MediaSmartServer.net
http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/

HP HomeServer Tab has hijacked RN tab
http://www.mediasmartserver.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=11541
Page 1 of 2

Author:  CBick [ Wed Nov 02, 2011 7:00 pm ]
Post subject:  HP HomeServer Tab has hijacked RN tab

Crazy thing, just started happening.

While trying to open the WHS console there was an issue with the Home Server dll.

I was given the option of clicking RETRY or SKIP

I clicked retry and, after a few more attempts the console finaly opened.

The strange thing is, the HP Home Server tab was no longer in 1st position. It had hijacked the RN location & there was no longer a RN tab.

I tried uninstalling the RN add-in thinking that I would reinstall it and, all would be good.

Now the console will no longer open period. Trying to open it results in an option to retry or skip, followed by 3 blank blue screen consoles and, then an option to retry or skip again.

This cycle repeats over and over with the console never opening.

Any suggestions short of a recovery?

Author:  msawyer91 [ Wed Nov 02, 2011 7:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HP HomeServer Tab has hijacked RN tab

I would look in the Application and Home Server event logs and see if any of the add-ins are throwing unhandled exceptions. Microsoft .NET is usually pretty good about posting .NET runtime exceptions to the log. That might shed some light on which add-ins or other components are failing, thus preventing the console from opening. When I was building the Home Server SMART add-in, my early development days raised that very problem constantly, telling me there was plenty of debugging work for me to do!

Author:  CBick [ Wed Nov 02, 2011 8:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HP HomeServer Tab has hijacked RN tab

Attachment:
Logs.zip [1.1 MiB]
Downloaded 597 times


Sorry, Don't know much about reading logs.

Author:  yakuza [ Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HP HomeServer Tab has hijacked RN tab

I rarely find the event viewer logs useful, in this case you want the most recently modified HomeServerConsole*.log file located on the server in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Microsoft\Windows Home Server\logs.

Author:  CBick [ Thu Nov 03, 2011 6:46 am ]
Post subject:  Re: HP HomeServer Tab has hijacked RN tab

Attachment:
New Logs.zip [29.55 KiB]
Downloaded 607 times



Thanks for looking.

Author:  yakuza [ Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:50 am ]
Post subject:  Re: HP HomeServer Tab has hijacked RN tab

What add-in did you install or upgrade prior to this happening? It looks like Remote Notification is having a conflict with another Add-In, usually I see this with older version of Lights Out but it could be something new.

Edit: Did you add or remove Add-In Central? Do you have a file here: C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft_Corporation\homeserverconsole.exe_StrongName_dnqnaa5144bqpx0xhiarzgg0chuygfkm\6.0.0.0\user.config

If so, what are the contents of the file?

Author:  msawyer91 [ Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HP HomeServer Tab has hijacked RN tab

yakuza wrote:
Edit: Did you add or remove Add-In Central? Do you have a file here: C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft_Corporation\homeserverconsole.exe_StrongName_dnqnaa5144bqpx0xhiarzgg0chuygfkm\6.0.0.0\user.config

The folks at Home Server Land are no longer supporting Add-In Central. That's a shame, because I thought it was a terrific add-in. My recommendation would be to take it out, and that takes one more variable out of the equation.

I have Grid Junction 1.6 installed, as well as RN 1.5.2.2. I also have RemoteAlert 1.5 installed, which is made by Kentdome--same developer as Grid Junction. Not sure this would matter, but if there have been conflicts between GJ and RN, maybe Kentdome has some common DLLs.

I don't know if that will provide any help, but that is from a working configuration on my EX490.

Here's my user.config file -- if yours is injured you should be able to use this to reconstruct yours:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<configuration>
    <configSections>
        <sectionGroup name="userSettings" type="System.Configuration.UserSettingsGroup, System, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089" >
            <section name="Microsoft.HomeServer.HomeServerConsoleTab.Add_in_Central.Properties.Settings" type="System.Configuration.ClientSettingsSection, System, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089" allowExeDefinition="MachineToLocalUser" requirePermission="false" />
        </sectionGroup>
    </configSections>
    <userSettings>
        <Microsoft.HomeServer.HomeServerConsoleTab.Add_in_Central.Properties.Settings>
            <setting name="DoNotShow_NoNewAddinsInfo" serializeAs="String">
                <value>True</value>
            </setting>
        </Microsoft.HomeServer.HomeServerConsoleTab.Add_in_Central.Properties.Settings>
    </userSettings>
</configuration>


Matt

Author:  yakuza [ Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HP HomeServer Tab has hijacked RN tab

Oops, I meant a conflict with Lights Out, not Grid Junction. I've updated my previous post.

Author:  CBick [ Thu Nov 03, 2011 8:53 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HP HomeServer Tab has hijacked RN tab

Matt, Alex,


Yes, I did uninstall Add-In Central when the author discontinued support.

To be honest I hadn't really been meeting around with the server latley.

Yes, I did notice that the console was hanging from time to time but, did not notice the tab issue until yesterday.

I'm out of town on business and will be back in town Saturday.

Thanks for looking into this for me.

Author:  yakuza [ Thu Nov 03, 2011 9:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HP HomeServer Tab has hijacked RN tab

So uninstalling Add-In Central wasn't recent? There's a range of errors in that log, not all RN related, and varied enough that I'm suspicious you may have a failing drive or some other corruption going on. Or it could just be that config file I mention above got damaged. Let us know what you find.

Author:  CBick [ Sat Nov 05, 2011 4:29 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HP HomeServer Tab has hijacked RN tab

Attachment:
user.zip [130 Bytes]
Downloaded 605 times


Here is the file.

I don't know how to open it.

Author:  yakuza [ Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HP HomeServer Tab has hijacked RN tab

Looks corrupted to me, I'd back it up and create a new file with notepad and paste in what Matt shared above.

Author:  msawyer91 [ Sat Nov 05, 2011 7:00 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HP HomeServer Tab has hijacked RN tab

yakuza wrote:
Looks corrupted to me, I'd back it up and create a new file with notepad and paste in what Matt shared above.

Yikes! That file was toast! I wonder how the hell that happened. It's supposed to be nicely-formed XML, but that was just...I don't know what. Maybe a bad sector invaded that file's home.

Author:  CBick [ Wed Nov 09, 2011 5:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HP HomeServer Tab has hijacked RN tab

Replacing the file does not seem to have helped.

You may be right about the failing hard drive because, The Stable Bit Scanner add-in is now reporting a bad disk error with 86 bad sectors.

Thats all I could read without being able to open the console.

I guess I'll replace the hard drive and try a server restore this weekend.


Thanks for your help

Author:  yakuza [ Fri Nov 11, 2011 2:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: HP HomeServer Tab has hijacked RN tab

You should send the Console log again, see if it has new errors.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/