It is currently Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:31 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 3:43 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 12:51 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I can't seem to find the correct point in time to insert the pin to start my server restore process. If I boot and insert right away, I get a solid red light on the health indicator. If I wait too long then i just get a solid red light. The sad thing is that it's booting normally, I just have no idea what the password is..I bought it from a I.T. College who doesn't remember it either. I have "Administrator" as the login id, no idea on password..that's why I was trying to run a server restore but can't seem to find the timing for pin insertion.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2019 5:35 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1303
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 170 times in 168 posts
I don't know what model you have but they can be fickle to get into recovery mode.
That is what you need to be ablt to reset or recover.
But you will need the cd toc omplete the task. You have them correct?
Ther are three one to restore the server , One to install the connector on client pc's and one to perform a recoviry on the pc's

Myself paperclip in hand and inserted in the hole, I boot the server and repeatedly keep pressing it in the hole releasing every fraction of a second. till it flashes violet, works almost every time for me.

Some people pull the os drive out a bit and then boot with the paperclip and as soon as the led turns violet push in the os drive.
Some people pull the os drive out a bit and then boot wait till led blinks red then push in the os drive.
Others boot the pc in safemode with network enabled.
But you should always try it with the server plugged in directly to the pc. Bypassing any routers switches or hubs. It will bark that it does not have internet connection but that is okay. Once you place it back in service it will connect.

Now completing the recovery or reset is another saga.
For me if it fails I yank the os drive , connect it to my pc run diskpart and use clean all.
Then place it back in the server and try again.
Or yank the os drive , connect it to my pc run diskpart and use clean all.
Then using disk manager in windows , initialize the disk , do not use gpt.
Then place it back in the server and try again.
And don't format it on the pc.

If it all keeps failing then possibly you have a bad drive. especially if the led does not flash red when booting normally.

There is no rhyme or reason to the issues or how to make it complete.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 8:48 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
For a server restore/reset, these are the steps that I have used...
1. You have all 3 discs that belong to that series of server?
2. I use a windows xp laptop with wireless turned off and the server restore disc contents copied to the desktop.
3. I connect a cat 5 cable from the laptop to the server.
4. With server turned off I fire up the setup of the restore software on the laptop desktop and follow the instructions.
5. When it says to turn on the server, I wait till I see the lights on it blink Blue/Red Blue/Red Blue/Red (3) times then press and release the tiny button in the tiny hole on the front.
6. Then click next on the software on the laptop to proceed.

Hope this helps. Good Luck

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 4:24 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 195
Thanks: 33
Thanked: 11 times in 11 posts
What Ruben and Guardian said.

I went thru the same dance with my ex49x and after a long tirate of cursing ended up with this solution:

viewtopic.php?t=14522

I cant tell you how many times I've used my little USB reset stick while playing around with these little MSS...

_________________
EX-495 w/ WHS v1
VGA / PS2 Keyboard_Mouse debug board
Q8200s CPU w/ two 30mm cooling fans
4gb G.Skill CL5 Ram
7200 RPM WD Gold
Rear Case Cover Mod

Plus a Few Spare EX490's to Tinker With


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group