It is currently Sat Jan 23, 2021 4:50 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: A little help
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:04 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:01 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I have an ex485. I did a server recovery to restore it back to factory settings. There is no hard drive lights on but I have the power light network light solid blue and the health light a pinkish color. Which from the manual says is that it is normal.

When I did the server recovery everything went fine until installing the connector, then it could not find the server.
I have read the forms and have tried everything that was on multiple forums. None of it has helped me.

I can see it on the dhcp on my router. I cannot rdp or http into it. I can ping it

I have also checked this with multiple hard drives and everything still does the same thing. Does anyone have any ideas?


Last edited by keller34 on Sun Mar 03, 2013 9:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: A little help
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:40 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Hi keller34 welcome to the forums,

It sounds like the recovery was not completely successful. Before you performed the recovery were you having any issues with the server which prompted you to perform the recovery?

The HPMediaSmartService controls the LEDs and health monitoring. Depending on the HP Software version you used to recover the server be it the original which is v1.x or the upgrade which is v3.x the name of the server will be different on the network during the recovery process.

The initial name of the server when its in recovery mode will start with MININT. In v1.x the name of the server after the initial recovery will be HPSERVER and in v3.x it will be HPSTORAGE and these device names should be seen on the routers DHCP listing if the server has a network connection.

So what exactly are you seeing on your router?

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: A little help
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:53 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:01 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
A little more info:

I have tried the factory reset on 2 machines, one an XP Pro and the other a win 7, both restores are fine until the connector setup.

Well I forgot the password and didnt have anything worth saving on it.

I am seeing the minint-(some other name)

The health indicator is now white


Attachments:
2013-03-03_1850.png
2013-03-03_1850.png [ 130.63 KiB | Viewed 4063 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: A little help
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 7:37 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Which model server do you have?

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: A little help
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 9:17 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:01 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
ex485


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: A little help
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 9:51 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Thank you for the model.

Others with EX48x's have reported that their server when it reboots boots into its recovery mode which is indicated by the device name MINIT followed by other things which you have reported.

The EX48x Series MSS will boot into their recovery mode if the server does not see a bootable device in the bottom bay or bottom rear USB Port of the server.

What I would be curious about is the actual condition of the System Drive in the bottom bay and if it were actually bootable. Is it possible for you to connect the System Drive to a client and see if the client will boot off the Servers System Drive. If it boots the client then the issue would be in the BIOS requiring it to be reset or adjusted. This would require either a DEBUG Board or to do it blind a procedure to reset the BIOS to the defaults.

Here is a link for a DEBUG BOARD: http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2010/05 ... available/

If the Client can not boot off the system drive then something is wrong with the drive or installed OS. What I would do in this situation is connect the drive to a client and remove all partitions and then reformat the drive but I believe this is not actually required. Then insert the drive back into the server and attempt another Recovery. If you experience the same results then you should replace the system drive and perform another recovery.

The options for working with a headless server are some what limited but these are the things I would be doing if I were in your situation. A DEBUG board is worth its weight in gold and makes troubleshooting MSS Server issues much easier.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: A little help
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 10:06 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:01 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I will try the client and try another drive to restore that I just tested as good.

Thanks for all the help. Also I was looking for the 3.0 iso and cannot find them. Any idea where I could get them now?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: A little help
PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2013 11:41 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
I will be honest with you and just tell you what the 3.x offers can be better done with other software. If you happen to find the 3.0 software just make sure its for your server as its Server Specific. You indicated you had an EX485 so you will need to version written specifically for that unit and not another server model.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: A little help
PostPosted: Mon Mar 04, 2013 8:33 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:01 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
well I tried the disk on another computer and it did boot fine. Put it back in the server and now I have it blinking red and blue health 5x then blue.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: A little help
PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 9:13 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Could you mean 1 Aqua Whit and 5 Red? http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/docu ... itle_r0001

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: A little help
PostPosted: Tue Mar 05, 2013 10:42 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:01 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
it flashes a whiteish color for about a half second then 5 red and blue then the rest blue until it resets and does it again.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: A little help
PostPosted: Wed Mar 06, 2013 8:37 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Are you saying the server is showing those blinks and then reboots itself and then the process repeats itself?

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: A little help
PostPosted: Mon Mar 11, 2013 6:40 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2013 4:01 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Yes that is what it is doing.

I am thinking now cause I have 4 500gb drives and was thinking of a way to make it a NAS like a synology and make it iSCSI for a backup device for my backup software...any thoughts on this?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group