
ipc2.JPG [ 33.59 KiB | Viewed 16338 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:05 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
And here's the DHCP tab of the utility:


Attachments:
util.JPG
util.JPG [ 46.44 KiB | Viewed 16338 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 12:07 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2009 9:32 am
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
And my recovery has just completed successfully, before I could take any more notes or screenshots... Hopefully this helps you in some way though.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:57 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:14 am
Posts: 1540
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 117 times in 100 posts
Here guys. This was posted by dindale at wegotserved. Maybe it'll help.

Quote:
The EX495 required a direct Ethernet connection to the computer running the restore disc (you could do it over a network on the EX470). It also would not work until I disconnected the external eSATA/USB devices that held my additional disks - and the 3 internal disks had to be pulled. Essentially, I kicked off a server restore with just the 1.5TB system disc installed. Once the restore process began I inserted the remaining internal drives and plugged in the external units. Unbelieveably - that was it! The restore process recognized the shares and rebuilt everything with no additional steps involved. I re-created my users and settings - and I was up and running.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank cavediver for this post
clambert
PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 6:50 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:49 pm
Posts: 236
Location: Nevada
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts
Thanks akgem I really appreciate you taking the time to do that. Unfortunately the DHCP tab on the running "tftpd" program never populates the second area where yours shows 169.37.37.38. It is my belief that this is the IP of the server which never gets assigned. As my "before" screen shot differed from yours on my Vista Boxes (I believe you are using XP?), I went to an older XP laptop and was able to match it identically with the exception of that one IP address. Still never got it to populate that second line.

Cavediver....thanks but I had already tried that..no joy

At this time it is in the hands of the Home Server Team at HP who I would like to point out were very friendly and courteous. I especially was impressed with how quick they realized my knowledge level and talked to me without dumbing it down. I have NEVER had any support personnel treat me this way which is always why I wait until all else fails before I call. KUDOS to HP in this regard!

Unfortunately we have already tried numerous things with no luck. They are currently reviewing my tftpd logs and comparing them to a know good log. They are supposed to get back to me tonight. I honestly feel that a new chassis will be on its way but hope we can resolve this. I guess it is a good thing I tried this now before I really "needed" it.

Old Betsy (EX475) is at least back on-line for now. She's gettin tired though :wink:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 13, 2009 4:05 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:49 pm
Posts: 236
Location: Nevada
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts
While I believe I put some good information in this thread which was supplemented by screen shots by AKGEM (thanks again), my EX495 WAS DEFECTIVE and has been replaced.

Since this post several additional threads have popped up that seem to bring up the same issues, and based upon issues I also experienced with the NEW box, I feel my original attempts suffered from a combination of both defective hardware AND, what will surely become "known issues".

A Bug List was prepared by TechVet and subsequently stickied by Alex (yakuza) in the following post:

http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=5657

It would be beneficial to all future knowledge seekers if the above referenced topic was used to consolidate EX49x issues and the Moderators can feel free to close this thread.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group