It is currently Sat Feb 22, 2020 12:09 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:49 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:33 pm
Posts: 902
Location: Florida
Thanks: 53
Thanked: 35 times in 35 posts
I am experiencing a reduction in my internet download speed from around 6Mb to about 1.5Mb or less when I have my MSS connected to the router. If I disconnect the server from the router and connect directly to my primary home computer the download speed is around 6Mb which is the rated speed I paid for from my ISP (Time Warner). When I reconnect the server to the router, the download speed coming thought the cable is degraded to about 1.5Mb. I am talking about normal interenet access speed for surfing the net not network traffic between my workstation and the server. I use DSLReports.com to test download speed. I know this is a bit confusing without further info, but I just wanted to post here is see if any of you have experienced this strange behavior.

_________________
It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.
Aristotle - Greek critic, philosopher, physicist, & zoologist (384 BC - 322 BC)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 4:03 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:49 pm
Posts: 236
Location: Nevada
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 7 times in 7 posts
YES...believe it or not I did have this issue.

It started "out of the blue" about 2 months after I had my server up and running. It drove me batty trying to troubleshoot but once I SHUT WEB SITES OFF (in remote access setup), the problem disappeared.

Of course if you want to access your server remotely this solution is a poor one at best.

As I do not have a need to access my "backup device" :wink: remotely, I have no need to troubleshoot at this time.

Hopefully someone else will offer suggestions so once the corruption bug is resolved I can re-enable web sites.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 10:37 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 5:33 pm
Posts: 902
Location: Florida
Thanks: 53
Thanked: 35 times in 35 posts
Sorry for not getting back sooner. It turns out my router was failing. When I replaced it the speed returned to normal. Thanks for the reply anyway. :D

_________________
It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.
Aristotle - Greek critic, philosopher, physicist, & zoologist (384 BC - 322 BC)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group