It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 10:11 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Tables BBCode?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:48 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 5:52 am
Posts: 128
Location: New Hampshire
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 7 times in 6 posts
I'd like to use a table to create a matrix for a certain topic I am drafting. I think it would make it much more readable. I don't see BBCode for tables. Any chance you can add it? I see that some other sites have it available, so maybe it is possible? Thanks for considering!
-David
p.s. Or did I miss something already available that allows this?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: Tables BBCode?
PostPosted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:06 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10690
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 915 times in 871 posts
Yeah I'm not sure the best way to do that, I'll investigate a little but won't be able to get to it for a few days, got a family trip this weekend.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Tables BBCode?
PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 1:00 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 5:52 am
Posts: 128
Location: New Hampshire
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 7 times in 6 posts
Thanks! No rush on my end. Enjoy the trip!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Tables BBCode?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 3:22 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 5:52 am
Posts: 128
Location: New Hampshire
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 7 times in 6 posts
Maybe something in the links below would help? If it turns out to be a PITA/time suck, then don't bother. Thanks.

http://www.phpbb.com/mods/db/index.php? ... ib_id=1129

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopic.php?t=219269

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... &start=285


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Tables BBCode?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 3:34 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10690
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 915 times in 871 posts
Yeah those are all for phpbb2, which is being phased out, and we're running phpbb3 here.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Tables BBCode?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 6:38 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 5:52 am
Posts: 128
Location: New Hampshire
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 7 times in 6 posts
yakuza wrote:
Yeah those are all for phpbb2, which is being phased out, and we're running phpbb3 here.

Ah, OK -- two sources for version 3 below. Again, don't bother if it is a hassle. I know folks would use it to better organize some of the more comprehensive posts, but everyone has survived without it so far. Thanks.

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... 5#p4078025

http://www.phpbb.com/community/viewtopi ... &t=1151165


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Tables BBCode?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 7:36 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10690
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 915 times in 871 posts
Thanks for the links, I'd seen those before when I was searching for this. I'll be honest, I'm not fully comfortable with those solutions as they have the potential to break the layout of the site if misused, and in order to avoid massive blank spaces the author has to write the whole table on a single line. I'd really prefer for a better solution. :(

Would your topic be suitable for a Wiki entry? That has table support built in. The other alternative is to use the CODE tag for a fixed-width font that you could draw a layout you like.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Tables BBCode?
PostPosted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 8:25 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 5:52 am
Posts: 128
Location: New Hampshire
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 7 times in 6 posts
I'll try those alternatives - thanks! And I understand. :-)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Tables BBCode?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 9:06 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10690
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 915 times in 871 posts
dbone had this issue too, I think he ended up just taking a screenshot of an spreadsheet table with the info...

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Tables BBCode?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 9:15 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 16, 2008 4:23 am
Posts: 3838
Location: Long Island, New York
Thanks: 94
Thanked: 243 times in 236 posts
yakuza wrote:
dbone had this issue too, I think he ended up just taking a screenshot of an spreadsheet table with the info...


Correct, I tried everything I could find and it just didn't work properly, so I used excel to create my table and then printed the table to a jpg file to insert in this post. Not the prettiest but as long as you keep the excel file you can always go back and edit.

_________________
Cheers,
Damian

DIY WHS - 12.5TB and growing, too many gadgets to list

Did you read the MediaSmartServer blog today?
Blog - http://www.adigitalhomeblog.com
"Like a midget at a urinal, stay on your toes!" - Lieutenant Frank Drebin


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Tables BBCode?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 10:45 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 5:52 am
Posts: 128
Location: New Hampshire
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 7 times in 6 posts
Great, thanks! I work with numbers a lot and "think" in tables sometimes. I like the screenshot method the best of the alternatives so far. I'll work on my post with that. Thanks!
-David


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group