It is currently Tue Oct 22, 2019 10:24 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: initial backup failing
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 7:54 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I am getting a backup failure on each and every time I try on one PC. The other three pc's on my network have each backed up successfully.
The problem PC is running XP MCE, with a 250GB drive of which only 112 is used.
My MSS is 4 days old, one 500gb drive and one 750gb drive (failure occured with one drive and after i added the second drive
The error I am getting in the backup is this (i had to type it, since copy and paste won't work in that )

An unexpected exception occurred on the computer
ArgumentOutOfRangeException
Number was less than the array's lower bound in the first dimension.
Parameter name:srcIndex
at System.Aray.Copy(Array sourceArray,Int32sourceIndex,Array
destinationArray,Int32destinationIndex,Int32length,Boolean
reliable

I have removed and reinstalled the WHS Connection software several times.

Apologies if this issue is already answered in another thread, i couldn't find it.

TIA,
John


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:59 am 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
I am having the same problem -- very recently after months without a problem! I have posted here, in WeGotServed and in the MS WHS forums and, to date, there have been NO helpful responses.

I will continue this discussion in my thread entitled "BACKUP Problems after Installing PerfectDisk 2008" or you can find it by searching for "ArgumentOutOfRangeException ". (I used the latter in the titles for posts on the other boards.)

I recommend we consolidate this discussion in that thread....

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: no perfect disk
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 11:01 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I would have posted this there, i read it before, but I do not have Perfect Disk installed... so i don't think they are related


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:54 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:29 pm
Posts: 820
Location: Toronto, ON
Thanks: 12
Thanked: 11 times in 10 posts
I have this problem with one of my PCs where I'm getting the same error. I don't have PerfectDisk installed an no matter how many times I reinstall the connector software, I can't get it to work.

The PC is running Windows XP Home Edition and I simply cannot figure it out.

_________________
Richard

My gadget blog: http://www.gadgetinsane.com


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: surpised
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 7:28 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I really surprised that no one has any ideas here....


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 1:52 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 920 times in 875 posts
A possibility is that .NET is corrupted. Go to Add/Remove programs on your client system, and try to repair .NET. If that doesn't work, there's utilities to uninstall, and then reinstall .NET. I recently had another user have the ArgumentOutOfRange exception, and this resolved his problem.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: thanks...
PostPosted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 8:23 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Yakuza,

thanks. I tried as you suggested but it didn't work. If I can find my Xp MCE disk from Dell I have been thinking of re installing this machine. maybe it will fix it.
Drastic move, but not caused by this issue, just put me over the edge.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:31 am 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
I have reported this problem on the WHS board. You can follow the discussion here:

http://forums.microsoft.com/WindowsHome ... &SiteID=50

FYI, while PerfectDisk 2008 (for WHS) may have triggered something, based on feedback here (and a couple other places) I doubt very much this is the cause as others are running into this without using PerfectDisk.

I would urge others having the problem to post on the WHS thread above.

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2008 10:49 am 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
Some updates on things tried over on:

http://forums.microsoft.com/WindowsHome ... &SiteID=50

At this point no solutions (for me anyway).

"T Headrick" over there appended the following response a few minutes ago:

Quote:
Thanks for sending the CAB numbers, and your detailed repro steps. This is the first step that needs to be taken so a thorough investigation can be started. I have filed an issue in our internal tracking database, just as an FYI, the issue number is 59100.

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 1:26 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
Since resetting the backups failed I finally decided to go to the extreme last evening and did a factory reset on my MSS EX475 WHS server, removing all software from the clients, reformatting the server and starting everything all over. At this point I had a completely "virgin" installation - no Add-Ins or additional software whatever.

Same error at first attempt to back up the Vista machine.

Beginning to get frustrating...

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 2:28 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Basically I have a machine on my network which I am not able to back up..
I"m going to start mirroring crucial data from that machine to another machine that is successfully backing up.
Hoping that Microsoft comes up with something for this. There are MORE people having this than we realize..


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:51 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 920 times in 875 posts
I think it's obvious there's some issue with the client machines, not the server, since the Factory Reset didn't fix things. I'm still suspecting a .NET issue.

If either of you felt adventurous, you could make sure you've got all your important files backed up manually, then you could do a system restore of the last successful backup image stored on the MSS and see if the backups work...


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: :(
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 9:59 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Unfortunatly I don't have a backup to restore from...
I've been fighting with idea of reinstalling my wife's system (the problem child) and this could put me over the edge. Have to make sure I can find my cd of XP MCE tho :)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2008 6:59 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
yakuza wrote:
I think it's obvious there's some issue with the client machines, not the server, since the Factory Reset didn't fix things. I'm still suspecting a .NET issue.

If either of you felt adventurous, you could make sure you've got all your important files backed up manually, then you could do a system restore of the last successful backup image stored on the MSS and see if the backups work...

Very stupidly I delayed trying a Windows Restore on my Vista machine until ONE ^&*^# day after it rolled off the list! Aaaarrrrggghhh....

I did get the following response from M. Singer on the WHS forum the other day:
Quote:
At least one source of a problem which produces this error report has been identified, and the fix is expected to be included in the upcoming Power Pack 1 release. For that case, there's nothing you could do on your end without reformatting the client's drive. This particular bug is unique to the WHS client PC backup and is the same for Windows XP as Windows Vista.

(I have edited a bit above to combine two posts.)

The conclusion seems to be (1) a reformat of the client will be required but (2) PP1 may fix it without the reformat. Sounds weird, but....

At the moment I am going to sit tight and am not using MSS/WHS to back up my Vista machine. In a couple weeks I may try to recover from an older (non-MSS) backup -- but that may require a bunch of manual activity and be time consuming. By the time I get the time to try this it may be better to wait for PP1 and see if that fixes things.

Frankly, I cannot understand how a change in WHS/MSS would solve something that would require a client (Vista or XP) to have to have the main partition reformatted!

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 25, 2008 2:41 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 920 times in 875 posts
Ouch, that's not fun to hear. I hope the PP1 fixes your issue, would suck to have to reformat your PC. :(


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group