It is currently Thu Jul 16, 2020 11:29 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 9:17 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 2:27 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hello,

I just set up an HP DataVault X311 with server 2012 R2, with an old 160GB HDD, and now considering buying either 2X Red 4TB or 3X RED 3TB.

My question, what is the best for the OS. I could recycle an SSD I currently have in a PC tower, or is it advisable to also use a large capacity WD RED?

Subsidiary question: I want to upgrade the ram to 4G; anyone knows the exact requirements (esp. regarding buffered or non-buffered, EEC.)?

Thanks!

_________________
HP DataVault X311, WHS 2012 R2 Standard, planing to upgrade to Server 2016 Standard


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2017 7:13 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2220
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 80
Thanked: 252 times in 249 posts
I tried win 2012E on a x-510 using one of these with (2) ssd drives mirrored.
http://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_sacat=0&_nkw=MB982SPR-2S&_sop=15
You could use any size "pair" ssd and have fail-over OS drive in one bay.
I later built my own server and used the same setup, works great and fast. I use a 1 TB red to do backups of the os. and use 4 tb reds for the shares using stablebit drive pool.

As far as ram, I am not sure what the x310/311 uses for sure, this was all I could find these days for the x-510.
https://www.amazon.com/KOMPUTERBAY-DDR2-DIMM-800Mhz-6400/dp/B0043BDDP6/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8

This memory is confirmed to work in the ex-490 and x-510:
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231300

Again, not sure about the x-310 specs, if you can find where it takes the same then these should work. I will do some googling and see what I can find.

Good Luck

P.S. Found this in a thread talking about the 310:
Kingston 4 GB Module (KVR800D2N6/4G) is said to work.

If you find something that does work, shout back, my guess is many 310/311 owners would like more memory.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2016E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:20 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 2:27 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Thanks one more time Gardian! Your setup is an interesting one. For me, the OS isn't so important, I will use it mostly to store everything and anything. Above all, I intend to install a software that will backup the files and folders (maybe even OS) that I don't want to lose, photos for example. I guess WD RED 3TB should do the job.

I just ordered an ICY dock, so that I can put an SSD for the OS.

Thanks for the info regarding the ram, I was lucky and found the one you mentioned (KVR800D2N6/4G), new for 20$ only.

Wish you all a nice weekend.

_________________
HP DataVault X311, WHS 2012 R2 Standard, planing to upgrade to Server 2016 Standard


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group