It is currently Sun Jul 12, 2020 4:01 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 12:04 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 5:07 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I have an Acer 340 with the originally installed version of Windows Home Server. This probably stopped working in the last couple of months, but I just noticed it recently as I don't usually access it often. I can RDP into the WHS fine, but when I try to access any shares from my PC on Windows 8.1 Enterprise, I get "The specified network password is not correct" even though the password is correct and the account is not locked. Any ideas? Could it be that one of the updates to Windows 8.1 might have changed the password mechanism to make it incompatible with the old version of WHS?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 12:14 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 5:07 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I just noticed that it works fine using IP address instead of hostname. Weird.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2020 12:38 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1401
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 181 times in 179 posts
This has happened to myself as well a several others over the years.
Then poof it goes away, at least that is the perception.

But I suspect it has to do with new window versions that delete smb1 and offering smb2 only.
Try this :
On the client goto programs and features and select the link on the left side turn on or off features.
Then enable smb1 .
Then disable automatic delete for smb1.
I would bet it self deleted.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 5:57 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 5:07 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ruben Rocha wrote:
This has happened to myself as well a several others over the years.
Then poof it goes away, at least that is the perception.

But I suspect it has to do with new window versions that delete smb1 and offering smb2 only.
Try this :
On the client goto programs and features and select the link on the left side turn on or off features.
Then enable smb1 .
Then disable automatic delete for smb1.
I would bet it self deleted.


SMB 1.0/CIFS File Sharing Support is still checked.

And now even the IP address doesn't work. That happened after I tried mapping one if the shares using IP address.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 6:00 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 5:07 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I think this is a server side problem, because I have the same problem from a Macbook. I'm pretty sure the server went down hard after a recent power failure and of course the battery in the UPS failed. But I've rebooted it a few times and same thing.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2020 11:03 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 5:07 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Problem solved. Going through the Event Logs on the server, I realized there was nothing more recent than a few weeks ago. Then I noticed the time was wrong in the clock, and when I went to set it, realized the entire date was wrong - it was showing Jan 2008! During the blackout, when the server completely lost power, on top of the UPS battery going bad, the motherboard backup battery must also have been dead. Once I set the correct date and time, everything started working again.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2020 12:08 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1401
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 181 times in 179 posts
wow another dead cmos battery that needs to be replaced.
This is becoming a standard procedure to check or replace the battery.
Due to the age of the server.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group