It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:00 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:43 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:36 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
My system drive died. I bough a new 1t drive to replace the original 500 that came on the Ex470.

I tried to connect the server to the network via an airport extreme where I also connected my laptop running win7 ultimate 32bit.

I load the recovery cd (the original and the v3) and while I'm sure the server is on recovery mode (red-pink blinking light) with the new empty drive (the other 3drives Re disconnected)

The cd (s) does not load the menu and I'm stuck...I can recover the system drive and try to save all the info....

Also try to connect a cat5 between the server and the laptop since I read somewhere that could work..

Nothing, eject load the CDs....no luck

Any help??


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 8:36 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10681
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 912 times in 868 posts
What do you mean "the CD does not load the menu", does the Server Recovery application not start at all? Can you try another computer just to see if you have a bad DVD?

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 8:55 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:36 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Exactly, the Server Recovery Application does not start. I try with the V3 original cd, one than I got from the Internet and one that at some instance in between many tries I could obtained from the server Software folder.

I used the cd with my laptop (win 7) and another computer running windows vista.

The cd has not executable program, for what I understand is supposed to start/boot once get a "signal" from the server that is in recovery mode, I'm I right? Or the application should start alone and look for the server....?

Thank you


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 9:53 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10681
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 912 times in 868 posts
No, it has an executable that you must run, if you have autoplay turned off you must navigate to the disk and manually run the executable.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 3:11 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:36 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Im lost. I double check that autoplay was enabled, I try to run the disk in my laptop and the desktop at home. Checked online for a solution and deleted a the registry entry about autoplay but nothing...it still not running....

I have attached a copy of the DVD folder structure to see if the DVD that I have is ok...Is there any way to execute it manually?

Thanks


Attachments:
Recovery DVD.jpg
Recovery DVD.jpg [ 88.27 KiB | Viewed 473 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 4:30 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10681
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 912 times in 868 posts
That's the Client PC Restore CD, not the Server Recovery DVD.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 6:23 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 9:34 pm
Posts: 308
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Thanks: 14
Thanked: 22 times in 16 posts
yakuza wrote:
That's the Client PC Restore CD, not the Server Recovery DVD.


These 2 original v3 discs for the ex470 line are mislabelled PC Restore is actually Server Recovery and vice versa. The client installation disc is however labelled correctly. Very confusing and quite a QA knightmare from HP PoV IMO.

_________________
HPjunkie:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 7:40 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:36 pm
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ooohh!!! Amazing..THANK YOU!!! Problem solved! I'm now with my WHS back on!

Thanks again!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group