It is currently Tue Oct 20, 2020 8:31 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 304 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 21  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 10:46 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:26 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
CBers wrote:
Hi Dizzy.
...Do USPS continue to follow the parcel through to delivery, or is it the POST OFFICE that now does it ??


You should find that it will be picked up by ParcelForce (I still don't understand the relationship between them and Royal Mail).

Because of the international shipment tracking system you can use your 'origin' tracking number at the USPS, RoyalMail and ParcelForce websites.

In my case the USPS site said that an attempt to deliver was the last recorded activity which was actually the parcel being held at the depot. Using the same number at ParcelForce's site provided more detail and they too provided a different tracking number when my customs invoice arrived which incidentally doesn't work on the USPS site as that number is associated with a domestic and not international record.

With my parcel having been now delivered I wouldn't expect the USPS tracker to be updated much more than a 'delivered' status so in your case I would now check the status via the ParcelForce site for the most relevant info.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank dizzy_davidh for this post
CBers

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 10:50 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 2:00 am
Posts: 96
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
OK, thanks Dizzy.
Looks like mine has passed through customs
Quote:
Detailed Results:

    At Foreign Delivery Unit, March 22, 2011, 1:20 am, GREAT BRITAIN
    Out of Foreign Customs, March 21, 2011, 8:32 pm, GREAT BRITAIN


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 5:00 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 2:00 am
Posts: 96
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
Code:
Date    Time    Location    Tracking Event
22-03-2011    12:43    Medway Depot    Awaiting payment of charges
22-03-2011    01:20    Medway Depot    Received at delivery depot
21-03-2011    20:32    National Hub    Received and processed
21-03-2011    13:16    International Hub    Received from Customs - charges to be paid
17-03-2011    12:10    International Hub    Awaiting Customs clearance
17-03-2011    12:08    International Hub    Received in destination country
15-03-2011    10:47    Delivery Agent - CHICAGO    Forwarded for export
14-03-2011    03:22    Delivery Agent - UNITED STATES AMERICA    Collected from customer


UPDATE: ParcelForce are now holding my cable as there is a £28 (US$45) VAT charge !!

This is getting damn expensive for a cable.

That makes it almost £100 just so I can see my X510 boot up :hm: :hm:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 8:40 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:19 am
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 6 times in 5 posts
Just sent in an order for a full board ....


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:51 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:19 am
Posts: 17
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 6 times in 5 posts
zimmy6996 wrote:
Just sent in an order for a full board ....



That was quick! Thanks buddy! I have sent payment! Looking forward to getting the kit! Thanks again!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 9:20 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2011 9:14 pm
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I ordered a VGA board from Charles last fall, im only a few states away from him so I got it in I think 3 days. hook usb k/m to acer h340 and youre in the bios.. Ill make a guide this summer for osx on the acer h340, its actually pretty simple. just waiting on lion to ship, when nobody will care about snow leopard anymore :)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2011 12:40 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2009 4:22 pm
Posts: 17
Location: Netherlands
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
Ordered yesterday, already got the paypal invoice (any paid ofcourse), so Let's see this coming (to Netherlands).

_________________
Charlie!..incomming..


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:11 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 10:51 am
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi everyone.
I'm from Singapore.
Placed a order to Charles for a VGA board last week 7/April, charles send out on last Friday 8/April by USPS.
Tracking USPS until it reach Singapore today and was taken over by EMS, and was deliver and received by me today 13/April.
The board and wire are very well done.
Just tested and it work as it should, a very happy customer... \:D/
Thank you very much, Charles.
your first package to Singapore and it work!
:sanjuan:
and Hope your kids are alright now.

and, thanks to Alex Kuretz for clearing my registration to this forum :wink: .
it a great experience working with you guys....
thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:57 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:53 am
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Does this work for the HP x310?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 1:30 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:52 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 61 times in 32 posts
Hi divisionbell77. Welcome to the forums!
To answer your question, I have not personally tested the debug board with the X310 but I have had several customers over the years who purchased a debug board claiming it works just fine.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:27 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 8:24 am
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Just sent in an order! :cheers:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue May 03, 2011 4:09 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 3:03 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Sweden
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
CBers wrote:
I'm seriously interested in getting a VGA + PS2 Keyboard + PS2 Mouse Assembly, but would like to see some alternative installation pictures if anyone has taken any.
My X510 is fully populated with drives, so I cannot use a empty tray.
I'm thinking of velcroing the assembly onto the top/back of the unit, but wondered what other people had done.

TIA.


Hi

I have a EX490 which I just upgraded with 4GB RAM and a E8500 CPU and are thinking about a debug kit for future OS upgrade and I have the same question as CBers regarding alternative mounting of the board?
Will it fit in front of the PSU in the bottom of the box inside of the lid?
I'm will go for the full kit with all interfaces.
I'm aslo planning to fit one or two small 25mm fans in front och the motherboard/CPU heatsink in case I need it bacause of the CPU upgrade.
My plan is to populate the server with four Hitachi HDS722020ALA330 2TB (got two already) and I will use the original 1TB disk in my Vu+Duo satellite box


I live in Sweden (EU Country), Do I also need to pay any additional fee or tax for the kit?

_________________
Upgraded HP MediaSmart Server EX490
CPU: Core 2 Duo E8500 mounted with Arctic Silver 5 and simple fan cooling
Mem: Kingston 4GB DDR2 800MHz Value (KVR800D2N6/4G) Black Revoltec RAM Cooler Aluminium


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2011 12:11 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:52 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 61 times in 32 posts
Quote:
Will it fit in front of the PSU in the bottom of the box inside of the lid?


You would have to make significant changes to your MediaSmart server if you did go this route. If you look in front of the PSU, there is a big power cable going across the front (see picture). The HP engineers even made a notch in the motherboard to make room for the power cable to make sure everything was nice and flush. There is not a lot of room there for anything without altering the enclosure.

With that said, I have always been amazed at the things that some of my modder friends have done.

An interesting mod would be to have your debug board poke out the back. The HP engineers left plenty of room in the back of the unit to allow this, without sacrificing air flow, given the thin profile of the debug board and cable. Unfortunately, I don't have a picture that I can post online of someone who went this route.


Attachments:
Mss-Front (Medium).JPG
Mss-Front (Medium).JPG [ 171.14 KiB | Viewed 8229 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank cakalapati for this post
HeRmAN
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2011 12:20 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 3:52 pm
Posts: 217
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 61 times in 32 posts
Quote:
I live in Sweden (EU Country), Do I also need to pay any additional fee or tax for the kit?


There is always a risk that you would have to pay import taxes on the item. With that said, I have never had complaints about Sweden. I like to tell people to expect that they will have to pay taxes and be thankful if they don't. Be sure to check with your countries import laws to see if there is a fee. Many times, countries don't bother if your package is valued at less than a certain amount.

Some countries in Europe may charge approximately £10-£25 to import the cable. The UK is by far the most strict about its import charges.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank cakalapati for this post
HeRmAN
PostPosted: Wed May 04, 2011 5:48 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 3:03 pm
Posts: 10
Location: Sweden
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Thanks for your quick reply

Full kit ordered!
I will let you know if I mount it without using a drive bay and also if there are any extra taxes to Sweden.

_________________
Upgraded HP MediaSmart Server EX490
CPU: Core 2 Duo E8500 mounted with Arctic Silver 5 and simple fan cooling
Mem: Kingston 4GB DDR2 800MHz Value (KVR800D2N6/4G) Black Revoltec RAM Cooler Aluminium


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 304 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 ... 21  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group