It is currently Sat Nov 17, 2018 7:41 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 2:15 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 1:23 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi, I just recently set up Remote Access for my EX495 through DYN.com.

Thiangs are working, except I have not been able to "Drag-and-Drop" files for uploading remotely.

The HP HELP instructions on this topic state the following:
===============
To upload files
1 From the shared-folder list of files and folders, click the upload button.
2 Click Browse to find a file on your computer.
3 Navigate through the folders on your computer to find the file that you want to upload, and then click Open.
4 Repeat Steps 2 and 3 for each file that you want to upload.
5 When you have added all of the files that you want to upload, click Upload.
6 Note
7 You can also install a drag-and-drop feature to upload your files. To install this feature, click Enable easy file uploads.
===============

Note it says to click "Enable easy file uploads" ???????

That options does not appear anywhere in any screen that I have been able to find when remotely connected to the EX495.

Does anyone know where that option/phrase is located OR how I would implement Drag & Drop when remotely connected?

Thanks in advance, Regards, GE


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 12:10 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1216
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 153 times in 151 posts
Humm,
I have only been able to upload files via a ftp like connection.
Possibly it was referring to a add in I am not aware of.
What is the url to the eazy upload feature you are referencing?

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Aug 20, 2017 3:13 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 1:23 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
The "Easy Access" feature is referred to on the Remote Access Home Page of the EX495.

There is a link to a Help/Instruction file under the Shared Folders link.

The link is: "Learn more about remote access to files and folders".

However, nothing related to or referring to "Easy Access" or Drag-and-Drop file transfer shows up on the Shared Folders pages.

Regards

GE


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:38 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2202
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 247 times in 244 posts
Found this from 2009, someone was wondering the same thing.

"You can easily do what you want. For each computer you want to drag files from and drop into the shares of the MSS, you'll need the WHS connector installed. It sounds like you may have already done this. When on that client PC with the files, open the icon that says Shares on your desktop. Open which share you want to drop the files into and leave that window open. Now, go to the files on your client PC and drag that file from that window to the window for Share on the MSS and drop it in there. Alternatively, you can right click on the file and select Copy and then paste the copy to that Share on the MSS."

On this one it sounds like once you have made the connection and logged in, you can minimize the browser and then just just file explorer from the shared folders icon on the desktop.


I also saw another post on a MS site that said use IE for the browser, as it had a plugin that would allow for the drag n drop. Now that was probably a version or two ago IE. May or may not work now.

I googled it and didn't find much and a search of this site, yours was the only one to reference Easy drag and drop.

Good Luck Let us know if you figure something out.

This is just one of the reasons why I turned remote access off years ago.
Speed
Security
Just to cumbersome.

But hopefully the above will help.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 12:13 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1216
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 153 times in 151 posts
Gardian,
that makes sense if connected via the connector I have always used drag and drop on the shared folders. But I have never seen that feature when connected remotely
That is what has me puzzled.

But I have never tried to install the connector on a remote machine.
All of my clients are on the local network.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAs RN316


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Aug 21, 2017 2:22 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2202
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 247 times in 244 posts
I as you have never seen this as I only played with remote access a couple of times and didn't like it. But that was 10 years +/- ago and internet speeds have increased.
I just never felt the need to access stuff remotely, I have a lot of storage on my phone and bags full of usb drives #-o to carry stuff around with me.
I keep a large usb drive with me to keep all my work/personal stuff on so it's always with me and I back it up to the server a few times a year.

But, what they are saying almost sounds like having the connector installed on like a Laptop and go outside off network, it almost gives you VPN "like" access.
I don't know... It's all I could find... :-k

I do know that Win 2012 has the real vpn remote access, once you set it up.
Maybe this was whs v1 way of doing it?????

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group