It is currently Mon Jan 27, 2020 9:06 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: WordPress on WS2012e
PostPosted: Sun May 11, 2014 9:32 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
This is probably going to be my next big project I've always wanted to set something like this up. I tried on my WHSv1 box but when I had to reinstall I could never get it to work again. Here is a video that I found on the set up...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tNJwx8R6 ... n0mkgsR1FA


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: WordPress on WS2012e
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2014 11:14 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Did you install and set this up yet? If so I have to ask you because I am not clear on where it would store the data for WordPress obviously the content you place on a blog could quickly eat up a system drive. This is an area I am not quite up to speed with so I have to ask even the simplest of questions.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: WordPress on WS2012e
PostPosted: Fri May 23, 2014 10:34 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1110
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
Yeah I haven't taken on this project quite yet. Since i had that suspend issue, and reformatted my OS drive, then had the issue with my storage enclose Ive put a hold on breaking stuff.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: WordPress on WS2012e
PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2014 5:40 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
I played with it yesterday and found I could place it on any drive I wanted so I experimented with it and everything works on the server side but not from outside the server so I may have an issue on my end that I was not aware of on the IIS side that I will have to look into. Plus I want it to run a certain way so I need to play with it a bit more. I could always get it working well on WHSv1.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: WordPress on WS2012e
PostPosted: Sat May 24, 2014 11:27 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
I figured out the issue and it had to do with the URL settings within Wordpress itself once I changed those from localhost to my domain name everything started working properly.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: WordPress on WS2012e
PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2014 1:57 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Long story short I now have a fully functional site that's now running as my home landing page using my custom domain. I am not quite certain how I got it to work and that's the frustrating part but one thing I did was I got rid of the Home page and recreated it and use that to install wordpress on and now things are working as they should but the last place I really wanted wordpress to load from is my system drive so while I am happy its working I really want to get my site to run on a dedicated drive pool I setup and for that I will have to play with HTTP Redirect and hope it does not redirect my HTTPS which controls my RWA site which was occurring when I first started playing with the software.

So I got this far and its a good thing and I am not too deep into things so now its time to take the next step and create the site I really want in a location I really want it to be on a dedicated pool drive that way I get some redundancy going to protect the setup.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group