It is currently Wed May 27, 2020 8:59 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 10:04 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:53 am
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I had a power outage yesterday and since then my WHS doesnt start.

The health light flashes white and nothing happens.

I have used the recovery CD, thinking somthing happened to the system, this runs well and I get a message recovery was successful and the server should reboot. However is ends up in the same status, flashing white.

Any suggestions from someone experienced?

Many thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2017 12:41 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1370
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 178 times in 176 posts
well if you performed a recovery then the led is telling you you need to install the connector on the first pc.
Even if it is installed you need to delete it and re-install the connector software.
this is needed to complete the recovery(at least on one pc)
It is probably because the server now looks for a older version of the connector than what is installed on the pc.
Also it thinks no pc has ever been connected.

Then once the server updates you will probably need to do it again.

Now the rest of the story.
Something happened to start this whole episode.
Possibly a corrupted os or possibly a bad drive.

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Ruben Rocha for this post
djac
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 12:42 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2218
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 79
Thanked: 251 times in 248 posts
Hopefully you have the Free SMART addin that will tell you isf a drive is going bad?
http://www.dojonorthsoftware.net/dl/InstallHomeServerSMARTClassic.zip

As (Ruben Rocha) said, since the recovery was successful the drives ?may? be ok and the OS just got corrupt or full of logs, but it's always a good idea to check the drive with "Smart".
Smart will tell you when a drive is going bad soon enough that you can swap it out before the system craters.

And I hate to say it (Like a broken record) you have backups of the stuff you Can't Lose somewhere besides the server, please say yes :-)
I have almost lost my data twice. I keep basically 4 copies of the really important stuff. 2 on the server and two off the server.

Good Luck

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Gardian for this post
djac
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 4:07 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:53 am
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thanks for the responses and sorry for being slow.

I have now tested all four drives and all are fine to read, can see my files, and btw thanks for caring about them, they are safely on another disk as well :)

So back to what I think caused this, as mentioned I had an outage. UPS kicked in but apparently batteries haven weakened and what I think happened is that power cut in the middle of a controlled shut down.

Whats weired in my eyes is that the recovery reports success, but after that it's as dead as before. Challenge with these headless systems as you are blind..?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 27, 2017 12:37 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2218
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 79
Thanked: 251 times in 248 posts
True that on being blind, I have two of the VGA adapters (just in case).

But back to your problem.
You say you successfully completed a recovery:
Just to be clear, With all the hard-drives in the server you fired up the "server recovery cd" in a networked laptop/PC and ran it, it told you how to put the server into recovery mode. Once in recovery mode you clicked ok on the recovery program, it found the server and you were able to pick "Recovery" not factory reset and it completed the recovery successfully, then it rebooted and now you are back to a white blinking light?
If this is true, what (Ruben Rocha) says should be your next step.
The Laptop/PC you ran the recovery on you would need to uninstall the mediasmart and connector software, reboot it and then run the Software install cd on that laptop/pc, it should find the server, ask for the password and then install, reboot, at this point you should be able to get to the server connector page and do the HP and Windows updates if needed. Then most likely another server re-boot and then at some point it may say you have a mis-match on the connector software and you would need to uninstall the mediasmart and connector again on the laptop/pc and re-install them from a browser at this webpage: http://servername:55000
This should give you the latest version of the software and connector.

Then you should be done, unless you need to do the same thing on other pc's.
Great job on having a backup of your data, I have not had a successful recovery, so I do factory re-sets and then data copy back.
But that is just me, lots of people have had great recoveries.

Hope this helps Good Luck Shout back if anything else happens or changes.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 3:28 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 3:53 am
Posts: 13
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Server is recovered and I really want to thank you for the encouraging support.

My mistake was that I didn't have enough patience after the success message and before I installed the connector. With me rebooting the server too early it never went well.

Battery in UPS is replaced so hopefully this wont happen again.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Mar 10, 2017 4:31 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2218
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 79
Thanked: 251 times in 248 posts
Awesome work! Glad to hear your back up and running.
Good Luck and enjoy!

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group