It is currently Tue Oct 22, 2019 11:15 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 9:40 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:30 am
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Good morning to you all.

I have a WHS EX470 with 512 ram (which I may upgrade to 2GB in a few weeks time) I have a 64bit Vista PC (Packard Bell) and V 3.0 of the software.
I have a “Freebox” French ISP with a Netgear WPN 824 router. The WHS is hard wire connected to the Netgear router and the Netgear WPN 824 router is hard wire connected to the modem. (I only use the Wi-Fi for the Macbook, the iPad and visitors)

I did have remote access working but then it stopped. That was some time ago but now I would like it back again. Problem is I can’t get it to work. Repair says get help!

Is there a sort of check list of settings for the router and modem and of course the WHS.

Hoping you can shed some light on this.

Thanks in advance,

Henry


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 1:40 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 920 times in 875 posts
How do you know it's not working? The verification tests can sometimes report false failures, you should verify by testing from outside your home. A screenshot of the Remote Access settings tab showing the setup results may also be helpful.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank yakuza for this post
henrybarnett
PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 3:40 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:30 am
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Alex, thanks for the speedy response.

I will test it from outside and come back if it is not working. I live in the country and neighbours are few and far between. Those with internet even less!

Henry


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 7:31 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:30 am
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
It is not working. A friend tried it.

Is this the screen shot?

http://henry.barnett.free.fr/remote.html


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 12:31 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 920 times in 875 posts
Click the "Details" button under "Domain name", what errors is it showing there? Has it ever worked? Does your router support UPnP? If not have you forwarded your ports?

Our friends over at HomeServerLand.com have a nice guide that might help you:
http://www.homeserverland.com/w/whs/bro ... ation.aspx

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2010 1:02 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:30 am
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
The Details say that my domain name may not be configured correctly but it is! Yes uPnP is configured on the modem. The router is the Freebox modem and there is the WIfi router attached. I've just looked at the at the link you kindly added and I do not think the WPN824EXT supports upnp. (Other Netgears show it as an option.) But I have had it working once some time ago and the Freebox support told me that it was their box that had to be configured and not the WPN which is an extender.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group