It is currently Sat Jan 25, 2020 9:09 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 8:19 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
I'm new to VM and would like to run a win7 64bit vm on my DIY w2012E box.
I understand that W2012E does not support VM at all native, but anybody point me in the right direction to run one some other way.
I have plenty of memory and 2 nics.

What I would like to do is VM my ripping/converting box onto the server box.

Thx for any/all info

Rant: Pay $500 for a server OS and does not support VM native. WTH! Rant:

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Thu Nov 07, 2013 2:59 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Tue Jul 09, 2013 1:53 pm
Posts: 17
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I know that the WS 2012E R2 has the Hyper-V role included in this one and right now I am planning to test this on my test server. I've used Hyper-V on 2008 R2 and worked pretty well so I am going to see how well it works in this version. Plus the Hyper-V in the updated version of 2012E R2 has some better features so I am going to give it a go.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:35 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
I did some reading and decided to use VirtualBox, it seemed to be the easiest since I am new to the VM world.
I downloaded a couple of win7 pro iso, 64 bit and 32 bit, I tried the first one (64 bit) and realized I need to turn on Virtualization on in the bios.

Learning as I go. :crazy:

Edit: Got a 32 bit version win7pro up and running so I guess it can be done.

I'll stop now, goodluck all.

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Dec 27, 2013 5:04 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2215
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 76
Thanked: 249 times in 246 posts
So I thought I would update this:
I am a little p'ed that now after I have purchased win2012E, now they have R2 that will support HyperV which Win2012E does not, #-o Thanks MS! Why do they do these things ? :deadhorse:

But, oh well, I tried Virualbox as I am a noob with VM's so it seemed pretty easy. Built a win7 vm and the more I tried to work with it the worse it got.
1) mouse was a little flaky.
2) Could not get the win7 guest to see and be able to use the host dvd-rw.
So I gave up.
Downloaded VMware Player 6 and tried again, awesome!!! Mouse works perfect and it is seeing the host dvd-rw, so far so good. I have not riped a dvd yet but will try this weekend.

That's my VM adventure within Win2012E, descend hardware so it is working well. I may be able to get rid of that ripper box yet.

Edit: 12-29-2013
Well, the dvd ripping went without a hitch, next step was to get the vm to fire on host startup, was able to put a shortcut to the .VMX file which would fire it, set the VM to autologin, but then needed to get the host win2012E to autologin, so did the regedit and have it auto logging in and firing the VM.

So all is well, the Server sleeps and wakes, when it wakes it fires the guest and then anybody in the house can rdp into it.

Have an awesome new year everybody!!!

P.S. Tried both virtualbox and VMware pc to vm convertors, didn't have much luck with either one, better to build for base load..

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group