It is currently Sun Nov 29, 2020 1:12 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 9:06 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:49 am
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
So I've downloaded and installed the new HP software allowing my EX470 to backup my Macbook using Time Machine. The total capacity of my server is over 1 TB. The installation of the MediaSmart Server Control Center software went fine until the end under the Backup Preferences panel. I specify the Backup Disk Size (in my case: 160 GB), then click "Apply". The program checks whether the backup disk is available, but then this pop-up message appears: "Backup disk creation failed. Make more space available on the server then start the backup disk creation again."

From my Windows PC I see that the total storage capacity is over 1 TB, network healthy, etc. etc. Why am I getting this message? Thanks for any insight.

Alex


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:21 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 9:09 pm
Posts: 129
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
The problem is that the space has to be contiguous. It does not seem to matter if you have 12TB of free space. You can try and use a program like Perfect Disk to fragment the drives, reinstall and start over, or you can try to either remove a drive and then re-add it. As soon as you re-add it set-up Time Machine. It will basically see this as new fresh space. This is how I did it the first time. I removed one of my 1TB drives. Went through the whole removal process. Re-added it. Then immediately went to set-up Time Machine. There are several other posts here about this same topic. Check out-

viewtopic.php?f=19&t=4102 or

viewtopic.php?f=19&t=3699

Seems to me it is a strange way o do it but, it is he way we have to work with.

_________________
Marc

EX475 - 5.5 TB Total - 3.5TB MSS w Rosewill RSV-S5(2TB Backup Pool)- LE-1640 (AMD X2 BE-2350 unstable) - 2GB Ram
2.5 Unofficial Software Update/Time Machine Backup
_________________________
24" iMac, 2 MacBook Pros
2 Apple TV's


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank gecko6375 for this post
yakuza
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:26 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:49 am
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thanks for the idea; I'll try removing the new 1 TB drive and re-adding it tonight. What is frustrating is that I can't even create a Time Machine backup disk as small as 1 GB without getting the same error. Hard to believe my files could be so fragmented that there is not even a single gigabyte of blank space.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:35 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 9:09 pm
Posts: 129
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
That is strange. Well give it a try and let us know how it goes. Also, you are doing this all through a wired connection, right? I know it should not matter but you can have some weird issues especially at first through wireless.

_________________
Marc

EX475 - 5.5 TB Total - 3.5TB MSS w Rosewill RSV-S5(2TB Backup Pool)- LE-1640 (AMD X2 BE-2350 unstable) - 2GB Ram
2.5 Unofficial Software Update/Time Machine Backup
_________________________
24" iMac, 2 MacBook Pros
2 Apple TV's


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 10:46 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:49 am
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Well, no, I've been going through wireless, but I was going to make a wired connection for the first backup. I'll try tonight and we'll see what happens.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 6:01 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:49 am
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Still no luck with this... I removed my new 1 TB drive and re-added it, then immediately specified a backup disk size of 800 GB. Didn't work. So I tried to create a really small disk size of 50 GB and that was successful. I changed it to 100 GB and that was successful. 150 GB, okay. 200 GB, no luck - again the message to create more server space. What else can I try?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 6:29 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 9:09 pm
Posts: 129
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
It is pretty drastic but you can set-up everything over from scratch. This is what I did.

viewtopic.php?f=19&t=4102

Scroll down towards the bottom. It was a pain but, I had some time to kill and had never re-imaged my server. It worked because I basically forced it to use the one drive that was there and I had nothing on it yet.

_________________
Marc

EX475 - 5.5 TB Total - 3.5TB MSS w Rosewill RSV-S5(2TB Backup Pool)- LE-1640 (AMD X2 BE-2350 unstable) - 2GB Ram
2.5 Unofficial Software Update/Time Machine Backup
_________________________
24" iMac, 2 MacBook Pros
2 Apple TV's


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 6:41 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:49 am
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Sigh... it really shouldn't be this hard. By the time I have the time to do all of this I will have saved enough $$$ to buy a Time Capsule. But thanks for the suggestion.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2009 11:51 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:49 am
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Update... removed and re-added the 1 TB drive a second time. This time I was able to create a 500 GB partition, but no larger. Hopefully that will be big enough for now. Time Machine is backing up now and will probably take until tomorrow to finish all 127 GB.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 1:19 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 12:36 pm
Posts: 126
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 16 times in 14 posts
It seems to me that something (might be for folder duplication or for PC backups, etc.) on the server itself reserves other space and does not allow to use it for Mac backup purpose.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 9:40 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 11:49 am
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Not sure... even when formatted WHS reports 130 MB or so of used space on the new 1 TB drive, so the question is whether that 130 MB itself is fragmented. In any case I've successfully made a 500 GB partition for Time Machine and my first backup was successful, so I can breathe easier for the moment. The problem is that I'm planning to add another Macbook backup to the server in the next month or so, so if the 500 GB isn't big enough then I'll probably need to buy another fresh drive.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 1:52 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 12:36 pm
Posts: 126
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 16 times in 14 posts
Actually I never met - fortunately - that "fragmentation" issue. When I added 750 GB second drive, I easily created 700 GB backup image on it (there were about 400 GB free space on 1st drive). I have set up only standard services on MSS, no 3d-party add-ins. That is why I think that the origin of the problem is in the server configuration.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 12:59 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 9:09 pm
Posts: 129
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
In my experience it has been that it needs the space to all be on one drive. No matter how much room you have available on other drives. Like Bruder in your case where you added the 750 GB drive and then created a 700 GB partition for Time Machine that makes perfect sense to me as that is almost exactly what I did my first time out. I added a brand new 1TB drive and it let me create a spot almost up to that drive size. The trick is it can not be larger than that one physical drive. It can not spread across multiple drives. I am not sure if I would call it a server setup issue as much as a Time Machine issue. The way Time Machine creates the backups it needs to be one giant block of space. That is where, I am told, that some have had success with Defragging their servers. I am still a big advcocate of buying the biggest drive you can and setting up all of the Time Machine info first.

_________________
Marc

EX475 - 5.5 TB Total - 3.5TB MSS w Rosewill RSV-S5(2TB Backup Pool)- LE-1640 (AMD X2 BE-2350 unstable) - 2GB Ram
2.5 Unofficial Software Update/Time Machine Backup
_________________________
24" iMac, 2 MacBook Pros
2 Apple TV's


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 3:30 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Fri May 29, 2009 12:36 pm
Posts: 126
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 16 times in 14 posts
gecko6375 wrote:
In my experience it has been that it needs the space to all be on one drive. No matter how much room you have available on other drives. Like Bruder in your case where you added the 750 GB drive and then created a 700 GB partition for Time Machine that makes perfect sense to me as that is almost exactly what I did my first time out. I added a brand new 1TB drive and it let me create a spot almost up to that drive size. The trick is it can not be larger than that one physical drive. It can not spread across multiple drives. I am not sure if I would call it a server setup issue as much as a Time Machine issue. The way Time Machine creates the backups it needs to be one giant block of space. That is where, I am told, that some have had success with Defragging their servers. I am still a big advcocate of buying the biggest drive you can and setting up all of the Time Machine info first.

I vote for every word in this post - especially the last sentence. With only one additions - my experiments shown that the server's MS drive extender can't work with files which sizes are more than biggest empty space on one drive independently of where that file is originated from (I tried to create such file on the server itself, copy it from Windows client, or Mac client - all the same).


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jul 30, 2009 3:46 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 3:40 pm
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Glad I came across this. I have a macbook air that I'm trying to backup nightly and my ex470 with 2.27tb total/1.42tb free says I do not have enough space for backup.

The backup disk size setting on my mac is trying for 79gb, I've gone down as far as 40gb, nothing.

Simply put, it should not be this difficult to simply find the server, and backup to the folder specified. If the console reports more than adequate space for backup why does it not go forward?

Does anyone have any input on this, other than having to wipe all drives and start over which defeats the purpose of the server I think. :crazy:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group