It is currently Fri Sep 20, 2019 2:53 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 5:17 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:59 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Quebec
Hi,

After installing PP1 and HP 1.3, everything went good. So I decided to finally change Vista(32) to Vista(64) on my laptop. All was well, I installed the connector. The WSH connector installed (I can enter the console, have acces to shares, etc.) but the HP MSS connector did not install (I don't have the MSS icon on my desktop and if I open the uninstall list, the whs connector is there but the HP MSS is not). The HP 1.3 upgrade is installed on the MSS. So what can be done are there files that have not copied correctly? I use the http://{myserver}:55000/setup/WHSConnectorInstall.exe command. Is there a iso file to burn a connector cd?

note: the connector installed correctly on my Vista(32)

_________________
HP-ProLiant N40L 8GB WHS2011
HP-EX470 4GB Athlon-X2-BE-2350-(Stepping G1) Windows 8 (server build)


Top
 Profile  
 

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 5:45 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10702
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
You can manually run \\server\software\Home Server Connector Software\oem\oem_x64.msi

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 8:34 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:59 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Quebec
Thanks Alex,

In this directory there is oem.msi but oem_x64.msi is not present. I suppose the HP 1.3 has not downloaded correctly!? Is there a way to correct this without Server recovery?

_________________
HP-ProLiant N40L 8GB WHS2011
HP-EX470 4GB Athlon-X2-BE-2350-(Stepping G1) Windows 8 (server build)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 9:22 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10702
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
You're sure you have 1.3 installed?

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:02 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:59 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Quebec
The MediaSmart Server tile indicates that an upgrade was performed on 8/10/2008. If I click on Verify Upgrades, the pop-up message indicates there are no upgrades available.

At that date, I remember that, after reading some recommendations for PP1 installation, I did a Server recovery and when Hp upgrade showed up I postponed its installation after PP1. Then I performed (which looked OK) the Hp 1.3 upgrade.

I did a search in the forum and found the address you had given for the HP upgrade, but since mine is French, I hesitated to do so. Is there an address where I could restart HP 1.3 upgrade? And is there a particular path to follow?

_________________
HP-ProLiant N40L 8GB WHS2011
HP-EX470 4GB Athlon-X2-BE-2350-(Stepping G1) Windows 8 (server build)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 6:34 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:59 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Quebec
Decided to perform a Server Recovery. After 30 minutes of preparation and downloading, an error message: "recovery does not support this operating system" or something alike. Oups! I knew it could not install from the original disks in a x64, grrhh... forgot that. Time for a iso file so we can burn a Server Recovery Disk with WHS PP1 and HP MSS 1.3.

Plugged in another laptop an lets restart. Recovery went well. I let HP 1.3 install automatically. When server was accessible, I directly checked the Home Sever Connector Software\oem directory. There was oem.msi but no oem_x64.msi. So it did not install from the French upgrade of MSS 1.3. Then I installed PP1 through the automatic upgrade.

What else can I do? Wait for a futher release of the upgrade? Complain to HP (I don't know where)? Return my MSS? :twisted:
Anyway, what am I missing here besides the MSS Control Center? Is it worth all the fuss?

_________________
HP-ProLiant N40L 8GB WHS2011
HP-EX470 4GB Athlon-X2-BE-2350-(Stepping G1) Windows 8 (server build)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group