It is currently Fri May 29, 2020 1:15 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:53 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:55 pm
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
All of the sudden, none of my PCs WHS connectors are working, big RED box on the PCs, but on the server itself, it's still GREEN. When I try to upgrade, and it attempts to download the files, they can't be found. Also, none of the PCs show up as "online" anymore in the "computers" tab.

I think my WHS system may have been hacked remotely, somehow...

What would the best way to fix/recover this be, and how could we find out what was done/how they got in, to avoid this happening again, once I figure out how to fix it...

Mitch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 2:57 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10710
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 623
Thanked: 922 times in 877 posts
It's probably the UR2 patch that went out last night, you can try rebooting the PC, or manually updating the WHS install on the client.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:00 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:55 pm
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
Great... well, I rebooted WHS already twice, no dice. I tried reinstalling the connector, and it can't be found on the server. I am still remote at work, so not going to reboot the PC I am RDPd to (via the old port 3389 method, not using the WHS remote now, because none of them show up as connected.)

Anyway to remove that update? I am not a fan of it so far.

"Update for Windows Home Server (KB981089)" looks like it might be the culprit...


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 3:34 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:55 pm
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
I removed the update, and rebooted the server... same thing, it's still broken, can't find the connector software, and the PCs are no longer connected to WHS.

Great update Microsoft

Am I going to have to do a server recovery at this point?

http://forum.wegotserved.com/index.php/ ... op-access/

and

http://willdeasy.com/2011/01/microsoft- ... op-access/

and

http://www.wintellect.com/CS/blogs/jrob ... 81089.aspx

I still have not managed to fix this F-up


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 10:22 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:55 pm
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
managed to fix this, interesting, that it only affected my windows XP machine.

I tried removing the connector, no dice, it was really broken, badly.

shutdown the XP PC, rebooted, still, would not remove. Finally went to the software install on the shared drive, and re-installed, and that finally worked..

none of the Windows 7 machines where affected...

Mitch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 4:53 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 4:50 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Mitch may I ask how exactly you did this? You removed the update, and after several reboots, you copied the connector software from the server and then it worked? So the removal of the update restored the original connector files to the software/windows home connector directory?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 6:42 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2218
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 79
Thanked: 251 times in 248 posts
Oh Great! I just remote desktopped into my 470 and it wants to reboot from a update. I just got everything running correct.
Is this update going to break me?

RANT
It's bad enough that HP and Microsoft have turned there back on us, now all they can do is send out bad updates?

I'm not going to reboot but will get a power bump at some point, will be watching to see if this is a real problem. :beerme:

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 8:55 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Oct 22, 2009 1:55 pm
Posts: 107
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
After I realized that it was ONLY 1 XP machine with a problem, I reinstalled the patch on the WHS.

Next, go to the "software" share on the WHS (from the PC with the problem connector, the drive shares still worked), then find the "Home Server Connector Software" directory and reinstall (think I just did the "setup" again). The new connector software will get installed over the old one... as I could not remove the old one, no matter what I tried.

After that, everything was fine.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank mitch672 for this post
Gardian
PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:22 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2218
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 79
Thanked: 251 times in 248 posts
Thx for the follow up, all my connected PC's are XP, so I am glad to hear. :D
I'll byte the bullet tonite and see what happens.

That is one good thing about the servers, at least for me, no matter how balled up it gets I can always (so far) get to the shares.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Jan 30, 2011 4:35 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 8:52 am
Posts: 64
Location: Redmond, WA, USA
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 8 times in 5 posts
i was able to successfully update the connector by going to the server's shared folders -> Software\Home Server Connector Software -> run setup.exe or install.exe

it successfully uninstalled the old connector and installed the new one without any need for reboot

hope this helps


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group