It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:36 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:26 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10681
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 912 times in 868 posts
Updated link to V1.1

Microsoft has made the Windows Home Server Toolkit available for download from Here.

Microsoft wrote:
A brief overview of the core components:

• Error Reporting
The Error Reporting tool collects log files which are useful to Microsoft Support when they are troubleshooting problems you may encounter with Windows Home Server.

• Windows Home Server Connector Troubleshooter
The Windows Home Server Connector Troubleshooter is a program that runs on your home computer to help troubleshoot problems you may encounter while installing the Connector software. The Connector Troubleshooter runs a series of tests to check the most common Connector Setup problems, and then it recommends possible solutions.

• Windows Home Server Toolkit Add-in
You can also use the Troubleshooter to install a Windows Home Server Toolkit Add-in on your home server. With this Add-in, you can run troubleshooting tasks from the Windows Home Server Console Settings page.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 2:59 pm 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
The manual is now available here


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 6:46 am 

Thanks:
Thanked: time in post
well microsoft has already given the help option that is quite helpfull - we donnt really have to refer to any manualls before wwe want to operate microsoft.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2008 10:51 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 5:32 pm
Posts: 39
Location: dfw
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
If you got to wegotserved, you can get the 64 bit version.

Ben


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 10:49 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
Here's the link to the WeGotServed article:

http://www.wegotserved.co.uk/2008/11/26 ... olkit-v11/

I have been told there is an update to the 32-bit software linked there but have NOT had an opportunity to verify that yet. (If anyone has --one way or the other-- please post!)

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 12:07 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
Yes there is.

It changes the interface on the console quite a bit.

some of the functions are no longer avalible.

Attachment:
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG [ 73.53 KiB | Viewed 18863 times ]

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 12:47 am 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
OUCH! Which functions are missing?

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 11:02 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
Honestly I can't say.

I never used them much.

I'm always adding and removing add-ins willy nilly for no real good reason except that I can.

There were several tabs on the old version that did several things.

One had something to do with the hard drives.
One let you reset your backup data base
One gave you a log of remote connections.

Mostly the same things that some of the other Add-Ins gave you if i'm thinking right.

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 12:48 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
OK, here are the screens from V1 for comparison.

There appears to be a fairly substantial loss of function with V 1.1, enough that I am hesitant to give up the original! I wonder if they will co-exist?

Anyone have any thoughts on the subject?


Attachments:
Toolkit v1 Part 1.JPG
Toolkit v1 Part 1.JPG [ 43.3 KiB | Viewed 18814 times ]
Toolkit v1 Part 2.JPG
Toolkit v1 Part 2.JPG [ 35.9 KiB | Viewed 18815 times ]
Toolkit v1 Part 3.JPG
Toolkit v1 Part 3.JPG [ 33.1 KiB | Viewed 18814 times ]
Toolkit v1 Part 4.JPG
Toolkit v1 Part 4.JPG [ 39.07 KiB | Viewed 18808 times ]

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 12:51 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10681
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 912 times in 868 posts
It looks more to me like a loss of tabs and buttons, rather than functionality. I think they grouped things better, and simplified the interface. There are a couple features missing, but none that I don't think I could do without. You can always back up the old add-in and see if you find yourself missing any functionality....

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:11 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 6:45 pm
Posts: 19
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Not quite, the back up of the actual database was removed and the option to set different warning times for laptops for failure to backup was removed. So that the only thing that versioin 1.1 will do is error reporting and that's it. :(

_________________
Pete Iber
WHS for more than 3 years


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 8:02 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
Any compelling reason to update to V1.1 then, Pete?

Will they co-exist? (I haven't gotten around to just trying that yet!)

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 12:36 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:35 am
Posts: 64
Location: Richmond, VA
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I removed the original Add-In and tried to install the new 1.1 Tool Kit but it did not show up in the Available Add Ins tab. Odd, I have added and removed numerous add-ins with no problem. But now I can't get either the old or new Tool Kit Add-Ins to even appear in the Available tab even though they are in the \\Hpserver\Software\Add-Ins directory on the WHS. What prevents an Add-In that is in the Add-Ins directory from being available? I restarted the MSS several times, no joy.

Anyone else have this problem with Tool Kit?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 12:56 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
Not with the Toolkit, but I had a similar problem with another a while back.

A restart of the MSS should clear it up, at least it did when I had the problem!

(Please let us know if that works!)

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 9:00 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:35 am
Posts: 64
Location: Richmond, VA
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I restarted MSS several times before reporting this. No joy. I renamed the .msi files a couple different ways. I copied the old version back to the Add-Ins directory, all that kind of thing, nothing made the Toolkit show up in the Available tab.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group