It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 5:20 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 3:50 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1192
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 150 times in 149 posts
If your network is working you should be able to see it with file explorer.
You don't need the connector to get to the software folder.
In fact after a recovery I have run the connector from the server without the cd.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 4:05 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1192
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 150 times in 149 posts
I just did it again.
I deleted all three apps.
Rebooted twice because of I changed settings on my NAS.
Used file explorer selected networks. Clicked on my server and ran the connector.
Works perfect.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 4:20 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 88
Thanks: 14
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
So when attempting to get to the server from the w10 terminal I found the networked HPSTORAGE. Unfortunately whatever user credentials I have wont let me log into it...


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 4:29 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 88
Thanks: 14
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
That was weird.

I just removed the 6.0.2030.0 connector, rebooted, and now the log in credentials work...


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 4:33 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1192
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 150 times in 149 posts
Bottom line is did you have success.
I think you have been out of sync with the connector with your method.
So is it working now?

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 4:39 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 88
Thanks: 14
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Hallelujah, the connector now just installed.
:beerme:

On W10 it seems you have to install by using the setup.exe application instead of simply clicking on the connector.exe application. This time it placed the Icons on the desktop too..

I'm in the console now and all I have to do is attempt a backup... That's the final test!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 4:42 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1192
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 150 times in 149 posts
Note:
This last time I tested the connector.
I had to reinstall it for one client. Due to I disabled backups prior and it did not show up.
And I told you several times to use setup.exe.

Good luck

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Ruben Rocha for this post
lioninstreet
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 4:54 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 88
Thanks: 14
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Somehow missed the reference to setup.exe in any of your posts...

The terminal backup is now at 50% and climbing. Couldn't have managed this without your help!

Im presuming that unless the install is with setup.exe the only thing that installs is the networking, Backup was not since the desktop icons weren't installing as well as the terminal wouldn't show up in the console under backups


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:02 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1192
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 150 times in 149 posts
Great!
Keep going server!

Let's just hope you don't have a connection or drive issue to finish the backup.

FYI,
Win 10 has two hidden partitions.
If you attempt a full pc restore you will have issues.
First is drivers for your NIC card.
Second is if you get past that point is ,You need to use the advanced settings to restore your hidden partitions..
because whs1 will name them with drive letters.

It is better to just restore a pc with the os disks and then open the backups and copy back the data.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Ruben Rocha for this post
lioninstreet
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:13 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 88
Thanks: 14
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
Wonderful, HQ only sent me w10 pre-installed on a hard drive. I then installed it on a previously provided terminal... Lets hope I never need to do a restore on this one. At least the data will be preserved.

But I will remember this as I migrate over to w10 on my other terminals. At least we've still got 1 1/2 years before w7 goes EOL.

Thanks again for taking the time to walk with me thru this. Backup now successful and job done.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 21, 2018 5:18 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1192
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 150 times in 149 posts
There you go.
All we needed was the data on what you were doing.
Took a bit to get it but now it is done.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:42 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2200
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 247 times in 244 posts
Great work guys, as you know I don't/won't use win 10. Have 10 clients win7pro/win7home/win7basic/Vista.
I'm looking at Mac books/ Ipads / and looking to try chromebooks.
Microsoft has lost my interest.

But The point, I have seen to many people have problems doing a restore so I have all my clients keep all their data that they don't want to lose on the server where I can protect it so if their hard drive dies I can put on a basic win7 clean load and they can still get to the data.

And then there is always ransomeware, I know two people that have had it and lost everything.

Good luck to you guys and enjoy.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 4:49 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 9:40 pm
Posts: 88
Thanks: 14
Thanked: 3 times in 3 posts
I just had to go thru the process of installing the connector on another w10 terminal and in this order the install works:

1) First, unless you know your server has all the updates already installed, you must have a working terminal with the connector already installed. This, to view in the WHS console settings that you have installed on the server the correct WHS software version 3.3.135433 and remote access connector version 6.0.3436.0. Without these versions, you will have limited success if you proceed with connecting a w10 terminal.

1) On the w10 terminal, enable Net Framework 3.5 (includes 2.0 & 3.0) - To do this go to control panel/programs & features/turn windows features on or off. Turn on all Net Framework 3.5 features.

2) Use the terminal's RDP to remote into the server. Install a thumb drive in the front of the MSS and create a temp folder on the thumb drive.

3) Then on the server, go to C:WHS folder, verify that the file named WHSConnectorinstall.exe is a 1078kb file and the WHSConnector x64.msi file is a 16036 kb file (this to confirm you truly have the latest files). Then copy the entire contents of C:WHS folder onto the thumb drive folder you created

4) Remove the thumb drive from the server, install it on the w10 terminal, and copy the folder with it's contents on to the w10 desktop

5) Open the newly created folder, navigate to the setup.exe file and run it.

The rest should be just like a normal connector install.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 11:40 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1192
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 150 times in 149 posts
You would use file explorer not the cd.
Which usually has a better success rate.
Navigate to networks select your server.
Then drill down to software-home server connector software .
setup.exe.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group