It is currently Sun Jul 15, 2018 6:28 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Max Hard Drive for EX490
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2015 1:02 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:04 am
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Whats the max hard drive size i can use on each bay running WinSer 2012 Essentials on a EX490?

_________________
EX490
CPU E6550
8TB HDD's
2GB RAM


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2015 8:34 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Thanks: 73
Thanked: 144 times in 105 posts
I'm not sure. I've run 2TB WD Reds in my EX490 without issue. I haven't tried higher capacities.

_________________
Matt Sawyer
Owner, Dojo North Software, LLC

HP EX490, 4GB, E5300, 15TB - Server 2012 - Sharing and Streaming
HP EX487, 4GB, E5300, 13TB - Server 2012 Essentials - Backups


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun May 24, 2015 4:28 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1109
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
I run 4tb seagate drives in my ex495. they work great, I know the 6tb drives are a tad bigger.... not sure if they fit.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 15, 2015 8:40 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:01 am
Posts: 25
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I'm using 3 of the WD Red 6TB's in my EX490 and WS2012E R2 (Storage Spaces Parity). They work just fine.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank danrfxz for this post
msawyer91
PostPosted: Thu Nov 19, 2015 8:04 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2194
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 246 times in 243 posts
I know this thread is a bit old, but as more people are figuring out what to do as WHS v1 gets long in the tooth.
This question can be answered by saying that the mediasmart servers hardware is 64 bit compatible, so as long as the OS can find drivers for that hardware, any drive that will fit into the bays should work.
At least till they change the format/ size of drives and I don't see that happening at least for the near future.

Think about all the hardware out their that is using 3.5 or 2.5 drives.

That being said, I would not try to load up a ex470 with 4 6tb drives and windows 2012 whatever, but the ex-490 and x510s can be upgraded hardware wise to run pretty darn good.

Great Idea HP had with the media smart, to bad Microsoft did what they do best, abandon great ideas.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group