It is currently Thu Dec 12, 2019 1:03 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 53 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: HP software update?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 9:48 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:33 am
Posts: 1062
Location: North Texas
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 122 times in 121 posts
Does this update remove both System and CPU temperature info or just CPU temperature info...leaving System temp still visible?

_________________
HP MSS EX490 with Intel E6300
4 GB RAM
7 TB Drive Storage

MediaSmartServer.net Wiki, it's loaded with helpful information about WHS and the HP MediaSmart Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: HP software update?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:24 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 920 times in 875 posts
I've got screenshots on the blog post, it removes the System temp and leaves the CPU temp (which is the critical one anyways).

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: HP software update?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:14 am 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
OK, I solved it and got the latest update properly (I hope) installed.

I had tried several times last evening, let it try automatically overnight and then a number of times again this morning. Used various combinations of restarts, RDP sessions, etc to no avail. And then I remembered! his is a Windows system. When all else fails apply rule #1: "Power it off, let it sit, turn it on and try again!" I did that, found that on power on I got the dreaded red status light BUT was able to RDP into the MSS. Opened the console, installed the update and it worked just fine!

Why didn't I think of that earlier?

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: HP software update?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 11:56 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:45 pm
Posts: 80
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
Is there a direct download link? I do not want to use the update feature. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: HP software update?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 12:20 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 920 times in 875 posts
The file is available from here but I'm curious why you don't want to use the update feature?

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: HP software update?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 1:58 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:45 pm
Posts: 80
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
Alex,
Many Thanks for the link. I have had trouble using the update feature in the past when clicking update in the connector. For the last 1.3 update following PP1 I ended up rdp'ing into the server and installing by hand. This worked great and I feel more comfortable about it. Besides I have the file for future reference in my software library.

rev


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: HP software update?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 2:17 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 2:03 pm
Posts: 61
Location: UK
Thanks: 8
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Carried out the update OK this evening.
When I check for new updates now, I get this new window.
Is this new window part of the update?
I don't recall seeing it in the past.


Attachments:
update.png
update.png [ 36.06 KiB | Viewed 1793 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: HP software update?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 2:47 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 920 times in 875 posts
I'm not positive if that was there or not, you can roll back the update and check! :-k

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: HP software update?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 3:36 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 6:33 am
Posts: 1062
Location: North Texas
Thanks: 18
Thanked: 122 times in 121 posts
Is there any good reason not to do this HP update?

_________________
HP MSS EX490 with Intel E6300
4 GB RAM
7 TB Drive Storage

MediaSmartServer.net Wiki, it's loaded with helpful information about WHS and the HP MediaSmart Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: HP software update?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 7:26 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
The window is new with the current (Jan 09) update. Before it flashed a message and returned to the main screen. (I wonder how the window may be used going forward? Options for installs?

I do not know of any reason not to install the update. If you are really paranoid about watching the temperatures (as I am) then run SpeedFan via the Advanced Admin Console and watch the charts.

Alex: Thought for your next Add-In... Have a graph of all the (6) temperatures available through SpeedFan plus each attached disk. Along with that overlay the fan speeds and CPU usage. In a setup screen let the user decide which ones to plot or ignore. Come on, you can do it! I'll beta test it!

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: HP software update?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 7:46 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 11:18 pm
Posts: 539
Location: Orange County, CA
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 14 times in 13 posts
No problems here installed on first shot

_________________
If you only have 1 copy of a file you do not have a copy! Back-up off site!!!
If someone wrote a particularly helpful post? Use the "Thank Post" button!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: HP software update?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 8:01 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
COPC wrote:
No problems here installed on first shot

Yeah, right... Rub it in a bit, eh?

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: HP software update?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 9:16 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:45 pm
Posts: 80
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
Alex,
since you seem to have THE insight into HP, tell me one more thing: How do you sort through the directory tree at ftp.hp.com? This is just as cryptic as their support site. Is there a secret for the navigation?

Thanks,
rev


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: HP software update?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 9:51 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:14 am
Posts: 1540
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 117 times in 100 posts
When I got home from the office this afternoon, the console on my main pc had gone blue screen, so I RDP'd into the MSS, launched the console and noticed that it had updated itself automatically today. After I rebooted the MSS, the console came back on the PC.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: HP software update?
PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:07 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 920 times in 875 posts
Hey guys, I did some more digging and found that HP has delivered the signed SSL cert in this update that ships with the EX485 and EX487. This is nice news and shows HP's continued support of the current MediaSmart Server customer base.

You can read the full details in my latest blog post.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 53 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group