It is currently Tue Dec 07, 2021 8:54 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 8  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2021 2:04 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:42 pm
Posts: 74
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Long list of updates. This time I noticed that the server did not reboot after the recovery was finished and I went to install the console on the PC. So I forced a reboot of the server. It has now completed the initialization process. This is the first time I was asked for server name and PW during the process. I now have all blue lights(including the drives). I will now connect the server back to the net work to receive the updates and see what happens next. I hope I am closer to being back on line.
Stay tuned


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2021 2:22 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:42 pm
Posts: 74
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
New update: I have the server connected to the network. All updates have been installed, I have added one account with full access, and the server shows that the laptop is set up in "computers and backup" tab. I feel like I have gone full circle. Now I need to load the connectivity SW on the Windows 10 machines so they can be backed up.

I will ask for your instructions on this, as I seem to making this more difficult than it should be.

And..................... All lights remain blue!

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 9:36 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1490
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 190 times in 188 posts
Well now that it has updated.
Just set the disc's aside,
From the win10 pc
Use your browser and type
hpserver:55000
If that is still the server name
or
open file manager and then open the software folder then open Home Server Connector Software
run setup

Note
In both cases you probably want to disable Norton till installed

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 1:22 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:42 pm
Posts: 74
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ruben, I did the following:
1. Removed both the Server and connect software from the window pc
2. Disabled Norton
3. The typed in "HPSERVER:55000" for the URL

I have attached the error message. I did verify the server name and the case used when I recovered the server the last time. I am sure that this has worked in the past, but not now. I tried to access the connect file directly from the server, but did not have the access rights. Is there a way to do this?

Hopefully I am getting closer. Is there a connect software available for windows 10 that I can load directly?

Thanks


Attachments:
Error using HPSERVER 55000.jpg
Error using HPSERVER 55000.jpg [ 100.39 KiB | Viewed 1349 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 1:40 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:42 pm
Posts: 74
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Here is the error message running the setup as an admin from the server.

Happy Sunday!


Attachments:
Error run from server using admin rights.jpg
Error run from server using admin rights.jpg [ 194.25 KiB | Viewed 1347 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2021 2:29 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1490
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 190 times in 188 posts
All I can think of are two possible items other than something is blocking your access.
Try a different browser.
Go back to the xp machine and enable the guest account

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2021 11:04 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:42 pm
Posts: 74
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I have created the Guest account from the XP machine and tried MS Edge in place of Google Chrome to access the Server using http:\\HPSERVER:55000 with no success(same error message as before). Just for fun I also tried to access the server from the XP machine via the URL and was not successful. Which surprised me. I guess that means that this access is not being allowed from the server. Nothing to do with the PC as the XP machine is already connected with the server.

I'll try power cycling the server to see if anything changes.

I am also running out of ideas. Is there any kind of diagnostics that I can run either on or with the server to confirm that it is healthy?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2021 11:23 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:42 pm
Posts: 74
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I just looked into the Tool kit 1.1 files and noticed that it shows "Checking if Remote Desktop proxy port is allowed by Windows Firewall......" This is under Home Server Connectivity heading.
FAIL: Remote Desktop proxy port is not allowed"

Can this cause the issue I am seeing? I do not have remote access enabled at this point as I have never seen a need for it.

Thanks,


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Oct 19, 2021 2:06 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:42 pm
Posts: 74
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Next update: I was able to remove/correct the "Checking if Remote Desktop proxy port is allowed by Windows Firewall......
FAIL: Remote Desktop proxy port is not allowed" message by enabling remote access. However, I still can not connect to the server using the 55000 URL.

I keep looking for an issue

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 8:58 am 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:29 am
Posts: 1490
Thanks: 6
Thanked: 190 times in 188 posts
Not sure if this will help but try a remote desktop connection.
This opens a window on your pc that shows the server as if it had a display connected.

Goto file explorer on the pc right click on hpserver.
Select Connect with Remote desktop connection

Login is administrator
Password Whatever your main password is you set.

You may get a not secure message but just ignore and allow

_________________
EX-490
WHS v1
VGA/PS2 Keyboard/PS2 Mouse/Serial debug board
Q9450s CPU
Stock Ram
ESATA Sansdigital Towerraid TR5M-B
Popcorn C-200
Popcorn A-200
Dune HD Connect
Rasberry PI OSMC(KODI)
ReadyNAS RN316
Amazon FireStick
Amazon ECHO
AnyDvD
MyMovies


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 10:03 am 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:42 pm
Posts: 74
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Ruben, I was able to connect remotely to the server from the windows10 machine. I was ale to open the software folder, but when I tried to execute the app(any of them) i received the same error message about access rights. To contact the administrator. This is same same message that I get when I use Explorer directly.

Is there a security access setting that I am missing? Either the server or the PC?

I would like to understand why the 55000 URL does not work. I did reboot the server, it did not make any difference. I was very glad to see that the server did reboot without any errors! That is progress.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 11:13 am 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:43 am
Posts: 32
Location: Leics, United Kingdom
Thanks: 8
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
The fact that the URL doesn't work on either your XP or Win10 computers suggests to me an issue with your router configuration. Does your server have a static IP address? Have you checked you're forwarding the necessary ports for that IP address, namely TCP Ports 80, 443 and 4125?

_________________
EX490
WHS v1
E5800
Stock Ram
HGST 1 x 2TB, 1 x 4TB, 2 x 8TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 3:05 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:42 pm
Posts: 74
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I learning more about the WHS than I ever intended, but here is where I am now. I have confirmed a static IP with the server. I also established the port forwarding for the server IP on the router. I have a Orbi RBR50 at the house. I hopefully followed the instructions to setup the ports as you suggested. The router accepted the "Adds" that I entered.

Here is my screen shot of what the "server?" is sending, or is this coming from the router?

Thanks


Attachments:
After static IP and port forwarding.jpeg
After static IP and port forwarding.jpeg [ 127.85 KiB | Viewed 1268 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 3:47 pm 
Offline
1TB storage
1TB storage

Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 5:43 am
Posts: 32
Location: Leics, United Kingdom
Thanks: 8
Thanked: 6 times in 6 posts
Have you retried the HPSERVER:55000 URL in a web browser now you've added those ports to your router?

I think the permissions problem on accessing files on the network share (as in your screenshot) is a separate issue, just thought I'd see if I could help solve the URL problem first.

_________________
EX490
WHS v1
E5800
Stock Ram
HGST 1 x 2TB, 1 x 4TB, 2 x 8TB


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Wed Oct 20, 2021 5:45 pm 
Offline
1.5TB storage
1.5TB storage

Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2020 1:42 pm
Posts: 74
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I did manage to add the tool kit to the server and ran the connectivity test. It passed all tests. So the server is happy with the network connectivity. I will keep trying additional changes to try and determine what is blocking access.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 107 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 ... 8  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group