It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 11:51 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:

Post subject: Disk Defragg
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 8:25 pm 
Top Contributor
Top Contributor

What is the story behind disk defrag?
1/2 of what I read says that it is needed & the other 1/2 says that there is no benefit in it.

Should I get it?

If so wich one?

Also which addons are recomended for a newbie like me?

I have added
Avast, Advanced Admin Console, Auto Exit 2008, Client Info, Event Viewer, Led Light Show, Lights Out, MSS Fan Control, Tab Reorderer, Whiist, Whs Disk Managment.

Although I think that I will get very little use from most of them.

I am new to WHS. My day job has nothing to do with computers.
I use WHS only to store pictures and video & also for backups.
I have just started looking at other things that WHS might be good for.
(Maybe one of the new HP mediasmart connects)

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Forgive my spelling & grammer I only have a 3rd grade GED. :lol:

P.S. I have a stock 470 with 2T of internal storage & 500 GB external for WHS shares backup feature.

Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: Disk Defragg
PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 10:29 pm 
2.0TB storage
2.0TB storage

CBick, welcome to the forums. There are a great group of people here that will surely help you get going... In a few weeks you'll be the neighbourhood expert and will be helping friends and family setup their own MSS's. 8)

CBick wrote:
What is the story behind disk defrag?

Defrag is built into WHS and IF you ever get a notification that a drive needs to be 'repaired' the system will run defrag. Nothing for you to "get" as you already have it.

CBick wrote:
Also which addons are recomended for a newbie like me?

Well you have quite a list that you've already downloaded. I'm not sure I'd be that ambitious right outta the gate. Here's what I use,