It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:31 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:42 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10680
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 911 times in 867 posts
I'm pleased to announce the release of version Remote Notification 1.5.0.4. This update delivers functionality that allows your server to post Windows Home Server health notifications to a Twitter feed, either as status updates or as direct messages to another Twitter user.

Here is a list of all changes in the release:

* Add Twitter recipient type that supports both Twitter status updates as well as direct (private) messages
* Explicitly set text color in HTML email reports so they render properly on OLED smart phones that invert colors to save battery power (thanks Jeff Z.)
* Minor changes to improve error handling and logging

You can read more and download the latest version here.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:46 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:22 pm
Posts: 149
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 14 times in 13 posts
This may just be me, Alex but on your web page there is this great big button to download the latest version that even with my bad eyes I can see very easy. However just off screen (with my default window size) is this little box that needs to be checked "I accept the End User License Agreement" Given time I always find it again. But only after I've pressed the button a few times. You might think about moving that check box directly under the button, to improve the user experience as they say. Then again it might just be a dummy test/filter :)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:56 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10680
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 911 times in 867 posts
Interesting, can you share a screenshot?

Edit: I do know that the download button is ginormous in Internet Explorer, it looks much nicer in Firefox and Chrome.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:10 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:22 pm
Posts: 149
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 14 times in 13 posts
If I went full screen, or simply increased the size of my window it wouldn't matter, just thinking there might be a few other folks out there with settings similar to mine. Who when they click on the button and nothing happens start thinking its an issue with their computer :oops:


Attachments:
remote.png
remote.png [ 936.66 KiB | Viewed 8194 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Daveed for this post
jam3ohio
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:26 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10680
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 911 times in 867 posts
I see, the orange button being displayed on the Download page is causing confusion, I thought you meant the actual Download button with the checkbox that is below the fold in your screenshot. I'll have to see if Wordpress lets me hide a widget on a specific page. Thanks for the feedback.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 4:06 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 8:46 pm
Posts: 828
Location: Texas
Thanks: 13
Thanked: 51 times in 49 posts
Great update! It is working flawlessly. :mss:

P.S. I have already laid claim to the username HPDATAVAULT \:D/

_________________
Chris Bickerstaff
HP MSS DataVault X510
Core 2 Quad Core Q9550s
4GB Mushkin Ram
TR4MB eSata Enclosure
TR4UB USB Enclosure
Netgear WNDR3700
UPS APC 1500 XS LCD


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 8:22 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 2:00 am
Posts: 96
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
Hi Alex.

You update doesn't show in Add-in Central.

Should it ??

Does the Add-In Central need updating ??

Or is Add-In Central defunct ??

TIA.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 8:55 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10680
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 911 times in 867 posts
CBers wrote:
Hi Alex.

You update doesn't show in Add-in Central.

Should it ??

Does the Add-In Central need updating ??

Or is Add-In Central defunct ??

TIA.


I've contacted the maintainer of Add-In Central a couple days ago and he promised to get it added, but I think he's backed up on other projects at the moment. Hopefully that update occurs soon. In the mean time feel free to download directly from http://www.remotenotification.com ! :)

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:03 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 2:00 am
Posts: 96
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
yakuza wrote:
I've contacted the maintainer of Add-In Central a couple days ago and he promised to get it added, but I think he's backed up on other projects at the moment. Hopefully that update occurs soon. In the mean time feel free to download directly from http://www.remotenotification.com ! :)


I have just done that 8)

Will give it a go :)


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 7:51 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2008 2:00 am
Posts: 96
Thanks: 5
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
Hi Alex.

I installed it yesterday, and set up the email messaging, but no reports this morning.

I then noticed that there was a reports option - should I have set this up instead ??

What's the difference between the email and report notifications please ??

Can I force the reports to run now somehow, there doesn't seem to be an option ??

TIA.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 9:20 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10680
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 911 times in 867 posts
Yes, if you want the Daily Report to show up you need to configure a Report Recipient. There is a brief description of each type under the dropdown, and the documentation goes into greater detail.
http://www.remotenotification.com/docum ... ecipients/

I suggest you check that out as well as the tutorials and Quick Start guide.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:16 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:09 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Hi, I really love the Remote Notification 1.5.0.4 add-in!

Unfortunately though I get a failed service everytime I boot.

Event ID: 7022
"The Remote Notification Service service hung on starting."

The service eventually starts, but the failed service beep and notification is annoying.
Any ideas?
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 9:40 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10680
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 911 times in 867 posts
Hi Squuiid, I've not experienced this behavior. If you don't mind, please enable debug logging on the Advanced tab in the Settings, reboot the server, and then email me (yakuza AT mediasmartserver DOT net) the RemoteNotification*.log files. They reside on the server in C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Microsoft\Windows Home Server\logs.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank yakuza for this post
Squuiid
PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 11:43 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 8:09 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Sent ;)
Thanks for taking a look!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:53 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Sat Mar 20, 2010 10:44 am
Posts: 32
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Great update, love the exclude filter and the import of previous settings, problem the easiest most painless upgrade I've ever done for anything! :)

Thanks! :whs:


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group