It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:10 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 2:53 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 12:07 pm
Posts: 255
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 4 times in 4 posts
Hello all. In the past I have had issues with WHS and I reacted with some level of abrasiveness towards MS and their engineers. Now I really hope in this 2nd generation product we can forget about our past issues and move forward with a next generation product. Now that having been said is there a pathway for us to use 3TB drives in WHS Vail?

I'd love to try the beta, I would like to discuss on another thread what sort of recommendations people have for a MB and hardware if we were to build a future looking system for Vail.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 3:02 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:14 am
Posts: 1540
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 117 times in 100 posts
MS has stated on the MS forums that they've successfully tested Vail with 3TB drives and 8TB raid arrays.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 10:02 pm 
Offline
2.5TB storage
2.5TB storage

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 12:07 pm
Posts: 255
Thanks: 4
Thanked: 4 times in 4 posts
But don't we need an MB with EFI?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 10:44 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10681
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 620
Thanked: 912 times in 868 posts
My understanding is that EFI is only required to boot off of a GPT drive.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins? If so, be sure to Rate them at WeGotServed.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
PostPosted: Tue Sep 21, 2010 10:15 am 
Offline
3.0TB storage
3.0TB storage
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 5:13 am
Posts: 430
Thanks: 7
Thanked: 25 times in 25 posts
So the 3TB drives won't work with the HP MSS boxes?

I would not have expected issues with VAIL since I had no issues with Vista a couple of RAID 5 arrays at 6TB and 8TB. Or was I thinking incorrectly?

_________________
3TB MSS EX490(upgraded CPU-E6300(2.8Ghz dual core Pentium)),
4GB memory
53TB unRAID2--38TB unRAID3--33TB unRAID1a


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group