It is currently Sun Oct 13, 2019 11:31 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Recent News:



Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Installed Vail
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:37 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:30 pm
Posts: 3
Location: So Cal
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
I have just installed Vail on my HP EX490 and following the instructions for the USB install all went well.
I have added a second drive to do some duplication testing and some backups from my other computers connected to the Vail server. Everything seems to be fine, but the aqua status light on the front of the server keeps flashing, and the drive lights dont work either.

Anyone seen this or know if there is a fix, or if i could possibly be an indicator of a problem?


Thanks in Advance

_________________
"Freedom is never free, it is paid for with the blood of patriots"


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  

Attention Guest: Remove this ad by Registering with the MediaSmartServer.net Forums. It's Free!
 Post subject: Re: Installed Vail
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:46 pm 
Offline
Founder
Founder
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 11:54 am
Posts: 10704
Location: Fort Collins, Colorado
Thanks: 622
Thanked: 919 times in 875 posts
Welcome to the forums, I'm glad the guide worked for you. Unfortunately there is no driver or enclosure management software created for Vail to be used with the MediaSmart Server, so your health and drive lights won't work.

_________________
Alex Kuretz
Remote Notification: Monitoring and alerting for your Home Server via email, Twitter, text message, RSS, push notifications, and on your Mac desktop
Have you tried our Add-Ins?


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Installed Vail
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:52 pm 
Offline
Newbie
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 4:30 pm
Posts: 3
Location: So Cal
Thanks: 0
Thanked: 0 time in 0 post
Is that the issue though? if it is im fine with that, just wanted to make sure i wasnt having unknown hardware problems.

And thanks for the welcome, you guys have a ton of great info here.

_________________
"Freedom is never free, it is paid for with the blood of patriots"


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
 Post subject: Re: Installed Vail
PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2010 7:16 pm 
Offline
Max Contributor
Max Contributor

Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2008 7:14 am
Posts: 1540
Thanks: 3
Thanked: 117 times in 100 posts
You're just going to have to get used to the blinking blue status light and no drive lights. It bothered me for awhile, but I've sort of forgotten about it and don't worry about it now.


Top
 Profile  
Thanks  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group