It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 6:56 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 401 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 27  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:15 pm 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 6:26 am
Posts: 18
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Cougar wrote:
I now have a repeatable install; and we have resolved Alex's earlier error so that we can move quite quickly to get Part 2 of the how to documented, next stage will be automating this through an Add-In which we are working on.

I share Alex's view that we don't want to hack code for this install; so we have tried to make this as clean as possible, and not used any of HP's code (outside of the actual 2.5 update) to get this working.

I've been quite pleased with the results of the Transcoder, and just for kicks have run this on a 512MB system and it didn't really struggle. Outstanding is still the lack of status lights; but maybe we can sort that out.


Excellent work, you must have really put a lot of work into that as it daunted me just thinking about it.

I knew it was possible but also knew it would take a lot of work to make something repeatable.

If you guys need any help editing or making new conf files or anything let me know.

I must thank everyone that has worked on this as it has kept me busy for the past fiew days and I have had great fun prodding and poking the little beastie.

long live the ex47x !!!!!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 4:47 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10651
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 610
Thanked: 909 times in 866 posts
Diehard wrote:
Moderators,

Would you suggest uninstalling the older MSS-1.3 updates for a cleaner install ?


No, you need the PVConnect (twonky) for the 2.5 install.

jumran wrote:
From what I have read in the forums, status light is controlled by HPHealthMon, HPDiskMon and HPNetMon services. Could we not copy these services and associated files/settings from EX47X series servers running current software version?


This is correct, the problem is the driver and services have changed between the 47 and the 48 and so we'll likely need some kind of wrapper. I'm not sure what need to be done there yet, but TBH the lights are low on the priority list until everything else is working well.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2009 9:47 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2009 6:40 am
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
One problem I've run into since upgrading to 2.5 is trying to re-install my certificate authority. I don't know whether it's caused by a faulty install or something I did during the upgrade. I did verify under "Add/Remove Programs" the Certificate Service is not installed and it's not running in my services. Should this have installed during a restore? Probably, worth mentioning I complete all of the EX470 Updates before moving to 2.5!


Attachments:
error.png
error.png [ 5.16 KiB | Viewed 2468 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 12:11 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 11:10 pm
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I can't seem to get the Mac time machine client to work. It appears to install fine on a Macbook Pro running 10.5.6. After the control center launches I am able to enter my server name and admin password. The client software says it is authenticated, but when I hit apply nothing happens. When I click on the Backup tab nothing happens. (i.e. it does not change from the initial page).

I have uninstallled and reinstalled, but still get the same result.

Any suggestions?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 2:57 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10651
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 610
Thanked: 909 times in 866 posts
PoloToby wrote:
I actually updated with the 4/23/09 build. However, it might not be a bad idea to extract both and run UltraCompare to see what changed.


I compared them with MSIDiff, the file sizes are the same but the checksums are different. I found that almost everything was the same except for the revision, the only difference I saw was that oem_x64.msi is different in filesize.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank yakuza for this post
mentor561
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 3:33 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 2:56 am
Posts: 14
Location: Ireland
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
hi all

i am from ireland and came accross your site through google when i was looking to sort a problem with my mediasmart server


i have managed to get my server udated to 2.5 - using the information on these pages, great work every one hopefully it wont be long before we get it fully sorted - but now my client windows 7 is very slow to login in to the server and comes up with an error about a plugin that was recently installed - hpsu.dll but when i click on the retry button it will go in eventually this also happens when opening the console on the server

i have tried to repeat the 2.5 server install but can not get it installed again giving me the error that hpmss 2.1 needs to be installed

the screenshot below from polotobys post on page 3 is this run from the server or the client

is it safe running the home server console on the server or should it be run on the client


Attachments:
sanencore.jpg
sanencore.jpg [ 136.08 KiB | Viewed 2425 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 7:31 am 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
Hi.. welcome to the forums, and glad youve found them useful.

Quote:
i have managed to get my server udated to 2.5 - using the information on these pages, great work every one hopefully it wont be long before we get it fully sorted - but now my client windows 7 is very slow to login in to the server and comes up with an error about a plugin that was recently installed - hpsu.dll but when i click on the retry button it will go in eventually this also happens when opening the console on the server


I've seen that error a couple of times, and have hit retry and its been fine since. Thats a couple of times out of a few hundred over the last couple of days though

Quote:
i have tried to repeat the 2.5 server install but can not get it installed again giving me the error that hpmss 2.1 needs to be installed

Which method are you using to bypass the 2.5 check? We will update the Add-In soon to make it easier.

Quote:
the screenshot below from polotobys post on page 3 is this run from the server or the client
is it safe running the home server console on the server or should it be run on the client


That looks like my screenshot; and I run it from both quite happily.

_________________
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.
Help support MediaSmartServer.Net!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Cougar for this post
Raptor1
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:04 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 651
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 73 times in 68 posts
Raptor1,
error about a plugin that was recently installed - hpsu.dll

I got this, some stuff changes during the install. Remote into the server and go to C:\Program Files\Windows Home Server folder and delete the HomeServerConsoleTab.HSPU.dll

The console is trying to load that OLD tab, but it has changed and therefore no longer exists so it stalls, but if you click on skip,it continues.

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:12 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 2:56 am
Posts: 14
Location: Ireland
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Quote:
Which method are you using to bypass the 2.5 check? We will update the Add-In soon to make it easier


i used the following two -

staples wrote:
I actually used in update exe to do the install. It is still kind of hokie. but here is how I did it.

Ran the install CMD with a mst to disable the check for the server rev.
install.cmd
copy c:\windows\notepad.exe "c:\Program Files\Windows Home Server\WHSConsoleExit.exe"
md "D:\HPMSSBACKUP\HPMSS-2.5"
md "D:\folders\HPMSS-2.5"
msiexec /i "HP MediaSmart Server 2.5 Update.msi" transforms=1.mst /qb /l*V 1.log

Let it install (I just killed the whsconsoleexit.exe whenever it came up in taskmgr).

Install was complete but still no console 2.5.

Ran Office cleanup tool (frontend to msizap) to kill the windows install information.

Ran install.cmd

Ran the console on the server and got warning about two tabs. removed tabs by rename the files in c:\program files\windows home server.

Then I was able to get console 2.5 up and going.


when the installer starts to run a blank notepad file appears and when i close it the installer fails - what am i supposed to do with this blank notepad files that pops up

when i end the whsconsoleexit.exe in taskmanager the installer quits with error that hpmss 2.1 needs to be installed

and

yakuza wrote:
I did some digging into the 2.5 software and have an initial version of an add-in that should help make the install process a bit simpler so that not so many manual steps are required of the user. Note that this is a work in progress, and does not yet work completely! As we get farther along in this project I plan to keep updating the add-in so that hopefully we can eventually have a very simple, mostly automated update process.

Here's the current install steps:
1. Install software dependencies (Java 6, Tomcat 6, and ImageMagick). See earlier threads in this post to find the locations where these need to be installed.
2. Install the SanEncore Add-In (attached below)
3. Download the Software Update .exe file linked in the first post of this topic.
4. Place the Software Update .exe file in the Software share of your server
5. Open the Server Console to the HP tab, and select "Check for updates". No updates should be found, but leave this window open.
6. Select "Search"
7. Choose "Select File" and browse to the .exe in the Software share
8. Click Finish
9. The update should begin installing. If this last step fails to execute installer, try doing the familiar "Unblock" step needed on some downloaded files by using Remote Desktop to access the server, right-click the .exe file, and select Properties, then Unblock.

Unfortunately the install fails running one of the PostInstall script, which leaves the update half-installed on the server. Hopefully this is a small sign of progress on a more general solution, I welcome input from others who may know what causes the post install script failure, but it's too late for me to work more tonight.


but on yakuzas post in step 6 i dont get the search option as every time i check for updates i get the cannot connect to the hp mediasmart server web server at this time

thanks for the reply and i hope you can help me further

regards
raptor1


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 8:58 am 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10651
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 610
Thanked: 909 times in 866 posts
I've noticed my 487 says "Cannot connect" but the 470 can connect and get the Search window, I think it's due to the package name change on HP update...

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 11:21 am 
Offline
.5TB storage
.5TB storage

Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 2:56 am
Posts: 14
Location: Ireland
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
in staples post the following line gives me an error about the 1.mst files been missing

msiexec /i "HP MediaSmart Server 2.5 Update.msi" transforms=1.mst /qb /l*V 1.log

where do i find this 1.mst file or how do i create one

thanks
Raptor1


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 3:45 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 6:33 pm
Posts: 50
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I didn't see this mentioned anywhere, do I have to uninstall any add-ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:32 pm 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
I can't see any reason to uninstall any add-ins as long as they don't conflict with anything 2.5 is trying to do. I'm testing clean systems though.

_________________
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.
Help support MediaSmartServer.Net!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 4:37 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 6:33 pm
Posts: 50
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I asked because I found out AFTER installing IE8 that the Advanced Admin Console no longers works, Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:06 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 8:00 pm
Posts: 6
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Diehard wrote:
WHAT'S UP ? IS IT JUST ME ?

HP changed the link from;
http://ftp.hp.com/pub/softlib/software1 ... Update.exe
MS251026972ServerUpdate.exe build date 04/09/09
To;
ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softlib/software10 ... Update.exe
MS251027311ServerUpdate.exe build date 04/23/09

went from 6972 to 7311


first link is not working for me and the second one times out. does anybody have another source, thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 401 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 ... 27  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group