It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:41 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 7:00 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
Crazy thing, just started happening.

While trying to open the WHS console there was an issue with the Home Server dll.

I was given the option of clicking RETRY or SKIP

I clicked retry and, after a few more attempts the console finaly opened.

The strange thing is, the HP Home Server tab was no longer in 1st position. It had hijacked the RN location & there was no longer a RN tab.

I tried uninstalling the RN add-in thinking that I would reinstall it and, all would be good.

Now the console will no longer open period. Trying to open it results in an option to retry or skip, followed by 3 blank blue screen consoles and, then an option to retry or skip again.

This cycle repeats over and over with the console never opening.

Any suggestions short of a recovery?

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Last edited by CBick on Wed Nov 02, 2011 8:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 7:34 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Thanks: 73
Thanked: 144 times in 105 posts
I would look in the Application and Home Server event logs and see if any of the add-ins are throwing unhandled exceptions. Microsoft .NET is usually pretty good about posting .NET runtime exceptions to the log. That might shed some light on which add-ins or other components are failing, thus preventing the console from opening. When I was building the Home Server SMART add-in, my early development days raised that very problem constantly, telling me there was plenty of debugging work for me to do!

_________________
Matt Sawyer
Owner, Dojo North Software, LLC

HP EX490, 4GB, E5300, 15TB - Server 2012 - Sharing and Streaming
HP EX487, 4GB, E5300, 13TB - Server 2012 Essentials - Backups


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 8:50 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
Attachment:
Logs.zip [1.1 MiB]
Downloaded 415 times


Sorry, Don't know much about reading logs.

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:32 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10681
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 912 times in 868 posts
I rarely find the event viewer logs useful, in this case you want the most recently modified HomeServerConsole*.log file located on the server in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Microsoft\Windows Home Server\logs.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 6:46 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
Attachment:
New Logs.zip [29.55 KiB]
Downloaded 422 times



Thanks for looking.

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 10:50 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10681
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 912 times in 868 posts
What add-in did you install or upgrade prior to this happening? It looks like Remote Notification is having a conflict with another Add-In, usually I see this with older version of Lights Out but it could be something new.

Edit: Did you add or remove Add-In Central? Do you have a file here: C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft_Corporation\homeserverconsole.exe_StrongName_dnqnaa5144bqpx0xhiarzgg0chuygfkm\6.0.0.0\user.config

If so, what are the contents of the file?

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:34 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Thanks: 73
Thanked: 144 times in 105 posts
yakuza wrote:
Edit: Did you add or remove Add-In Central? Do you have a file here: C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft_Corporation\homeserverconsole.exe_StrongName_dnqnaa5144bqpx0xhiarzgg0chuygfkm\6.0.0.0\user.config

The folks at Home Server Land are no longer supporting Add-In Central. That's a shame, because I thought it was a terrific add-in. My recommendation would be to take it out, and that takes one more variable out of the equation.

I have Grid Junction 1.6 installed, as well as RN 1.5.2.2. I also have RemoteAlert 1.5 installed, which is made by Kentdome--same developer as Grid Junction. Not sure this would matter, but if there have been conflicts between GJ and RN, maybe Kentdome has some common DLLs.

I don't know if that will provide any help, but that is from a working configuration on my EX490.

Here's my user.config file -- if yours is injured you should be able to use this to reconstruct yours:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<configuration>
    <configSections>
        <sectionGroup name="userSettings" type="System.Configuration.UserSettingsGroup, System, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089" >
            <section name="Microsoft.HomeServer.HomeServerConsoleTab.Add_in_Central.Properties.Settings" type="System.Configuration.ClientSettingsSection, System, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=b77a5c561934e089" allowExeDefinition="MachineToLocalUser" requirePermission="false" />
        </sectionGroup>
    </configSections>
    <userSettings>
        <Microsoft.HomeServer.HomeServerConsoleTab.Add_in_Central.Properties.Settings>
            <setting name="DoNotShow_NoNewAddinsInfo" serializeAs="String">
                <value>True</value>
            </setting>
        </Microsoft.HomeServer.HomeServerConsoleTab.Add_in_Central.Properties.Settings>
    </userSettings>
</configuration>


Matt

_________________
Matt Sawyer
Owner, Dojo North Software, LLC

HP EX490, 4GB, E5300, 15TB - Server 2012 - Sharing and Streaming
HP EX487, 4GB, E5300, 13TB - Server 2012 Essentials - Backups


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:52 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10681
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 912 times in 868 posts
Oops, I meant a conflict with Lights Out, not Grid Junction. I've updated my previous post.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 8:53 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
Matt, Alex,


Yes, I did uninstall Add-In Central when the author discontinued support.

To be honest I hadn't really been meeting around with the server latley.

Yes, I did notice that the console was hanging from time to time but, did not notice the tab issue until yesterday.

I'm out of town on business and will be back in town Saturday.

Thanks for looking into this for me.

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 9:31 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10681
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 912 times in 868 posts
So uninstalling Add-In Central wasn't recent? There's a range of errors in that log, not all RN related, and varied enough that I'm suspicious you may have a failing drive or some other corruption going on. Or it could just be that config file I mention above got damaged. Let us know what you find.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 4:29 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
Attachment:
user.zip [130 Bytes]
Downloaded 424 times


Here is the file.

I don't know how to open it.

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:09 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10681
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 912 times in 868 posts
Looks corrupted to me, I'd back it up and create a new file with notepad and paste in what Matt shared above.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 7:00 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 625
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Thanks: 73
Thanked: 144 times in 105 posts
yakuza wrote:
Looks corrupted to me, I'd back it up and create a new file with notepad and paste in what Matt shared above.

Yikes! That file was toast! I wonder how the hell that happened. It's supposed to be nicely-formed XML, but that was just...I don't know what. Maybe a bad sector invaded that file's home.

_________________
Matt Sawyer
Owner, Dojo North Software, LLC

HP EX490, 4GB, E5300, 15TB - Server 2012 - Sharing and Streaming
HP EX487, 4GB, E5300, 13TB - Server 2012 Essentials - Backups


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 5:03 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
Replacing the file does not seem to have helped.

You may be right about the failing hard drive because, The Stable Bit Scanner add-in is now reporting a bad disk error with 86 bad sectors.

Thats all I could read without being able to open the console.

I guess I'll replace the hard drive and try a server restore this weekend.


Thanks for your help

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 2:39 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10681
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 912 times in 868 posts
You should send the Console log again, see if it has new errors.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group