It is currently Thu Jan 21, 2021 12:49 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 5:37 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:22 am
Posts: 190
Location: Rockledge, FL
Thanks: 31
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Is there a list of things to do to enable me to access the WHS console outside of the home?

I tried searching for this and had some success in finding posts but the icon is still grayed out. I do have my router port 3389 forwarded. I can get to my home page remotely, just not the console itself.

Thanks,

K

_________________
ASUSTOR AS6204T, 12 TB RAID-5 over three drive bays (3 * 4TB HGST drives), 2TB Fantom Esata backup drive

"In theory there's no difference between theory and practice, but in practice there is." [Attributed to L. P. "Yogi" Berra]


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 5:50 am 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:22 am
Posts: 190
Location: Rockledge, FL
Thanks: 31
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Well, I think I figured it out...kinda.

I have to logon first to the server (with a control other than the very left end icon) then try to invoke the WHS Console. Then, Windows at work wants me to confirm running an ActiveX control. I accept that. Then, I'm still blocked. So, I went to the IE\Internet Options\Security tab and try to add a "Trusted Site". But, with IE at work, that option is grayed out. So, no luck here.

We are anal-retentive about security here <g>.

K

_________________
ASUSTOR AS6204T, 12 TB RAID-5 over three drive bays (3 * 4TB HGST drives), 2TB Fantom Esata backup drive

"In theory there's no difference between theory and practice, but in practice there is." [Attributed to L. P. "Yogi" Berra]


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 10:57 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Thu Feb 11, 2010 9:01 am
Posts: 50
Thanks: 1
Thanked: 2 times in 2 posts
I was able to over remote desktop. However, you have to change your RDP changes to allow connections over the internet.

image courtesy of yakuza

download/file.php?id=2631&mode=view


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 2:54 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:22 am
Posts: 190
Location: Rockledge, FL
Thanks: 31
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Yep, been there done that. Forwarded in the router also. Although I did read one MS document that said that I didn't need to. This was "Technical Brief for Windows Home Server Remote Access".

As I said, we are somewhat anal-retentive about security at work to the point sometimes about getting in the way. It's to do with the guards with the M16s at the entry gates, I suppose <g>.

I guess I need to find somewhere else "not at work" to try it out at to prove my theory.

I did see however that RA was not enabled on the WHS side. I've done that now and will try again at work tomorrow. There should be a checklist for this stuff <g>.

K

_________________
ASUSTOR AS6204T, 12 TB RAID-5 over three drive bays (3 * 4TB HGST drives), 2TB Fantom Esata backup drive

"In theory there's no difference between theory and practice, but in practice there is." [Attributed to L. P. "Yogi" Berra]


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 4:59 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10720
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 626
Thanked: 923 times in 878 posts
Most likely your place of employment is blocking traffic. You can use Advanced Admin Console add-in to gain much of the remote desktop functionality via the Console, if that's what you are after. You would need to be able to access your server on port 4125 to accomplish this, however.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Jun 09, 2010 6:17 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:22 am
Posts: 190
Location: Rockledge, FL
Thanks: 31
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
Advanced Admin Console add-in huh. I'll have to check it out and see what it does. We never know what they block at work...it's all part of the secrecy. I'm not sure I can even get Remote Desktop out of this place.

My best bet is to "borrow" a neighbor's PC and try it, I suspect.

I'm going to try this at Panera with the laptop on the way home this afternoon (6/11).

K

_________________
ASUSTOR AS6204T, 12 TB RAID-5 over three drive bays (3 * 4TB HGST drives), 2TB Fantom Esata backup drive

"In theory there's no difference between theory and practice, but in practice there is." [Attributed to L. P. "Yogi" Berra]


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2010 2:11 pm 
Offline
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 8:22 am
Posts: 190
Location: Rockledge, FL
Thanks: 31
Thanked: 1 time in 1 post
I just checked remote login to the WHS Console at Panera's on the way home today and it works OK except for some "blocky" screen drawings due, I suppose, to the wireless speed.

I obviously can't get to home from work (either on our network or one of the contractors networks). Both are blocked.

BTW, this only worked in IE (due to ActiveX I suppose). I also had to add my site to IE Options\Security\Trusted Sites to get in. Then login first to my server, then I found a link by muddling around and eventually got the Console to come up. MS could have made the way into the Console a little more straightforward IMHO.

Regards,

K

_________________
ASUSTOR AS6204T, 12 TB RAID-5 over three drive bays (3 * 4TB HGST drives), 2TB Fantom Esata backup drive

"In theory there's no difference between theory and practice, but in practice there is." [Attributed to L. P. "Yogi" Berra]


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group