It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:13 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 401 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 27  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:06 am 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
Part 1 - Extracting just the Add-Ins

Hi all,

Now that people have released the ftp link for the 2.5 upgrade; we can now pull out the add-ins you are all hankering after. Reverse engineering the 2.5 code has taken a little while, and I've nearly got that figured out and will post a guide on what to do once I have it all working fully, and I can repeat it! I am missing the status lights; and I don't think they will come back but everything else appears to be fully functional.

Obviously; this isn't endorsed by HP, recommended by anyone and may stop your machine from getting future updates from HP. So tread carefully, and if you are not sure about following this, then don't. Follow at your own risk.

Before you start, you'll need to uninstall the existing twonky add-in.

1. FTP the download link (check here)
2. Run the downloaded executable
3. Don't click any button on the installer, but in explorer browse to %temp% and look for a folder created when you launched the installer. In there you will find the desired MSI file.
4. Copy that MSI file to another location.
5. Open up a command prompt and navigate to where you saved the file.
6. run MSIEXEC /A "HP MediaSmart Server 2.5 Update.msi" TARGETDIR=c:\encore /qb
7. Browse to C:\encore\folders\HPMSS-2.5\D\shares\Software and you will see the add-ins folder and a mac folder. Just copy the contents of the add-ins folder to \\hpserver\software\add-ins and you can then install both the S3 backup addin and also the updated twonky.
8. Once you have installed the Twonky Add-In, there is a vbscript that resides in the c:\twonkymedia folder on the server called install.vbs; so you need to RDP onto the server and run a command prompt and then run CSCRIPT c:\twonkymedia\install.vbs

That should get you going.

I have no idea what you do with the MAC stuff; someone can explain that as I haven't a clue.

Part 2 - Upgrading the EX47x to Version 2.5

Detailed instructions for installing the full HP MediaSmart Server 2.5 software update has now been posted onto the Wiki.

_________________
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.
Help support MediaSmartServer.Net!


Last edited by Cougar on Fri May 01, 2009 12:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.
put the server link in, rather than the post link.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Cougar for this post
Fussoir, GhostWorks, jumran, jwfisher, Kiwi, landmark, maximus, qbjack, revengineer, Sam Wood, shawn149, staples, Tenshi, visualunderground, yakuza

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:30 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2009 8:52 am
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked: 5 times in 3 posts
Thank Cougar...:mss:

Here is how to get the client running.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4120


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank staples for this post
Cougar, yakuza
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 9:36 am 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
Thanks. Hopefully the server side will be completed pretty soon; it's a slow process rebuilding the server each time but I don't think its that far away.

_________________
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.
Help support MediaSmartServer.Net!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:33 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1099
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
Cougar when you run the executable are you running it on your local machine or the server? when you install the twonky add in did you get any errors of currupt data? I installed it last night and got it to work but on the PS3 I got message of data being currupt. I also didnt get pvconnect tab in my console. but I never got to this step:

CSCRIPT c:\twonkmedia\install.vbs

I also couldnt get the iPhone app to see anything Im assuming there is more to that part then just the twonky install


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:42 am 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
I ran mine on the server; just to keep things in one place.

The script is pretty key as it starts the services and runs pvinit. Not sure on the iphone app; but I'd assume it needs the media stuff which isn't in the add-in. thats just conjecture for now; as I don't have an iphone to test out the San-Encore build.

_________________
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.
Help support MediaSmartServer.Net!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 2:17 pm 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
Other than the missing lights, I am now running through each new feature to see if its all Ok.

Screenshot shows the system running 2.5 on an AMD box.


Attachments:
sanencore.jpg
sanencore.jpg [ 136.08 KiB | Viewed 28298 times ]

_________________
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.
Help support MediaSmartServer.Net!
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank Cougar for this post
dianebrat, qbjack
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:40 pm 
Offline
MVP/Moderator
MVP/Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 8:21 am
Posts: 4725
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Thanks: 77
Thanked: 273 times in 268 posts
HP has released a statement about all this to WeGotServed:
http://www.wegotserved.co.uk/

Note the discussion going on at the bottom of the article..!

_________________
....JBick

EX475, 2 GB, LE-1640
PC1: Vista-->W7 Ultimate/32, (D-Drive RAID-5 Array)
PC2: Lenovo Laptop, Win XP Home SP3
2xLinksys WRT54G v1.1 and 2xNetGear GS105 Gbit switch


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 7:25 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 4:17 pm
Posts: 1099
Location: Roseville, California
Thanks: 10
Thanked: 22 times in 21 posts
I followed all the instructions and I still get 15 sec or so of video then " the data is currupted" message from the new twonky on the PS3. Cougar have you noticed this?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 8:33 pm 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 76 times in 71 posts
I got the Arcsoft Transcoder to install, it's in the c:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\HP MediaSmart Server\Arcsoft folder. Double click to install. Now I have to figure out how to run the service. :-k

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:43 am 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
T-Bone wrote:
I followed all the instructions and I still get 15 sec or so of video then " the data is currupted" message from the new twonky on the PS3. Cougar have you noticed this?


No; but then I haven't got a PS3. I've watched a few films via the XBOX though and they have been OK.

_________________
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.
Help support MediaSmartServer.Net!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 1:50 am 
Offline
Uber Moderator
Uber Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:29 am
Posts: 1736
Location: Brighton, England
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 202 times in 152 posts
JohnBick wrote:
HP has released a statement about all this to WeGotServed:
http://www.wegotserved.co.uk/

Note the discussion going on at the bottom of the article..!


Considering where I am now with this project; that article is IMHO a pack of lies. The hardware is fine to run the software, maybe the Transcoder isn't so good on 512MB but I hardly see that's something they couldn't take out of a release easily enough. The rest of the software is running fine, and my server inst struggling at all. They mention software architecture changes, sure, there are some open source installs delivered with encore we don't have with the San Juan box but that's not exactly hard to deal with in an installer. The only area they would need to change is the HPServerMonitor services. These are written for the Encore hardware, but I'm sure it's a very quick job to port over.

I was disappointed with HP's stance on the 1st Generation boxes, that statement just makes me feel even more jaded.

_________________
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.
Help support MediaSmartServer.Net!


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:12 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 6:06 am
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Not sure if I missed a step or what...

But the name of the MSI file that I ended up with does not have the word update in it, and after expanding it my directory paths are not the same, I dont get an HPMS directory... Any thoughts?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:17 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 37
Location: Germany
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Cougar wrote:
1. FTP the download link (check here)
2. Run the downloaded executable
3. Don't click any button on the installer, but in explorer browse to %temp% and look for a folder created when you launched the installer. In there you will find the desired MSI file.
4. Copy that MSI file to another location.
5. Open up a command prompt and navigate to where you saved the file.
6. run MSIEXEC /A "HP MediaSmart Server 2.5 Update.msi" TARGETDIR=c:\encore /qb
7. Browse to C:\encore\folders\HPMSS-2.5\D\shares\Software and you will see the add-ins folder and a mac folder. Just copy the contents of the add-ins folder to \\hpserver\software\add-ins and you can then install both the S3 backup addin and also the updated twonky.


Are you sure you got all those step in the right order?

The file you download is named "MS251026972ServerUpdate.exe"
After step 3 from above you get a file called "HP MediaSmart Server 2.5 Update.msi". This file you can extract by following step 6.

_________________
HP x510 Storage Works | Intel E5200 | 4GB RAM | 2x 2TB HDD | VGA cable | WHS 2011


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:44 am 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2009 8:13 am
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I am an EX470 owner. I'm an owner that anxiously awaited the release and dealt with delivery dates being pushed out. I am an early adopter. I was one of the first to buy a Spinpoint drive and worked with HP to help discover that those drives will force you to rebuild your server from scratch if you install one. What infuriates me most about not having access to 2.5 is that we "early adopters" don't even have an upgrade path to the new hardware even if we wanted one. We can't just take the drives out and put them in the new hardware. We're stuck. So, HP, even if we WANTED to BUY a piece of new hardware we'd have to rebuild our servers from scratch again and who wants to do that? Why can't you offer an OS upgrade? That way you could still get your hands on the money you are looking for all of us to fork out (because it's clearly not about customer support) and I won't have to add another piece of obsolete hardware to the pile?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
The following user would like to thank jacksonws for this post
DesertRat
PostPosted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:17 am 
Offline
Top Contributor
Top Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:04 pm
Posts: 677
Location: Montreal
Thanks: 27
Thanked: 76 times in 71 posts
Cougar wrote:
CSCRIPT c:\twonkmedia\install.vbs


Should be;
CSCRIPT c:\twonkymedia\install.vbs

forgot the y, why ?, because we can hack it :banana:

_________________
HP MediaSmart EX495 E8600 3.2Ghz CPU, 4GB ram, 8TB storage including 3TB drives in pool. WHS with Active Directory, WDS, Media Center Master, Logitech server. Office 2010 server with client add-ins.
Microsoft MVP - Windows Home Server.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 401 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 27  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group