It is currently Sun Dec 09, 2018 1:52 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: HP EX490 2012 install
PostPosted: Sun Jun 30, 2013 11:52 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:04 am
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I just got a copy of Windows server 2012 essentials. I have an ex490 64bit quad core with 2gb ram. I don't have the vga cable kit. Please can someone let me know how I can install it. Would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks

_________________
EX490
CPU E6550
8TB HDD's
2GB RAM


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 9:18 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:59 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Quebec
Thanks: 9
Thanked: 34 times in 27 posts
One way to do it is to start the install in another computer (using the future system drive), and remove the system drive at the first reboot. Then put it in your server, and continue installation through RDP.

Hope it helps.

_________________
HP-ProLiant N40L 8GB WHS2011
HP-EX470 4GB Athlon-X2-BE-2350-(Stepping G1) Windows 8 (server build)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 9:32 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:04 am
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ok so let me see if I understand. I get the HDD im going to use for my MSS. Put that HDD inside another computer. Do the setup process and once it reboots just shut off the PC and put that HDD in my MSS?

1) but if I dont let it reboot fully wont the install not be complete?
2) How can I RDP into the server if I dont even now the ip and if the OS is setup for rdp access?

sorry just a little lost here

_________________
EX490
CPU E6550
8TB HDD's
2GB RAM


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:08 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Your server has a MAC Address that basically never changes. If you know the MAC Address you can easily identify the server on your network. If you have previously reserved and IP number for your EX490 then it will be given that same IP number regardless of what OS your running. If you have your original Server Drives still configured you can reinstall them boot the server and make an RDP Connection to the servers desktop there you can check the network properties and see the current IP number assignment along with the MAC Address.

The MAC Address is also printed on a label attached to the motherboard located between the NIC and eSATA Ports and the label is white and clearly states LAN ID followed by the MAC number. If you remove the hard drives and backplane you maybe able to read it without having to extract the motherboard. There maybe other ways to identify the server on your network using the routers DHCP Listing looking at all the devices and ruling out the known devices on your network until you find your server.

Personally the DEBUG Board is the way to go to make installing other OS's easier and to assist you with troubleshooting boot and connectivity issues which are difficult to do when you have a headless server. The time you save alone will more then justify the cost of the DEBUG Board. I own 2 of them and have to get another one on order along with some extra cables.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:24 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:04 am
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
what debug board and cable do you recommend for the ex490?

_________________
EX490
CPU E6550
8TB HDD's
2GB RAM


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:23 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Here is a link for the Debug Board I and many others use: http://www.mediasmartserver.net/2010/05 ... available/

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:38 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:04 am
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ok I installed essentials 2012 with an autounattend file.

Question is any drivers I need for my 490 to work? Like the hdd lights,

Cirrus

_________________
EX490
CPU E6550
8TB HDD's
2GB RAM


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:50 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
Not sure about the drivers but for the LED's that's the million dollar question. Now Gardian did get his health light to stop blinking but I have no idea how he did it but I am sure he will share that one.

I really wish I had good news about the LED's but software would have to be written for it.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 6:02 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:04 am
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ok im looking around and I dont see add ons like whsv1. Is there anything like lights out and I forgot the name of the app that monitors hard drives and if its bad you it will notify you and you can repair it right there?

Sent from my SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2

_________________
EX490
CPU E6550
8TB HDD's
2GB RAM


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 12:42 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:04 am
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ok i got lights out add in. Can you recommend one that monitors hard drives?

Also my lights out says my system does not support hibernation?

_________________
EX490
CPU E6550
8TB HDD's
2GB RAM


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 4:04 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1109
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
look for this file: HpMssServiceSetup_v1.0.6


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank T-Bone for this post
Comp1962
PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2013 7:08 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 7:10 pm
Posts: 5157
Location: Georgia, USA
Thanks: 86
Thanked: 703 times in 682 posts
I am going to give that a try this weekend as I plan on installing WHS2011 on an EX485 that has an E5200 CPU in it. It would be totally awesome to get the lights working in WHS2011.

_________________
Exploring the possibilities!

Migrated from WHS2011 to WS2012E: HIGHLANDER

~ Norco 4220 Enclosure
~ Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5
~ AMD Phenom II X4 995 3.2 GHz
~ 8 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
~ 3 Supermicro AOC-SASLP-MV8


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:43 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 8:04 am
Posts: 127
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Tried it. Confirmed it works. But it doesn't work if you create a storage space. It's only for the hard drives that you leave as is.

Sent from my SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2

_________________
EX490
CPU E6550
8TB HDD's
2GB RAM


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 11:58 am 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:59 pm
Posts: 298
Location: Quebec
Thanks: 9
Thanked: 34 times in 27 posts
You have to look at HomeServerSmart 2013
http://ssd.dojonorthsoftware.net/

_________________
HP-ProLiant N40L 8GB WHS2011
HP-EX470 4GB Athlon-X2-BE-2350-(Stepping G1) Windows 8 (server build)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 4:51 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm
Posts: 2204
Location: Casper Wyoming
Thanks: 75
Thanked: 247 times in 244 posts
My lights quit blinking but it would not work as I have the raid OS and storage spaces. But at least it quit blinking :-)

_________________
[X510 CPU/RAM/All 2 TB Red's] [X510 CPU/Sync'ed Backup/All 2 TB Hitachi's]
[X510 /2 in box]
[X710 LIAN LI DIY W2012E] Stablebit Drivepool [EX-503 LIAN LI 5-bay USB3 External]
:twisted: Fear the Cloud :twisted:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group