It is currently Sat Oct 19, 2019 2:08 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 11:43 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 9:32 am
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I'm having trouble with WHSConnectorInstall.

The connector software wants to download software from my server. It finds my server OK (hpserver) but never downloads anything, it's always at 0%, eventually it times out with a message that states... "The files were not downloaded. An unexpected error occurred".

Any insight into how I could possibly solve this problem would be much appreciated.

Pete


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 1:49 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 920 times in 875 posts
Most likely it's a firewall issue, make sure you disable any firewall software running on your client.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 10:30 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 9:32 am
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
yakuza wrote:
Most likely it's a firewall issue, make sure you disable any firewall software running on your client.


Yeah... That's what I thought. I already tried running it with the firewall turned off and same deal.

The connector install does indeed find the my server but then fails to download anything from my server. All of the necessary software is also in the hpserver\software folder as it should be.

Just in case it matters...

This problem is with powerpack 1. My server installed the update automatically. Now it's telling me I need to update my connector s/w in addition to giving me folder conflicts. I'm also running XP mediacenter SP3 on my PC.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 9:45 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 920 times in 875 posts
You can try uninstalling and then reinstalling on the client...

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:02 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:02 pm
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I had a lot of pain around the connector.
I installed PP1 / WHS 1.3 update - aok.
Near the end the last step is to update the connector
Up until that point I could login to my server, see my server, be at one with my server.

As it was installing the connector it claimed it couldnt' find the server.
And failed the connector install.
Firewall was off etc etc.

I don't know what made it be ultimately happy but I ended up doing:
- reboots of pc and of server
- rerunning the connector install that it downloads

And it started working. Sadly about an hour later it just stopped.

- rerunning the connector install again made it work

I've seen others experience the same flakeyness of connecting. And used a similar remedy of
just try installing the connector again.

Also painful is when you can see the music folder, video folder etc,
but you canonot login to the console. And it won't give you any diagnostics to help.

Don't know if this helps but the reboot/reinstall-connector seemed to work .


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:16 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:41 am
Posts: 366
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 4 times in 4 posts
gda wrote:
...And it won't give you any diagnostics to help.

Don't know if this helps but the reboot/reinstall-connector seemed to work .


i *think* there is a MS diagnostic tool you can download for just such problems?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:18 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:41 am
Posts: 366
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 4 times in 4 posts
yep-

I was correct that there is a tool.

I still cant post links but google for "windows home server toolkit"- the first lin kshould be the ms download page.

one the the tools in the toolkit is:

Windows Home Server Connector Troubleshooter
The Windows Home Server Connector Troubleshooter is a program that runs on your home computer to help troubleshoot problems you may encounter while installing the Connector software. The Connector Troubleshooter runs a series of tests to check the most common Connector Setup problems, and then it recommends possible solutions.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:34 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:02 pm
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
You are correct.
I neglected to mention that I tried the diagnostic tool and it
didn't provide anything of value either.
It simply said that it couldnt find the server.

It also directed me to a very technical gorpy microsoft document that
wanted to englighten me about dns, routers, netbios and so on.
But what made no sense is it worked before the update and then stopped
after.

In the end literally a few reboots (probably at least twice)
and retrying to install the connector , and I may have run discover.exe a few
times ended up doing it.

[I feel like a creature in a strange behavioral experiment with the 'i can find the server' as the pellet the machine dispenses]


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 3:42 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:41 am
Posts: 366
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 4 times in 4 posts
got to love when MS gives you such "helpfull" help.

I got a few 'bad files' the other day on my server- I forget what exactly it called them but the health indicator gave me a yellow warning about them.

It had a link to click for 'more info' which pushed me to help and said 'bad files are marked as bad when the server thinks they are bad' -- gee ya think?

then it said click this link for more info.

that link was apparently invalid becasue it aimed me to the main windows home server page instead of any knowledge base article or anything.

special 'eh...


your post just reminded me- I had a ow once becasue my server wasn't visible anywhere on my network. Turned out my router refused to give it an IP so it did the 169 thing and i had no idea. (I found out later in the logs). luckily i happened to reboot the server, pc's, and finally the router and then it worked.

SO maybe cycling one's router should get added to the things to reboot list...


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 8:00 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:02 pm
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Arg...

So the console was logging in fine.
I went to dinner. Stopped for a coffee on way back.
And now it won't login again.

I run the diagnostic tool WHSToolkit.msi (was the install of it)
and it comes back with a long list of issues. Which is a tad
obsurd because all I did was have dinner.

Any ideas? This seems to be common that after a while it
just forgets how to connect.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 8:02 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:02 pm
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Datapoint:

* Rebooted everything and I can ping the name of my server ABCServer
* After a short while (say 10 min) pinging the name doesn't work
instead it goes to some wacky IP.

I see the same behavior from my desktop pc and my laptop.

So I suspect its something router related. I've read the very gorpy microsoft documents. I've applied for the IT management 2 year training course to help me understand them.

Until then any ideas appreciated...this might be why login stops working.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 10:09 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 7:18 pm
Posts: 310
Location: Reading, PA
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 4 times in 4 posts
This is almost certainly why your login fails. In the DHCP settings for your router, what is the lease time? If your rouer has the option, set a reservation for the address used by the MSS so it always gets the same one. It almost sounds as if your DHCP lease time is set to 11 minutes instead of 11 days or something.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 11:03 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:02 pm
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
On the WRT310N router
Client Lease Time = 0

- It's the default and equals 1 day (according to the text to the right of it).

- DHCP reservation the server is listed in the Clients Already Reserved.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 11:53 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 9:32 am
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hey everyone...

Thanks for keeping this thread alive.

So far I've tried a number of things to no avail. Right now I've elected to run my MSS in a pre-PP1 configuration. It's pretty stable for the most part.

I'm going to delve into my router config to see if there may be something that is blocking the connector software from finding my server.

Currently I don't have any port forwarding on my router. Perhaps letting the router handle things automatically is part of the problem.

I also have Linksys's Easy Link Adviser software running. Maybe that is getting in the way.

Thanks again and I post some findings later this weekend.

Pete


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 1:35 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 3:02 pm
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Sounds like we're having similar issues and a similar setup
with post pp1. Both having trouble connecting to the server and both
with linksys routers.

I didnt change anything on my router - just unpacked and used
the wizard.

I opened another thread describing an interesting behavior i was seeing where
i could ping the server by name for a while and then magically it stopped
working and at that time i could not connect.

Take a peek and see if its the same pain for you


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group