It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 5:25 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:

PostPosted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 6:37 pm 
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

A group of my buddies at work and I were talking about offsite backup today over lunch. Naturally I'm in the WHS camp, and I'm happy to extol the virtues of the home server and what a great thing it is. Dan is the smart-arse of the group and he is also a strong proponent of the cloud. As an IT professional and geek by trade, I have no problems with the cloud--I've got several GB out there now on Dropbox, SkyDrive and iCloud. But I still like my WHS, to which Dan counters, "What if there was a fire?"

Well, if there was a fire, I guess I would be up shi--ahem--poop's creek. And that got me to thinking...what do I do with what I regard as my most precious data? And what about the dozens of DVDs and Blu-rays that I've ripped?

Sure there are backup services like Carbonite and Mozy, and they say $55/year for unlimited backup--but that's for just one PC/laptop with one drive. If it has multiple drives, including external drives, there's extra fees. But what about my wife's PC? And the kids? Or what about the home server with terabytes and terabytes of data?

Much of my iTunes library is protected by iCloud, but what about things like family pictures? Is it worth the online backup? Is Dan right? Or should we take Gardian's advice and "fear the cloud?"

Later, my buddy Dan, true to form, found a picture of a fire department doing a practice burn and added his own verbiage. (Thanks Dan.)

When you work from your home office, you stir up dust.
When you stir up dust, it collects on your CPU's cooling fan.
When dust collects on your CPU's cooling fan, it stops working.
When your CPU's cooling fan stops working, your precious Intel overheats.
When your precious Intel overheats, it catches fire when no one's home.
When your precious Intel catches fire when no one's home, your house burns to the ground.